Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

59th GP Lugano - 1.1

Switzerland, February 26, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Bettini takes second win of season

Paolo Bettini (Quick Step)
Photo ©: Sirotti
(Click for larger image)

Paolo Bettini (Quick.Step) has demonstrated some more early season form, winning the GP Lugano by a healthy margin over Kim Kirchen (T-Mobile) and Aleksandr Kuchynski (Flaminia). The Olympic champion attacked with 28 km to go and was not to be caught.

"Our team was fantastic today," Bettini said. "At the bottom of the final ascent I had four other teammates around me. Scarselli, Wielinga, Vasseur and Van de Walle all did a fantastic job that I went on to finish. I'm in good form and must admit that I'm having a great start to the season. I am motivated and want to make the most of this and the great form that I am in, in order to try and get a few more victories under my belt."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Fotoreporter Sirotti

Images by Roberto Bettini/

Results - 174.3 km

1 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step - Innergetic                  4.18.31
2 Kim Kirchen (Lux) T-Mobile                                      0.52
3 Aliaksandr Kuchynski (Blr) Ceramiche Flaminia
4 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner
5 Dmitriy Fofonov (Kaz) Credit Agricole
6 Andrea Tonti (Ita) Acqua & Sapone
7 Daniele Pietropolli (Ita) Tenax
8 Sylvain Chavanel (Fra) Cofidis
9 Luca Mazzanti (Ita) Panaria-Navigare
10 Andrea Moletta (Ita) Gerolsteiner
11 Massimo Giunti (Ita) Naturino - Sapore di Mare
12 Leonardo Bertagnolli (Ita) Cofidis
13 Maxime Monfort (Bel) Cofidis
14 Frank Schleck (Lux) Team CSC
15 Christophe Le Mevel (Fra) Credit Agricole
16 Raffaele Illiano (Ita) Selle Italia - Serramenti Diquigiovanni
17 Anthony Charteau (Fra) Credit Agricole
18 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Liquigas
19 Francesco Bellotti (Ita) Credit Agricole
20 Gabriele Bosisio (Ita) Tenax
21 Igor Astarloa (Spa) Team Barloworld
22 Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Credit Agricole                        1.03
23 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis                                  1.09
24 Przemyslaw Niemiec (Pol) Miche                                 2.54
25 Andreas Dietziker (Swi) Team LPR
26 Ivan Fanelli (Ita) Amore & Vita - McDonald's                   3.11
27 Jèrome Pineau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom
28 Patrick Calcagni (Swi) Liquigas
29 Christophe Rinero (Fra) Sunier Duval - Prodir
30 Sergio Barbero (Ita) Selle Italia - Serramenti Diquigiovanni

Mountains classification

1 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick Step - Innergetic                         6 pts
2 Andrea Tonti (Ita) Acqua & Sapone                                   6
3 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Gerolsteiner                                  4
   Alexandere Botcharov (Rus) Credit Agricole                         4

Intermediate sprint

1 Fabio Borghesi (Ita) OTC Doors - Lauretana
2 Roman Luhovyy (Ukr) OTC Doors - Lauretana
3 Christian Müller (Ger) Team CSC

Past winners

(The GP Lugano was formerly the GP d'Apertura di Lugano)

2005 Rik Verbrugghe (Bel) Quick Step
2004 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Cofidis, Le Crédit par Téléphone
2003 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
2002 Ruslan Ivanov (Mda) Alessio
2001 Luca Paolini (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step


2000 Stefan Rütimann (Swi)
1999 Stefan Rütimann (Swi)
1998 Luca Bianucci (Ita)
1997 Michele Rezzani (Ita)


1996 Amilcare Tronca (Ita)
1995 Stefano Colage (Ita)
1994 Andrea Chiurato (Ita)
1993 Roberto Caruso (Ita)
1992 Steffen Rein (Ger)
1991 Pascal Jaccard (Swi)
1990 Marco Vitali (Ita)
1989 Gilles Delion (Fra)
1988 Marco Vitali (Ita)
1987 Thomas Wegmüller (Swi)
1986 Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1985 Gody Schmutz (Swi)
1984 Benno Wiss (Swi)
1983 Chris Wreghitt (GBr)
1982 Marco Vitali (Ita)
1981 Josef Fuchs (Swi)
1980 Gilbert Glaus (Swi)
1946 Ernst Stettler (Swi)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, and Ernst Bretchser