Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Lincoln Plating Spring Classics

Haymarket Park Criterium, Lincoln, NE, April 26, 2003

Home run for Vasquez at Haymarket Park

By John Lefler, Jr

The 2003 Lincoln Plating Spring Cycling Classics concluded Saturday afternoon at Haymarket Park in stunning fashion with Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) surging in the final lap to claim first place in the Cat. 1/2/3 event. The Spring Cycling Classics finale was drenched in warm sunshine as (73) riders mixed it up on the technical 3/4 mile course circling the Haymarket Park baseball stadium, which is home to the Huskers and Lincoln Saltdogs.

In addition to the days competitive events, a series of kids races were held with children ages 3-10 taking part in the fun. The afternoon festivities also included the Corporate Bike Relay Challenge, which pitted employees of Lincoln Plating and Union Bank & Trust against each other in a charity event.

Cat. 1/2/3

From the gun, NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos set a furious pace as Darin Schlake broke away in the first lap building a lead of nearly 30 seconds. Shortly after, teammate Kevin Wilkins bridged the gap and the two began working to increase their lead. Around the 20-minute mark, the LBC/Highgear squad led by Jay Thomas and Stephen Jarrett began to reel in the two man break. As the second half of the 60-minute contest unfolded, a series of cat and mouse attacks by the NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos and LBC/Highgear crews kept the entire race in check with no one gathering any substantial time on the peloton. As the final lap approached, Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) moved to the front of the pack setting a ferocious tempo. As the riders battled the strong southeast headwind for the last time, the tempo by Vasquez had turned into a break as he put nearly ten bike lengths on the peloton.

"I looked back and saw the gap and then Wilkins started yelling Go! Go!," explained Vasquez. "It was totally unexpected, but I am very happy with this result."

In the closing meters, the field sprint saw NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos riders McWilliams, Wilkins and Burke grab 2nd, 3rd and 5th, respectively, while Stephen Jarrett (LBC/Highgear) took 4th.

Cat. 4

A three man break featuring Kelly Soden (Revolution Cycling), Kris Epps (Husker Road Club) and Scott Marble (LBC/Highgear) decided the Cat. 4 race early. Working together well, the trio opened a 40 second advantage and never let up for the 45-minute event. For the second time in this years Lincoln Plating Spring Cycling Classics, Marble showed impressive form pulling away in the final 200 meters. The victory comes just two weeks after he took the top spot on the podium at the Tour de Lake road race.

Cat. 5

In what will probably be his final race as a Cat. 5, Steve Leuty pulled off a successful solo break midway through the 30 minute race to finish first. Brian Luciani (LBC/Highgear) and Jon Randell (Ahamo Cycling) completed the podium displaying strong form throughout the event.


Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) continued her dominance of the Women's field with a time-trial like ride to place first. In the battle for second, Elizabeth Wooster (TNT) edged LBC/Highgear rider Renee Carter.

Masters 30+ & 40+

In the afternoon's Masters event, Jared Shuttleworth (Husker Road Club) and Marc Walter (CCRT) formed an alliance to hold off a four member chase group, including Jeff Hansen (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth), Jon Nelson, John Lefler, Jr. (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) and Greg Shimonek (LBC/Highgear). The tactic worked as both riders claimed top honors in their respective events.

Special Thanks

Title sponsor: Lincoln Plating
Blue's Bike & Fitness
Brueggers Bagels
Pepsi of Bottling of Lincoln
Tim Utrup, Ryan, Shane and the staff at Haymarket Park
Scott Stevens (Revolution Cycling)
Cindy Lefler
Shauna Muldoon
Mike Madcharo
Dan Hansen (LBC/Highgear)
TJ Carmichael (LBC/Highgear)
Sam Rosenau (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
Corey Godfrey (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
John Peterson
Randy Farmer
Pam Karasek


Cat. 1/2/3 -- 60 min
1 Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Kevin Wilkins (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4 Stephen Jarrett (LBC/Highgear)
5 Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 Darin Schlake (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
7 Aaron Pool (LBC/Highgear)
8 Jay Thomas (LBC/Highgear)
9 Mark Savery (Footloose & Fancy)
10 Marc Walter (CCRT/Photo Shoppe)
11 Kent McNeill (LBC/Highgear)
12 Craig Schmidt (Penn Cycle/Nature Valley)
13 Mark Brackenbury (LBC/Highgear)
14 Jeremy Reimer (unattached)
15 Chris French (LBC/Highgear)
16 Anthony Wilhelm (LBC/Highgear)
17 Jordan Brasch (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
Cat. 4 -- 45 min.
1 Scott Marble (LBC/Highgear)
2 Kelly Soden (Revolution Cycling)
3 Kris Epps (Husker Road Club)
4 Dave Soflin (Revolution Cycling)
5 Robert Greigg (unattached)
6 Chad Headlee (LBC/Highgear)
7 Sean Craig (Revolution Cycling)
8 Corey Godfrey (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
9 Greg Theiss (LBC/Highgear)
Cat. 5 -- 30 min.
1 Steve Leuty (unattached)
2 Brian Luciani (LBC/Highgear)
3 Jon Randell (Ahamo Cycling)
4 Jeff Avey (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
5 TJ Carmichael (LBC/Highgear)
6 Brian Drahota (Ciao Baby Cycling)
7 Dan Hansen (LBC/Highgear)
8 Bob Wieck (BBC)
9 Mark Plagmann (unattached)
10 Seth Sarakaitis (unattached)
11 Ryan Feagan (BBC)
12 Joe Savoie (Ahamo Cycling)
13 Mike Madcharo (unattached)
14 Fred Hinsley (unattached)
15 Dwayne Riche (unattached)
16 Rod Wright (unattached)
17 Bill Metzger (unattached)
18 Francis Ridder (UNL Cycling)
19 Frederico Torres (unattached)
20 Brent Davis (unattached)
21 Troy Nelson (unattached)
Masters 30+ -- 45 min.
1 Jared Shuttleworth (Husker Road Club)
2 Jon Nelson (unattached)
3 Greg Shimonek (LBC/Highgear)
4 Jeff Hansen (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
5 John Lefler, Jr. (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 John Rokke (Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth)
7 Rob Helton (Revolution Cycling)
8 Scott Stevens (Revolution Cycling)
9 Jim Winklepleck (unattached)
10 Rick McGee (CCRT/Photo Shoppe)
11 Jeff Harr (Independent Fabrication)
Masters 40+ -- 45 min.
1 Marc Walter (CCRT/Photo Shoppe)
2 Tod Sehnert (Revolution Cycling)
3 Paul Smith (LBC/Highgear)
4 Brent Cinn (unattached)
5 Jim Adams (CCRT/Photo Shoppe)
6 Dan Hansen (LBC/Highgear)
7 John Blumer (Revolution Cycling)
Women (Open) -- 30 min.
1 Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Elizabeth Wooster (TNT)
3 Renee Carter (LBC/Highgear)

Previous USA Results