Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Tour of South China Sea - 2.2

Hong Kong, December 25-30, 2006

2005 results     Stage List     Preview    Start List     Past winners

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - December 25: Hong Kong Stage, 80.5 km
  • Stage 2 - December 26: Shenzhen Stage, 88 km
  • Stage 3 - December 27: Guangzhau Stage, 112 km
  • Stage 4 - December 28: Foshan Stage, 85 km
  • Stage 5 - December 29: Zhuhai Stage, 81 km
  • Stage 6 - December 30: Macau Stage, 92.2 km


You could be forgiven for thinking that Christmas in China was an escape from the usual Santa suits and Christmas carols, but no, Christmas Eve in Hong Kong was overflowing, not just with festive tourists, but with the entire field who were about to line up for the 11th Tour of South China Sea, a six day stage race based around Hong Kong and the surrounding mainland Special Economic Zones. Most of the stages will be relatively flat and on city based courses, kermese, and critirium style circuits, and they will average somewhere around 100 kilometres each, with just one final hilly day or racing around the old Portuguese colony of Macau.

The race usually attracts a quality field of continental and regional national teams. In recent years, the sprinters have taken the lions share of the honours, although hanging on for the overall, with the traditional hilly end usually leads to an all-rounder squeezing home by just a few seconds. In recent years, home-based Wong Kam Po has often reigned supreme, a great and talented all-rounder who has just crowned his 2006 season with his second Asian Games road race title, so it would be fair to assume he's in good form for his home race. That said, last year he had to give best to his Pocari Sweat Hong Kong team mate Wu Kin San. Add in Cheung King Wai to the team equation (he recently won the points race at the Asian Games), and you have a pretty formidable home-based team, perhaps the strongest in the race.

Start list

Pocari Sweat Hong Kong                  Hong Kong & Shanghai Sports Institute 
1 Kin San Wu (HKg)                      11 Gang Xu (Chn)
2 Kam Po Wong (HKg)                     12 Yongsheng Yan (Chn)
3 King Wai Cheung (HKg)                 13 Yinhao Cui (Chn)
4 Chun Hing Chan (HKg)                  14 Lei Sun (Chn)
5 Kai Tsun Lam (HKg)                    15 Chak Shing Cheng (HKg)
6 Wang Yip Tang (HKg)                   16 Siu Wai Ko (HKg)
Japan National Team                     Marco Polo Cycling Team
21 Makoto Iijima (Jpn)                  31 Fuyu Li (Chn)
22 Takaaki Ota (Jpn)                    32 Sergey Kudentsov (Rus)
23 Reona Sumi (Jpn)                     33 Jamsran Ulzii-orshkih (Mgl)
24 Fumiya Azuhata (Jpn)                 34 Yandong Xing (Chn)
25 Norihide Murayama. (Jpn)             35 Sea Keong Loh (Mas)
26 Takumi Shirakawa (Jpn)               36 Chi Yin Leung (HKg)
Zurich - Hirslanden - Vc                Team Ckt
41 Stefan Steinweg (Ger)                51 Hsin Hsien Lee (Tpe)
42 Laurent Arn (Swi)                    52 Keng Hsien Chen (Tpe)
43 David Jansen (Swi)                   53 Kuo Lung Liao (Tpe)
44 Christian Rocha (Swi)                54 Po Hung Wu (Tpe)
45 Fabian Krienbühl (Swi)               55 Hsin Hua Huang (Tpe)
46 Alexander A. Mattmann (Swi)          56 Yung Hua Cheng (Tpe)
Champion System Sommerville Sports      Macau-beijing Selection
61 Sommerville  David (USA)            71 Tong Yu (Chn)
62 Jared Bunde (USA)                    72 Huikuo Zhu (Chn)
63 Thomas Bencivengo (USA)              73 Shuaijun Chang (Chn)
64 Stefan Rothe (Ger)                   74 Qiang Zhang (Chn)
65 Wai Man Chau (HKg)                   75 Chung Yin Kwan (Mac)
66 Ching Yin Lemuel Lau (HKg)           76 Heng Wa Choi (Mac)
Omnibike Dynamo Moscow                  Australian U23 
81 Alexander Khatuntsev (Rus)           91 Mitchell P. Pearson (Aus)
82 Sergey Kolesnikov (Rus)              92 Mitchell C. Chapman (Aus)
83 Valery Valynin (Rus)                 93 Christopher Y. Young (Aus)
84 Alexey Shmidt (Rus)                  94 Christopher J. Jory (Aus)
85 Konstantin Ponomarev (Rus)           95 Brendan Brooks (Aus)
86 Andrey Klyuev (Rus)                  96 Luke Cridland (Aus)
Glud & Marstrand Horsens                Peoples' Liberation Army 
101 Jacob J. Nielsen (Den)              111 Bo Liu (Chn)
102 Morten Christiansen (Den)           112 Yue Tu (Chn)
103 Michael Berling (Den)               113 Peng Liu (Chn)
104 Rune Udby (Den)                     114 Zeyong Yuan (Chn)
105 Kim Marius K. Nielsen (Den)         115 Shijie Yu (Chn)
                                        116 Wenlong Zhang (Chn)
Cyclist Club Racing Force               Guangdong 
121 Mun Po Choi (HKg)                   131 Shuhai Song (Chn)
122 Chung Yin Cheng (HKg)               132 Li Zhang (Chn)
123 King Man Tsui (HKg)                 133 Jiajie Jang (Chn)
124 Gangzhao Guo (Chn)                  134 Xiang Dong (Chn)
125 Kin Tik So (HKg)                    136 Que Zhong (Chn)
126 Akyiyama Hisanori (Jpn)            
Bici Racing                             China 
141 Ting Pong Lam (HKg)                 151 Long Jin (Chn)
142 Ching Man Chung (HKg)               152 Xu Fang (Chn)
143 Man Yiu Cheung (HKg)                153 Liang Zhang (Chn)
144 Shing Lam Ip (HKg)                  154 Haijun Ma (Chn)
145 Lok Kei So (HKg)                    155 Pengda Jiao (Chn)
146 Man Chung  Ip (HKg)                 156 Rongxi Zou (Chn)
Cms-cycling.Tv                          Liaoning Team 
161 Masahiko Mifune (Jpn)               171 Cheng Guang Yu (Chn)
162 Nederlof Lex (Ned)                  172 Song Gao (Chn)
163 Usui Takamasa (Jpn)                173 Yu Hui Wei (Chn)
164 Kam Fai Lau (HKg)                   174 Shi Qiang Sun (Chn)
165 Kau Wai Yu (HKg)                    175 Jing Wei Jiang (Chn)
166 David John Tonk (GBr)               176 Zhao Yu Zeng (Chn)
Siam Bara Cycling                       
181 Prajak Mahawong (Tha)              
182 Pornthep Pinkeaw (Tha)             
183 Komsan Karnbanchee (Tha)           
184 Korakogh  Rittiman (Tha)           
185 Thanawat Samana (Tha)              

Past winners

2005 Kin San Wu (HKg) PuraPharm Pocari Sweat Hong Kong
2004 Alexander Hatuntsev (Rus) Moscow City Sports
2003 Oleg Grishkin (Rus) Moscow City Sports Association
2002 Nicholas White (RSA) HSBC    
2001 Kam Po Wong (HKg) Pocari Hong Kong Team
2000 Neil MacDonald (RSA) HSBC
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,