Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Tour du Finistère - 1.1

France, April 15, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Kolesnikov shoots again

By Jean-François Quénet

This is now a phenomenon: Sergey Kolesnikov, 20, from Omnibike-Dynamo Moscow, wins almost every race he takes part in. Under some obscure deal with the French federation, he’s allowed to line up in some amateur events, but he was known for winning internationally at Classic Loire-Atlantique, Roue Tourangelle, or more recently at the Circuit des Ardennes, which is a difficult stage race in east of France. Now he has proven that he can also easily beat the Tour de France riders by winning the UCI 1.1 Tour du Finistère ahead of professional French champion Pierrick Fedrigo of Bouygues Telecom.

The Breton race was held in typical Breton weather: absolutely rainy and windy with a maximum number of small climbs on the menu. After 100 kilometres of racing, the 17% steep côte de Laz created a front group of 21 riders, from which four broke clear: Sergey Kolesnikov (Omnibike-Dynamo Moscow), Pierrick Fedrigo (Bouygues Telecom), Angelo Furlan (Selle Italia) and Mirko Allegrini (Panaria). Two men went for a counter-attack: Mikel Gaztañaga (ATOM) and Yuriy Trofimov (Omnibike-Dynamo Moscow), who already came 3rd in that same race last year behind Simon Gerrans and David Moncoutié.

On the difficult final circuit of Quimper, at the same place where Thor Hushovd won a Tour de France stage in 2004, Kolesnikov attacked with 20km to go. Fedrigo did his best to close the gap, but there was actually nothing to do. The gap kept increasing. This isn't just a young gun, but a new rocket coming from Russia.

Results - 188 km

1 Sergey Kolesnikov (Rus) Dynamo Moscow      4.34.34
2 Pierrick Fedrigo (Fra) Bouygues Telcom        0.46
3 Gastanaga (Spa) ATOM                          0.47
4 Mirko Allegrini (Ita) Panaria                 2.02
5 Yuriy Trofimov (Rus) Dynamo Moscow            3.02
6 Angelo Furlan (Ita) Selle Italia              3.12
7 Dimitri Muravyev (Kaz) Jartazi                3.40
8 Frédéric Finot (Fra) Française des Jeux           
9 Kurt Van de Wouver (Bel) Unibet:com           3.55
10 Frédéric Gabriel (Fra) Unibet:com            4.35
11 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) Crédit Agricole        4.36
12 Ivan Seledkov (Rus) Dynamo Moscow            5.08
13 Matteo Priamo (Ita) Panaria                  5.15
14 Nicolas Crosbie (Fra) Agritubel                  
15 Leonardo Duque (Col) Cofidis                     
16 Eduard Vorganov (Rus) Dynamo Moscow          5.19
17 René Mandri (Fra) Auber 93                   6.57
18 Noan Lelarge (Fra) Bretagne-Jean Floc’h      8.32
19 Diego Tamayo (Col) ATOM                      8.36
20 Samuel Plouhinec (Fra) Agritubel             8.51
21 Christophe Riblon (Fra) Ag2r                10.08
22 Roby Meul (Bel) Jartazi                     10.15
23 Jonas Llungblad (Swe) Unibet:com                 
24 Edgardo Simon (Arg) Selle Italia                 
25 David Derepas (Fra) Jartazi                      
26 Laurent Lefèvre (Fra) Bouygues Telecom           
27 Giovanni Bernaudeau (Fra) Bouygues Telecom       
28 Mauricio Ortega (Col) ATOM                       
29 Miyutaka Shimizu (Jpn) Vang                      
30 Martin Velits (Svk) Konica-Minolta               
31 Peter Velits (Svk) Konica-Minolta           10.22
32 Niels Brouzes (Fra) Auber 93                10.25
33 Julien Mazet (Fra) Auber 93                      
34 Giovanni Baez (Col) ATOM                         
35 Victor Hugo Gonzalez (Col) ATOM                  
36 Jarno Van Mingeroet (Bel) Jartazi           10.28
37 Piotr Zielinski (Pol) Bretagne-Jean Floc’h       
38 Jussi Veikkanen (Fin) Française des Jeux    10.34
39 Carl Naibo (Fra) Ag2r                       10.37
40 John-Lee Augustyn (RSA) Konica-Minolta           
41 Amaël Moinard (Fra) Cofidis                      
42 Viatcheslav Vilkov (Rus) Dynamo Moscow      10.53

Past winners

2005 Simon Gerrans (Aus) Ag2r Prevoyance               
2004 Daniele Balestri (Ita) ICET
2003 Nicolas Fritsch (Fra)
2002 David Bernabeu Armengol (Spa) Carvalhelhos-Boavista

2001 Franck Renier (Fra) Bonjour                       
2000 Sébastien Hinault (Fra) Crédit Agricole
1999 Laurent Estadieu (Fra)
1998 Franck Trottel (Fra)
1997 Walter Beneteau (Fra)
1996 Camille Coualan (Fra)
1995 Michel Lallouet (Fra)
1994 Pascal Deramé (Fra)
1993 (2) Domenique Le Bon (Fra)
1992 Pierre-Henry Menthéour (Fra)
1991 Domenique Le Bon (Fra)
1990 Philippe Mondory (Fra)
1989 (2) Philippe Dalibard (Fra)
1988 Pierre Le Bigaut (Fra)
1987 Philippe Dalibard (Fra)
1986 Jean-Jacques Lamour (Fra)