Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

40th Tour du Haut Var - 1.1

France, February 24, 2008

2007 Results    Results    Past winners

Rebellin takes second Haut Var win

Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) takes the honours
Photo ©: Sirotti
(Click for larger image)

Italy's Davide Rebellin (Gerolsteiner) today became the Tour du Haut Var's first repeat winner since compatriot Daniele Nardello (Mapei) took back-to-back victories at the French event in 2000, 2001. While the race was only a preparation event for Rebellin, he out-paced breakaway rivals Rinaldo Nocentini (Ag2r-La Mondiale) and Alexandre Botcharov (Crédit Agricole) in the final sprint to claim victory in the race's 40th edition.

"Davide has made a very good impression," said Gerolsteiner sports director Christian Henn. "He felt good and could make something out of that. That was really cool."

Rebellin was modest about is efforts in the 197.3-kilometre race around Draguignan. "My form is very satisfactory," he said. "That was a strong team performance."

Anthony Geslin (Bouygues Telecom) was the first Frenchman across the line at his home race, while 2005 winner Philippe Gilbert (Française des Jeux) claimed fifth spot.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Images by Emmanuel Isnard

Results - 197.3 km

1 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner                         5.08.02
2 Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) AG2r - La Mondiale
3 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Crédit Agricole
4 Anthony Geslin (Fra) Bouygues Telecom                         0.07
5 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Française des Jeux
6 Michael Albasini (Swi) Liquigas
7 Bert De Waele (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
8 Nico Sijmens (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
9 Pierre Rolland (Fra) Crédit Agricole
10 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
11 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
12 Rémi Pauriol (Fra) Crédit Agricole
13 Chris Anker Sørensen (Den) Team CSC
14 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
15 Rémy Di Grégorio (Fra) Française des Jeux
16 Jelle Vanendert (Bel) Française des Jeux
17 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Agritubel
18 Iouri Trofimov (Rus) Bouygues Telecom
19 Pierre Cazaux (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
20 Tomasz Marczynski (Pol) Cermica Flaminia Bossini Doce
21 Geoffroy Lequatre (Fra) Agritubel
22 Alexandr Kolobnev (Rus) Team CSC
23 Jérémie Galland (Fra) Auber 93
24 Eric Berthou (Fra) Crédit Agricole
25 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Spa) Bouygues Telecom
26 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
27 Hubert Dupont (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale
28 Aleksandr Kuschynski (Blr) Liquigas
29 Florian Guillou (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
30 Frederik Veuchelen (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
31 Roman Kreuziger (Cze) Liquigas
32 Julien El Farès (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
33 Yann Huguet (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
34 David Lelay (Fra) Bretagne - Armor Lux
35 Francisco Perez Sanchez (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
36 Kanstantin Siutsou (Blr) Team High Road
37 William Frischkorn (USA) Slipstream Chipotle Presented By H30
38 Morris Possoni (Ita) Team High Road
39 Kjell Carlström (Fin) Liquigas
40 Sandy Casar (Fra) Française des Jeux
41 Jérôme Pineau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
42 Nicolas Hartmann (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
43 Linus Gerdemann (Ger) Team High Road
44 David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
45 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner
46 Florian Vachon (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
47 Maxime Bouet (Fra) Agritubel
48 Christophe Rinero (Fra) Agritubel
49 Matej Mugerli (Slo) Liquigas
50 Arnaud Labbe (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
51 Kevin Neirynck (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
52 Adriano Angeloni (Ita) Cermica Flaminia Bossini Doce
53 Martin Elmiger (Swi) AG2r - La Mondiale
54 Benoît Poilvet (Fra) Bretagne - Armor Lux
55 Florian Morizot (Fra) Auber 93
56 Andy Cappelle (Bel) Landbouwkrediet - Tönissteiner
57 Christophe Laurent (Fra) Slipstream Chipotle Presented By H30
58 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Slipstream Chipotle Presented By H30
59 Geert Verheyen (Bel) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
60 Kalle Kriit (Est) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
61 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Crédit Agricole
62 Jurgen Van Goolen (Bel) Team CSC
63 Mickaël Chérel (Fra) Française des Jeux
64 Maciej Bodnar (Pol) Liquigas
65 Charles Wegelius (GBr) Liquigas
66 Mickael Larpe (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
67 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Team High Road
68 Joan Horrach Rippoll (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
69 Yann Pivois (Fra) Bretagne - Armor Lux
70 Jean-Marc Bideau (Fra) Roubaix Lille Metropole
71 Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Crédit Agricole
72 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Crédit Agricole
73 Mathieu Perget (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne
74 Mirko Allegrini (Ita) Preti Mangimi
75 Eduardo Gonzalo Ramirez (Spa) Agritubel
76 Michele Gobbi (Ita) Preti Mangimi
77 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole
78 Carlo Westphal (Ger) Gerolsteiner
79 Tristan Valentin (Fra) Cofidis - Le Crédit par Téléphone
80 Jérémy Roy (Fra) Française des Jeux
81 Serge Pauwels (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
82 Sébastien Duret (Fra) Bretagne - Armor Lux
83 Bart Vanheule (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
84 Francesco De Bonis (Ita) Gerolsteiner
85 Ivan Santaromita (Ita) Liquigas
86 Pieter Ghyllebert (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
87 Craig Lewis (USA) Team High Road
88 Michael Stevenson (Swe) Amore & Vita - McDonald's
89 Matthias Russ (Ger) Gerolsteiner
90 Alberto Di Lorenzo (Ita) A-Style Somn
91 Simone Bruson (Ita) A-Style Somn
92 Sven Renders (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
93 Philip Deignan (Irl) AG2r - La Mondiale
94 Freddy Bichot (Fra) Agritubel
95 Giovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
96 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale
97 Aristide Ratti (Ita) A-Style Somn
98 Luigi Sestili (Ita) Cermica Flaminia Bossini Doce
99 Jean Mespoulède (Fra) Auber 93
100 Mathieu Drujon (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne
101 Andy Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
102 Huub Duyn (Ned) Slipstream Chipotle Presented By H30
103 Benoît Vaugrenard (Fra) Française des Jeux
104 Bradley McGee (Aus) Team CSC
105 Lars Ytting Bak (Den) Team CSC
106 Cyrille Monnerais (Fra) Française des Jeux
107 Jonathan Thire (Fra) Auber 93
108 Koen Barbe (Bel) Topsport Vlaanderen
109 Dainius Kairelis (Ltu) Cermica Flaminia Bossini Doce
110 Sylvain Calzati (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale
111 Nicolas Portal (Fra) Caisse d'Epargne
112 Imanol Erviti Ollo (Spa) Caisse d'Epargne
113 Julian Dario Atehortua Bedoya (Col) Cermica Flaminia Bossini Doce
114 Sven Nevens (Bel) Mitsubishi-Jartazi
115 Mattia Parravicini (Ita) Preti Mangimi
116 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) AG2r - La Mondiale
117 Sylvain Georges (Fra) A-Style Somn

