Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

South African National Championships - CN

Welkom, South Africa, June 12-15, 2003

Main Page    Results    Previous Stage     Next Stage

Race 2 - June 12: Elite/U23 Men's Time Trial, 40 km

Maartens too hot to handle in Welkom

HSBC professional Jeremy Maartens is fast becoming the time trial king of SA cycling, after winning the senior 40km title at the SA Cycling Federation's SA Road Championships in Welkom on Thursday.

Having won the time trial event in last year's Tour de Eden, and a time trial outing in France earlier this year, Maartens will be the first to admit that his set of tri-bar equipment is feeling more and more comfortable as the races go by. Maartens completed the time trial route on the Phakisa Freeway in 47 minutes and 31 seconds, with Team Barloworld's David George next best 13,9 seconds off the pace, followed by Maartens' HSBC experienced team-mate Nicholas White 18,5 seconds behind the winner.

"Knowing the strengths of the top riders in time trial events, I had a good idea before the time trial that the top four positions would be filled by George and his team-mate Ryan Cox, White and myself, but wasn't sure of the order that we would finish in," said Maartens.

"What made the win ever greater was the fact that my regular training partner Darryl Impey (of the Microsoft team) took the under 23 title earlier in the day."

Maartens laughed off suggestions that Sunday's 231km senior road championship route is thought to be too flat and fast by several riders and team managers.

"If the wind howls on Sunday, we could easily be spending up to six hours in the saddle, and that is not something that the top guys will be looking forward to," said Maartens.


1 J. Maartens (Central Gauteng)              47.31.9
2 D. George (Central Gauteng)                 0.13.9
3 N. White (Central Gauteng)                  0.18.5
4 T. Kannemeyer (Central Gauteng)             0.39.3
5 R. Cox                                      1.53.4
6 J. Van der Bergh (Central Gauteng)          2.59.9
7 D. Spence (Central Gauteng)                 3.01.3
8 J. Le Roux (Central Gauteng)                3.24.9
9 I. McLeod (Central Gauteng)                 3.37.9
10 J. Howes (Central Gauteng)                 3.52.4


1 D. Impey (Central Gauteng)                 35.59.0
2 J. Odendaal (Central Gauteng)               0.13.0
3 W. Van Zyl (Gauteng North)                  0.18.2
4 T. Allen (Central Gauteng)                  0.51.3
5 A. Galvin (Central Gauteng)                 1.27.4
6 A. Lamberts (Gauteng North)                 1.40.9
7 G. Flint (Kwazulu Natal)                    1.55.3
8 D. Van Niekerk (North West)                 2.17.1
9 F. Nel (Gauteng North)                      3.07.2
10 N. Fekete (Central Gauteng)                3.14.3