Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

South African National Championships - CN

Welkom, South Africa, June 12-15, 2003

2002 results     Stage List     Preview    Past winners

The Schedule

  • Race 1 - June 12: Elite Women's Time Trial, 20 km
  • Race 2 - June 12: Elite/U23 Men's Time Trial, 40 km
  • Race 3 - June 15: Elite Women's Road Race, 142 km
  • Race 4 - June 15: Elite Men's Road Race, 231 km


The 2003 South African Road Championships will take place this year in Welkom from June 12-15, some two weeks earlier than the European national championships. Defending champion in the Elite Road Race is Tiaan Kannemeyer, who won last year ahead of his now Barloworld teammate, Ryan Cox. Third place went to Microsoft's Morne Bester.

In the Time Trial, the HSBC team will be looking to Nicholas White, Jeremy Maartens, Cameron McLeod, Ian McLeod, Daniel Spence and Jamie Ball, hoping one of them will be able to take over from last year's winner James Perry. Nicholas White came a close second to Perry last year, and is sure to step up his performance in order to claim victory. The Microsoft team are confident that Simon Kessler could be victorious in the Time Trial, and look to Daryl Impey to take top honours in the U/23 event, in which he finished in 3rd place in 2002.

In the women's events last year, Anel Wasserman took top honours in the elite events (Road and Time Trial), but will be challenged by riders such as Ronel van Wyk, Anriette Schoeman and Samantha Serfontein, who finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th respectively in 2002.

Past winners

Men - Time Trial

2002 James Perry (Amore & Vita - Beretta)

Men - Road Race

2002 Tiaan Kannemeyer (Minolta)

Women - Time Trial

2002 Ronel van Wyk (Omega)  

Women - Road Race

2002 Anriette Schoeman (Eastern Cape)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl,