Live Report



Montreal World Cup (CDM)

Canada, June 3, 2001

2000 Results    Start list    Past winners


After a brief break following La Fleche Wallonne (April 18), the UCI women's World Cup gets going again for two rounds in America. This Saturday, June 2 is the Montreal World Cup in Canada, followed by the First Union Liberty Classic in Philadelphia on June 10.

The circuit used tomorrow is similar (but not identical) to that used in the 1974 World Championships, 1976 Olympic Games and Men's World Cup from 1988 to 1992. It covers 12 laps of 8.3 kilometres, including the famous Mont Royal Climb which makes it one of the hardest World Cup races.

Leading the series at the moment is Australian Anna Millward (Saturn) on 200 points, ahead of Mirjam Melchers (Acca Due O) on 165 points. Both riders can do well in this race, but it may favour Millward given that she finished second in the hilly Fleche Wallonne.

One of Millward's greatest challengers will come from young Canadian star, Geneviève Jeanson (Rona) who has been embarrassing both men's and women's fields in domestic US racing so far this season. Fellow Canadian Lyne Bessette, who recently won the Tour de l'Aude, may be on hand to help Millward or go for the win herself, as the parcours suits her climbing talents.

The start is at 1130 Canadian Time/0830 USA West Coast/1730 Central European Summer Time/0130 Australian Eastern Time. Cyclingnews.com will be providing live lap by lap updates, right after the Giro, the last part of which will be covered approximately 2 hours prior to this.

Start list


Saturn Cycling Team                Acca Due O-H.P. Lorena Camicie
1 Anna Millward (Aus)              11 Mirjam Melchers (Ned)
2 Lyne Bessette (Can)              12 Arenda Grimberg (Ned)
3 Kimberly Bruckner (USA)          13 Vera Hohlfeld (Ger)
4 Anke Erlank (RSA)                14 Katia Longhin (Ita)
5 Suzanne Sonye (USA)
Vlaanderen-T-Interim Ladies Team   Carpe Diem-Itera
21 Susanne Ljungskog (Swe)         31 Marcia Eicher-Vouets (Swi)
22 Heidi Van De Vijver (Bel)       33 Sigrid Corneo (Ita)
23 Cindy Pieters (Bel)             35 Lara Ruthven (USA)
24 Debby Mansveld (Ned)            36 Karry Ellen Hellmuth (USA)
25 Vanessa Rochelle Cheatley (NZl)
Equipe Cycliste Rona               Ondernemers Van Nature
41 Geneviève Jeanson (Can)         51 Tanja Schmidt-Hennes (Ger)
42 Gabriella Gonzalez (Mex)        52 Francis Linthost (Ned)
43 Amy Jarvis (Can)                53 Petra De Boer-Grimbergen (Ned)
44 Mélanie Nadeau (Can)            54 Janneke Vos (Ned)
45 Manon Jutras (Can)
46 Raphaelle Lemieux (Can)
Verizon Wireless                   Intersports
61 Lauren Franges (USA)            71 Catherine Marsal (Fra)
62 Jennifer Dial (USA)             72 Anne Samplonius (Can)
63 Stephanie Hannos (Can)          73 Sandy Espeseth (Can)
64 Darnelle Moore (Can)            74 Elizabeth Emery (USA)
65 Elizabeth Begosh (USA)          75 Chloe Black (Can)
66 Julia Farrel (Can)              76 Jessica Phillips (USA)
                                   175 Erin Carter (Can)
800.com                            Canadian National Team
82 Gina Grain (Can)                101 Clare Hall-Patch (Can)
84 Mandy Poitras (Can)             102 Genevieve Labbe (Can)
85 Cynthia Carroll (USA)           103 Sophie St Jacques (Can)
86 Darnelle Moore (Can)            104 Cybil Di Guistini (Can)
Equipe De France                   British National Team
111 Jeannie Longo (Fra)            121 Yvonne Mcgregor (GBr)
112 Sandrine Marcuz (Fra)          122 Ceris Gilfillan (GBr)
113 Karine Dalmais (Fra)           123 Sara Symington (GBr)
114 Sophie Creux (Fra)             124 Melanie Sears (GBr)
115 Sonia Huguet (Fra)             125 Susan Carter (GBr)
                                   126 Rachel Heal (GBr)
Andre Lalonde Sports               Jane Cosmetics
141 Melanie Dorion (Can)           151 Susan Palmer (Can)
142 Isabelle Goulet (Can)          152 Jennifer Eyerman (USA)
143 Christine Desjardins (Can)     154 Julie Hutsebaut (Can)
144 Juile Ruest (Can)              155 Rhonda Quick (USA)
Composite #1                       Santa Cruz Spokesman
107 Patricia Palencia (Mex)        181 Lauren Smith (USA)
162 Melissa Holt (NZl)             182 Meredith Miller (USA)
163 Belem Guerrero Mendes (Mex)    183 Joan Wilson (USA)
164 Patricia Palencia (Mex)        184 Krystyna Kras (USA)
165 Sylvie Menard (Can)
166 Nathalie Picard (Can)

Past winners

2000 Pia Sundstedt (Fin) GAS Sport Team
1999 Tracey Gaudry (Aus) Ebly
1998 Diana Ziliute (Ltu)

back to top