52nd G.P. Citta di Camaiore - 1.2

Italy, August 8, 2001

2000 Results    Past winners

Bartoli breaks the drought

Michele Bartoli has won his first race since the beginning of March (Het Volk) in the 52nd edition of the GP Camaiore. Bartoli beat Bulgarian Ivailo Gabrovski (Jean Delatour) and Gianni Faresin (Liquigas) in a three man sprint, with his Mapei teammate Stefano Garzelli finishing fourth.

Garzelli and Bartoli had attacked on the 4 km Monte Pitoro climb on the second last lap. Gianni Faresin and Ivailo Gabrovski came with them for the ride, while Francesco Casagrande (Fassa Bortolo) chased. However, the four managed to keep the gap back to Casagrande to around a minute, and this was enough to see them home.

In the final sprint, Gabrovski surprised Bartoli with his turn of speed, and it was only the Italian's bike throw that ensured the result on the line. Afterwards, Bartoli admitted that he'd underestimated Gabrovski "a little" but knew that he was a fast finisher.

Bartoli also thanked Garzelli: "On the climb he was always in front, pulling, allowing us to conserve our advantage during the last lap. It was enough that he ensured that I was in a position to contest the victory. And still he managed to lead out the sprint for me."

Results - 197 km

1 Michele Bartoli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step          4.36.36 (42.952 km/h)
2 Ivailo Gabrovski (Bul) Jean Delatour
3 Gianni Faresin (Ita) Liquigas Pata 
4 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei Quick Step            0.08
5 Massimo Donati (Ita) Tacconi Sport Vini Caldirola  0.43
6 Francesco Casagrande (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
7 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo                 0.57
8 Gianluca Tonetti (Ita) Selle Italia Pacific
9 Marco Pinotti (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
10 Gianluca Valoti (Ita) Alexia Alluminio            1.05

Past winners

2000 Wladimir Belli (Ita)            196 kms in 4.41.32
1999 Massimo Donati (Ita)            198 kms in 4.18.44
1998 Andrea Tafi (Ita)	             198 kms in 4.43.25
1997 Alexander Gontschenkov (Rus)    198 kms in 4.30.41
1996 Alberto Elli (Ita)              209 kms in 4.46.42
1995 Luca Scinto (Ita)               209 kms in 4.52.53
1994 Gianluca Bortolami (Ita)        209 kms in 5.17.32
1993 Massimo Podenzana (Ita)         209 kms in 4.55.55
1992 Davide Cassani (Ita)            209 kms in 5.06.25
1991 Gianni Faresin (Ita)            259 kms in 4.57.00
1990 Giorgio Furlan (Ita)            253 kms in 6.14.07
1989 Franco Ballerini (Ita)  
1988 Rolf Sörensen (Den)             233 kms in 5.41.00
1987 Gianni Bugno (Ita)              229 kms in 5.00.35
1986 Claudio Corti (Ita)                        5.02.00
1985 Alberto Volpi (Ita)     
1984 Roberto Ceruti (Ita)            218 kms in 5.22.52
1983 Moreno Argentin (Ita)           263 kms in 6.21.58
1982 Jean-Marie Wampers (Bel)        210 kms in 5.10.00
1981 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)          209 kms in 5.03.00
1980 Silvano Contini (Ita)   
1979 Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)          199 kms in 4.58.00
1977 Franco Bitossi (Ita)            199 kms in 4.59.00
1976 Walter Riccomi (Ita)    
1975 Francesco Moser (Ita)   
1974 Giacinto Santambroggio (Ita)    
1973 Emilio-M. Rodriguez (Col)       
1972 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)        
1971 Eddy Merckx (Ita)       
1970 Mauro Simonetti (Ita)   
1969 Ernico Paolini (Ita)    
1968 Gianpiero Macchi (Ita)  
1967 Lucien Dalla-Bona (Ita) 
1966 Bruno Mealli (Ita)      

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin