Results and Reports for January 26-27, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bring it on! Racing series #1

Alachua, Florida, January 26, 2002

As one of the season openers for US road racing, the "Bring it On!" race series began with its first stop over the weekend in Alachua, FL. The 2002 edition of the series now includes a separate women's race and larger cash prizes for the third week finals. Despite overcast skies and on-and-off misty rain for the first race, the event still managed to draw a record number of racers from across FL.

In the A grade race it was the familiar sight of Cyclescience/Trek/VW winning the event with some sly racing. In 2001 Cyclescience/Trek/VW won two of the three races and proved to be up to the task so far this year.

Hugh Moran set the table early with some aggressive riding and following some softening up of the field, Dan Larson was left out in front with Tallahassee's Robert Gates, and veteran champion Chuck Jerabek. After trading some proverbial punches, Larson bested the intact break and Moran got the better of the remaining field. Moran's early efforts did not go unrewarded as he swept the race primes which included cash (c/o Ed. Joy Painting) and a large stuffed duck!

The B event was the traditional preview of the University of Florida cycling team's future talent for 2002. They were out in force as the field numbered well over 40 riders. The enthusiasm for the new season would not leave anyone denied by the finish of the 20 mile race. A chance at the win was had by all as the group came across in a bunch. Alex Rodriguez used his track speed to blast from the bunch and take a clear victory ahead of teammate Jon Walsh and an impressive Rebecca McClintock.

The breakaway riders of the day were thwarted early and despite several promising charges off the front from Aris Polyzos (UF), Jason Victor (UF), and Russell Deane (UF) the group reintegrated on the final lap.

The first women's event of the "Bring it On!" series turned into the Rebecca McClintock show as she swept nearly all the primes and won the finishing sprint from a four rider breakaway group. The group included Amanda Hall (Bike Route), Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route) and April Flanders (Team Florida).

Tompkins was the only rider to break the McClintock sweep as she sprinted for the bell lap gamblers prime. Despite the effort she still proceeded to place 2nd in the final sprint. The field was also offered some sprint premiums which were taken by Erika Gubrium and Michelle Woomer.


A grade - 25 laps 
1 Dan Larson (Cyclescience/Trek/VW)
2 Robert Gates (Red Hills Racing)
3 Chuck Jerabek (Jax Racing)
4 Hugh Moran (Cyclescience/Trek/VW)
5 Curtis Long (Red Hills Racing)
6 Paul Brushwood (Team Florida/American Classic)
B grade - 20 laps
1 Alex Rodriguez (Team Florida)
2 Jon Walsh (Team Florida)
3 Rebecca McClintock (Jane Cosmetics)
4 Rome Reiswig (Team Florida)
5 Natalie Visser (Team Florida)
6 James Blythe (Team Florida)
Women - 10 laps
1 Rebecca McClintock (Jane Cosmetics)
2 Cindy Tompkins (Bike Route)
3 April Flanders (Team Florida)
4 Amanda Hall (Bike Route)
5 Erika Gubrium (Team Florida)
6 Kelly Rooney (Team Florida 
Results and report courtesy of Team Florida Cycling 

Previous US Results