83rd Milan-Turin, Cat 1.1

Italy, October 15, 1997

1996 Results


Today the 83rd Milano-Torino opens the trilogy of races from la Gazzetta dello Sport: tomorrow, Giro del Piemonte, where Tafi will re-enter and Saturday the Grand Finale with the Giro di Lombardia, the last race of the World Cup. Milano-Torino, which is the oldest race in the Italian calendar (first edition was raced in 1870), has 179 riders registered, representing 24 teams.

Last year the race was won by Daniele Nardello, who came in ahead of Zanini, Jalabert, Casagrande & Bartoli. Here is a list of the recent winners: 1990 Gianetti (Svi), 1991 Cassani (Ita), 1992 Bugno (Ita), 1993 Sorensen (Dan), 1994 Fra. Casagrande (Ita), 1995 Zanini (Ita), 1996 Nardello (Ita).

This was also the race where in 1995 Marco Pantani almost lost his life in an accident that kept him from cycling in 1996. Two other cyclists were badly hurt in that accident where a sport utility vehicle was allowed on the course by police.

Brief Report

The ONCE duo escaped on the climb of Superga at 18 kilometers from the finish. Early in the race two riders, Canzonieri (Ita) and Jacky Durand (Fra) began, what became a marathon flight for more than 180 kms, and by 44 kms they had a maximum gap of 11.50.

Race distance - 207 kms:

 1. Laurent Jalabert (Fra) 0NCE		     4.54.58 (42,106 km/h)
  2. Alex Zülle (Swi) ONCE                     	s.t. 
  3. Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita) Mapei-GB           	0.22
  4. Xavier Jan (Fra) Francaise des Jeux
  5. Wladimir Belli (Ita) Brescialat
  6. Paolo Valoti (Ita) Cantina
  7. Andrea Noe (Ita) Asics                    
  8. Stefano Zanini (Ita) Mapei             	0.25
  9. Beat Zberg (Sch) Mercatone Uno
 10. Scott Sunderland (Aus) Gan           all s.t.
 68. Gerrit Vries (Ned) TVM 			5.26
 97. Martin Den Bakker (Ned) TVM 10.23
 98. Bart Voskamp (Ned) TVM

Recent Winners

1990 Gianetti (Sch)
1991 Cassani (Ita)
1992 Bugno (Ita)
1993 Sörensen (Den)
1994 Fra. Casagrande (Ita)
1995 Zanini (Ita)
1996 Nardello (Ita)