Results and Reports for November 24-25, 2001


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Randwick Botany Cycling Club

November 24, 2001

Dimitriou Returns to Heffron Park

By Tony Horneman

The weather cleared to bright sunshine with a strong north-easterly wind for the weekly Randwick Botany Cycling Club Graded Criterium at Heffron Park, Maroubra on Saturday.

A and B grade riders combined for a 16 lap or 32km race around the park. Kirk Purchase attacked mid-way through the event and was joined by John Sunde, John Kenny and George Papas. Christine Riakos from the North Sydney club, in her first race at Heffron, rode strongly in the second bunch to keep the breakaways in sight. In the last lap, John Sunde led out but John Kenny powered home to take first place in a time of 53min 10sec. Second was Kirk Purchase followed by John Sunde. The windy conditions resulted in an average speed of 36.5kph for the A/B event.

Eighteen C grade riders lined up for a 28km race. The bunch set a casual pace for the first half of the event, but Jason Webb, Tony Caruana and Brad Lane lifted the average speed of the group with 7 laps to go. The surge in speed was too much for some riders who dropped out. The wind-assisted race to the finish line saw sprinter, and race favorite Ross Mackay blocked and pushed onto the grass. Mackey recovered and finished out of the placings. In his second race at Heffron Park, Fab Tettoni took the first place honors in a time of 50min 25sec. Second place went to Brad Lane, Tony Caruana was third and Tony Horneman fourth.

Paul Dimitriou from the Bankstown Sports Club, returned to Heffron Park with an impressive breakaway win in the D Grade 20km race. Dimitriou rode solo for most of the race to win in a time of 38min 11sec. New Randwick Botany Club member Joseph Sorby tried hard to bridge the gap in the last lap but had to settle for second place in his first race at Heffron Park. "I'm looking forward to progressing to C Grade" Sorby said after the race. Leading the bunch sprint for third place was Paul Baker. Placegetters in the E Grade 14km event were Norman Jew in a time of 31min 37sec followed by Ken Woodhouse.

Peter Davison organised the junior races starting with the A Grade 2km Time Trial. Top three times were Keegan Aitchison 3min 52sec, Thom Richards 4min 2sec and Mark Woodhouse 4min 13sec. Results in the B Grade 2km Time Trial were Luke Davison 4min 11sec, Tom Bykerk 4min 30sec and Max Gueniev 4min 47sec. C Grade 2km Time Trial times were Adriano Maradini 4min 53sec and James Warne 5min 36sec. The A Grade 6km Handicap was won by Keegan Aitchison followed by Mark Woodhouse and Thom Richards. The B Grade 6km Handicap was won by Tom Bykerk, with Max Gueniev second and Luke Davison third. The C Grade 6km Handicap race was won by Adriano Maradini followed by James Warne and Nicholas Mellick in equal second place.

In other junior track racing results, four riders represented the Randwick Botany Cycling Club at the Sydney Metropolitan Track Championships at Lidcombe on Friday 23 November 2001. Jonathon Cridland (U13) was placed second in the 400m Time Trial and 6-lap Scratch Race with Luke Davison (U13) taking out third place in both events. Luke Cridland (U15) was third in the 8-lap Scratch Race and fourth in the 2-lap Derby Race. Mark Woodhouse (U15) also competed in the Time Trial and Scratch Race.

Randwick Botany Cycling Club conducts club racing every Saturday at Heffron Park, Maroubra NSW. Juniors start at 1.30pm and Seniors 2.30pm. For more information please contact the club secretary Helen Vella on 02 9667 3307 or website



A/B Grade, 32km
1 John Kenny                            53.10
2 Kirk Purchase
3 John Sunde
C Grade, 28km
1 Fab Tettoni                           50.25
2 Brad Lane
3 Tony Caruana
D Grade, 20km
1 Paul Dimitriou                        38.11
2 Joseph Sorby
3 Paul Baker
E Grade, 14km
1 Norman Jew                            31.37
2 Ken Woodhouse


A Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Keegan Aitchison                       3.52
2 Thom Richards                          0.10
3 Mark Woodhouse                         0.21
B Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Luke Davison                           4.11
2 Tom Bykerk                             0.19
3 Max Gueniev                            0.36
C Grade 2km Time Trial
1 Adriano Maradini                       4.53
2 James Warne                            0.43
A Grade 6km Handicap
1 Keegan Aitchison
2 Mark Woodhouse
3 Thom Richards
B Grade 6km Handicap
1 Tom Bykerk
2 Max Gueniev
3 Luke Davison
C Grade 6km Handicap
1 Adriano Maradini
2 James Warne
2 Nicholas Mellick (equal second)

Previous Australian Results