Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Green Mountain Stage Race - NE

USA, September 2-5, 2005

2004 results     Stage List     Preview    Past winners

The Stages

  • Prologue - September 2: Big World prologue, 8.1 miles
  • Stage 1 - September 3: Sugarbush Chamber Circuit Race, 72.5 miles
  • Stage 2 - September 4: Sugarbush Mad River Road Race, 103/64.7 miles
  • Stage 3 - September 5: Voler Burlington Criterium, 50/30 km

Largest field ever for Green Mountain

With Labor Day soon approaching, the Green Mountain State of Vermont is set to host the 5th Annual Green Mountain Stage Race this weekend. This year, nearly 900 competitive cyclists from all over the United States and Canada will come to Vermont for this four day event to tackle the difficult climbs of the Green Mountains and the fast, technical streets of Burlington.

The event will offer races in 10 different divisions, including professional men and women, amateur men and women, masters and juniors categories. It is one of the largest pro/am cycling events in the country, and attracts riders for the challenges and scenic beauty of its courses. The pro/am men's field will see more of a regional flair this year, as a conflict with the popular San Francisco Grand Prix will cause 8 of the top 10 riders from last year to miss this year's event, including two-time defending champion Mark McCormack. But many teams from around the country and Canada are seeing this as an opportunity to make their mark on a national level, and the field is at its largest this year at 130 riders.

The pro/am women's field is almost 70 strong this year, and will be also be wide open as last year's winner Amy Moore is not returning to defend her championship. This year's field is very deep and unlike the men, features 7 of the top 10 from last year's race and the two-time defending category 4 women's winner Joelle Numainville (Espoirs Laval).

The Green Mountain Stage Race begins on tomorrow (Friday) afternoon with an 8-mile hill climb up the eastern side of the Appalachian Gap. Racing begins at 2:30pm.

Past winners

2004 Mark Mccormack (Colavita)                   Amy Moore (Quark)
2003 Mark McCormack (Saturn)                     Geneviève Jeanson (Rona-Esker)
2002 Jon Page (Wheelworks/Cannondale)            Geneviève Jeanson (Rona)
2001 Scott Moninger (Mercury Cycling Team)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl,