Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Sea Otter Pro NRC Road Race - (NE)

Monterey, California, USA, April 19, 2008

Results     Mountain Bike Coverage    Past winners     2007 Results   Live Coverage

Successful Living mounts breakaway clinic at Sea Otter

By Steve Medcroft in Monterey, California

Michael Granbinger Jr (Team Successful Living) beat David Clinger (Rock Racing)
Photo ©:
(Click for larger image)

Three Team Successful Living teammates worked with Rock Racing's David Clinger in a four-man breakaway that lapped the field at the Sea Otter NRC Men's Circuit Race on Saturday. Brian Jensen, Michael Grabinger Jr and Bradley White worked smoothly with Clinger for all but three of the 31 laps on the 2.1-mile Laguna-Seca International Raceway to build an insurmountable lead and set up victory for the team.

Grabinger was the ultimate beneficiary of Successful Living's dominance of the event when his team-mates were able to box Clinger out of a sprint on the final straighaway giving him a clear shot to the line.

Behind the break, a peloton shattred by stiff and shifting winds never could mount a successful chase even though ultra-strong riders like Allejandro Berrajo (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome) and Rory Sutherland appeared to rally the troops for a try. But beyond a two-lap chase by Health Net's John Murphy, no-one could gain any ground on the break.

After working with his breakmates for almost two hours, Clinger held on for third on the day behind Brian Jensen in an impressive show of veteran savvy and strength.

Aussie teen surprises women's field

Australian Tiffany Cronwell (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
Photo ©:
(Click for larger image)

Nineteen year old Tiffany Cromwell (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome) surprised a ten-woman break in the women's race to solo away for her first NRC victory.

Cromwell says her solo breakaway was the product of opportunity rather than perfect pre-race strategy; in the break with teammate Dotsie Bausch, Cromwell was asked to "drive the pace" by her team manager when dangerous sprinter and breakmate Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine) slipped to the back and appeared to be struggling.

Northern California rider Shelly Olds (Proman Women's Racing), who just recently upgraded into the pro category, outsprinted the remaing chase group of Rachel Heal (TIBCO), Catherine Cheatley (Cheerwine), Dotsie Bausch (Cheerwine) and Stacey Marple (Cheerwine) to take second.

Also see: Live coverage of the 2008 Sea Otter NRC Pro Men's Circuit Race


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by

Results (provisional)


1 Michael Granbinger Jr (Team Successful Living)
2 Brian Jensen (Team Successful Living)
3 David Clinger (Rock Racing)
4 Bradley White (Team Successful Living)
5 John Murphy (Health Net)
6 Anibal Borrajo (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
7 Evan Oliphant (Plowman Craven)
8 Alejandro Borrajo (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
9 Sid Taberly (Hobart Wheels)
10 Allessandro Bazzana (Team Successful Living)


1 Tiffany Cronwell (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
2 Shelly Olds (Proman Women's Racing)
3 Rachel Heal (TIBCO)
4 Catherine Cheatley (Cheerwine)
5 Dotsie Bausch (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
6 Stacy Marple (Cheerwine)
7 Tina Pic (Colavita Olive Oil/Sutterhome)
8 Brooke Miller (TIBCO)
9 Virginia Perkins (Proman Women's Racing)
10 Laura Van Gilder (Cheerwine)

Past winners

One-day race
2007  Daniel Ramsey (USA) Team     
2006  Matt Rice (Aus) Jelly Belly     
Stage race    
2005  Doug Ollerenshaw (USA) Health Net pb Maxxis     
2004  Chris Horner (USA) Webcor Builders     
2003  Nathan O'Neill (Aus) Saturn     
2002  Chris Horner (Prime Alliance)     
2001  Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn      
2000  Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury     
1999  Frank McCormack (USA) Saturn     
One-day race
2007  (Cancelled due to heavy rain)                         
2006  Tina Pic (USA) Colavita/Cooking Light Cycling Team    

Stage Race
2005  Kristin Armstrong (USA) T-Mobile                      
2004  Lyne Bessette (Can) Quark                             
2003  Genevieve Jeanson (Can) Rona                          
2002  Lyne Bessette (Can) Saturn                            
2001  Anna Millward (Aus) Saturn-Timex                      
2000  Petra Rossner (Ger) Saturn                            
1999  Anna Wilson (Aus) Saturn                              

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,