8th Classic Haribo - 1.3

France, February 25, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

De Clercq gets the sweets

Click for larger image
De Clercq's trophy
Photo: © AFP

New Lotto-Adecco signing, Hans de Clercq, took the sweetest of victories in the 8th edition of the Classic Haribo, sponsored by the bonbon manufacturer of the same name. De Clercq won his own body weight in sweets by beating veteran Eddy Seigneur (Jean Delatour) by 7 seconds, and Paul Van Hyfte (Lotto) by 37.

The race didn't end in a bunch sprint, differing from its usual style. After just 40 kilometres (of 203), a group of 10 riders escaped, never to be seen again by the main peloton. With 6 kilometres to go, Hans de Clercq took the initiative to attack the leading group, while everyone else was looking to Michele Bartoli (Mapei) to make a move. De Clercq's opportunism paid of, and the 32 year old soloed in to take the win.

Apart from a few kermesses and a stage in the Circuit Franco Belge, de Clercq has not had a career studded with great wins. Today was certainly his biggest, and the 78 kg of sweets that he won contains enough energy to win at least 60 more.

Second placed Eddy Seigneur is now the leader of the Coupe de France after two rounds, and he was happy with his placing today as it showed that Jean Delatour had more depth than just Brochard and Halgand.

Results - 203 km

1 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Adecco               4.34.40 (44.34 km/h)
2 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour                  0.07
3 Paul Van Hyfte (Bel) Lotto-Adecco                  0.37
4 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prévoyance               
5 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Mapei - Quick Step               
6 Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Deutsche Telekom               
7 Maximilian Sciandri (GBr) Lampre-Daikin            1.51
8 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel                1.54
9 Daniele Nardello (Ita) Mapei - Quick Step               
10 Guido Trenti (Ita) Cantina Tollo               
11 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina               
12 Frédéric Guesdon (Fra) La Française des Jeux               
13 Mauro Radaelli (Ita) Tacconi Sport                2.04
14 Thor Hushovd (Nor) Crédit Agricole               
15 Floyd Landis (USA) Mercury-Viatel               
16 Christophe Edaleine (Fra) Jean Delatour           2.13
17 Torsten Hiekmann (Ger) Deutsche Telekom           2.27
18 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Mercury-Viatel                 3.01
19 Raimondas Rumsas (Lat) Fassa Bortolo              3.03
20 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93               
21 Frédéric Mainguenaud (Fra) Bonjour               
22 Stefan Schreck (Ger) Deutsche Telekom               
23 Mario Aerts (Bel) Lotto-Adecco               
24 Angelo Lopeboselli (Ita) Cofidis               
25 Rolf Sørensen (Den) CSC - Worldonline               
26 Ludo Dierckxsens (Bel) Lampre-Daikin               
27 Tobias Steinhauser (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner               
28 Zbigniew Spruch (Pol) Lampre-Daikin               
29 Robert Bartko (Ger) Deutsche Telekom               
30 Davide Rebellin (Ita) Liquigas-Pata               

Classified: 30 

Results thanks to www.velomania.net

Past Winners

2000 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2R-Prevoyance
1999 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
1998 Lauri Aus (Est) Casino
1997 Frédréric Guesdon (Fra)
1996 Laurent Jalabert (Fra)
1995 Giuseppe Citterio (Ita)
1994 Erik Zabel (Ger)