Past winners

2007 Filippo Pozzato (Ita) Liquigas
2006 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Cofidis
2005 Philippe Gilbert (Bel) Française des Jeux
2004 Marc Lotz (Ned) Rabobank
2003 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Brioches la Boulangere
2002 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) CSC-Tiscali
2001 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei
2000 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei
1999 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Polti
1998 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1997 Rodolfo Massi (Ita)
1996 Bruno Boscardin (Swi)
1995 Marco Lietti (Ita)
1994 Laurent Brochard (Fra)
1993 Thierry Claveyrolat (Fra)
1992 Gerard Rué (Fra)
1991 Eric Caritoux (Fra)
1990 Luc Leblanc (Fra)
1989 Gerard Rué (Fra)
1988 Luc Roosen (Bel)
1987 Rolf Goelz (Ger)
1986 Pascal Simon (Fra)
1985 Charly Mottet (Fra)
1984 Eric Caritoux (Fra)
1983 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1982 Sean Kelly (Ire)
1981 Jacques Bossis (Fra)
1980 Pascal Simon (Fra)
1979 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1978 Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1977 Bernard Thevenet (Fra)
1976 Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1975 Raymond Delisle (Fra)
1974 Gerben Karstens (Ned)
1973 Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1972 Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1971 Désiré Letort (Fra)
1970 René Grelin (Fra)
1969 Raymond Poulidor (Fra)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,