Milan-Turin, Italy, Cat 1.1

Milan-Turin, 206-km:

 1. Daniele Nardelli 	             4.43.37  
 2. Stefano Zanini 			0.03 
 3. Laurent Jalabert (France) 
 4. Richard Virenque (France) 
 5. Francesco Casagrande 
 6. Michele Bartoli 
 7. Massimo Apollonio 
 8. Andrea Peron 
 9. Valentino Fois 
10. Fabian Jeker (Switzerland) all same time as Zanini

11. Julich (Usa)
12. Cattai (Ita)
13. Merckx (Bel)
14. Bobrik (Rus)        + 0.14
15. Faustini (Ita)      + 0.26
16. Mori (Ita)          + 2.24
17. Rubiera (Spa)
18. Etxebarria (Spa)
19. Di Renzo (Ita)
20. Blaudzun (Den)

176 starters, 103 finishers

Recent winners:

1990 Gianetti (Sch)
1991 Cassani
1992 Bugno
1993 Sorensen (Den)
1994 Casagrande
1995 Zanini
1996 Nardello


Italy's Daniele Nardello, having fine-tuned his tactics over dinner with last year's winner Stefano Zanini, won the 206-km Milan-Turin race ahead of his compatriot on Wednesday.

Nardello, fourth last year in a race overshadowed by a near-fatal accident to Italian Marco Pantani, clocked four hours 43 minutes and 37 seconds in steady rain.

Zanini was three seconds behind, equivalent to around 50 metres, leading home the pack in second place with Frenchman Laurent Jalabert third in the same time.

Recently crowned world champion Johan Museeuw of Belgium, winner of the road race title in Lugano on Sunday, was never in contention and was 25 minutes behind after 134 km. Only 103 riders out of 176 starters reached the finish.

``My head was not there,'' said Museeuw, who decided to miss Thursday's Tour of Piedmont. ``I obviously haven't recovered from the party after winning the gold.''

Nardello revealed he had dinner with Zanini -- who also comes from the town of Varese -- on Monday night, just as they had before last year's race.

``We mapped out the race strategy and if he had the better of it last year, this year was my turn,'' he said.