62nd Paris-Camembert - 1.2

France, April 17, 2001

2000 Results    Results    Past winners

Brochard wins the cheese

Click for larger image
Laurent Brochard
Photo: © AFP

Jean Delatour's Laurent Brochard has triumphed in the 62nd Paris-Camembert, the 6th round of the Coupe de France. Brochard attacked a 15 man leading group before the final climb of the race (Mur des Champeaux), taking Fabrizio Guidi (Mercury) with him. He dropped the Italian, who finished 4th, and soloed in for a 9 second win.

Just behind Brochard, David Millar (Cofidis) rode in for second place despite being dropped on the last climb. He was fortunate enough to be passed by Scott Sunderland (Fakta), who was chasing back on after a crash with 20 kilometres to go. The pair caught the leading bunch, which had riders such as Lance Armstrong and last year's winner Didier Rous, and Millar snuck by Sunderland to take the bunch sprint.

However, the man with the cheesy grin today was Laurent Brochard, who now leads the Coupe de France with 110 points. He had previously finished 2nd, 3rd and 4th in this race, but finally achieved a win here.

Results - 208 km

1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour             4.04.54
2 David Millar (GBr) Cofidis                          0.09
3 Scott Sunderland (Aus) Team Fakta
4 Fabrizio Guidi (Ita) Mercury-Viatel
5 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis
6 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus) Lotto-Adecco
7 Bradley McGee (Aus) La Francaise Des Jeux
8 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour
9 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
10 Cédric Vasseur (Fra) U.S. Postal Service
11 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole
12 Stéphane Goubert (Fra) Jean Delatour
13 Lance Armstrong (USA) U.S. Postal Service
14 Patrice Halgand (Fra) Jean Delatour                0.13
15 Franck Bouyer (Fra) Bonjour                        0.20
16 Steffen Radochla (Ger) Festina
17 Gorik Gardeyn (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
18 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance
19 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Team Fakta
20 Ciaran Power (Irl) St Quentin-Oktos
21 Fabian De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
22 François Simon (Fra) Bonjour
23 Nicolas Vogondy (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux
24 Manu L'hoir (Bel) Team Fakta
25 Anthony Morin (Fra) Credit Agricole
26 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor) U.S. Postal Service
27 Xavier Jan (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
28 Reto Bergmann (Swi) Post Swiss Team
29 Samuel Plouhinec (Fra) Jean Delatour
30 Thomas Bodo (Fra) Francaise des Jeux
31 Daniel Schnider (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux
32 Sven Montgomery (Swi) La Francaise Des Jeux
33 Jérôme Bernard (Fra) Jean Delatour
34 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
35 Jean Cyril Robin (Fra) Bonjour                     0.24
36 Carlos Dacruz (Fra) Festina                        0.27
37 Iban Sastre (Spa) Festina                          0.31
38 Gilles Maignan (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance               0.46
39 Mickael Olejnik (Pol) St Quentin-Oktos             1.25
40 Anthony Langella (Fra) Credit Agricole             1.27
41 Wesley Van Speybroeck (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
42 Ludovic Auger (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93
43 Hans De Clercq (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
44 Mickael Pichon (Fra) Bonjour
45 Dominique Rault (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93              2.00
46 Stéphane Krafft (Ger) Cofidis
47 Christophe Gauthier (Fra) St Quentin-Oktos         3.29
48 Marek Rutkiewicz (Pol) Cofidis                     3.58
49 Martin Elmiger (Swi) Post Swiss                    4.26
50 Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury-Viatel                   5.43
51 Sandy Casar (Fra) La Francaise Des Jeux            7.31
52 Tyler Hamilton (USA) U.S. Postal Service
53 Levy Leipheimer (USA) U.S. Postal Service
54 Jamie Burrow (GBr) U.S. Postal Service
55 Gerrit Glomser (Aut) Post Swiss Team
56 Stéphane Auge (Fra) Festina
57 Kurt Van Lancker (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
58 Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Credit Agricole
59 Vincent Templier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
60 Thierry De Groote (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans
61 Frédéric Finot (Fra) Credit Agricole
62 David Lefevre (Fra) Cofidis
63 Stéphane Berges (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance
64 Chris Matthys (Bel) Flanders-Prefetex              7.59
65 Frédéric Lecrosnier (Fra) Saint-Quentin Oktos
66 Pierre Ackermann (Swi) Post Swiss Team
67 Michael Skelde (Den) Team Fakta
68 José Luis Rubiera Vigil (Spa) U.S. Postal Service
69 Christian Sidler (Swi) Post Swiss Team             9.03
70 Michel Klinger (Swi) Festina
71 Lennie Kristensen (Den) Team Fakta
72 Grégory Faghel (Fra) St Quentin-Oktos
73 Donatas Virbickas (Ltu) Collstrop-Palmans
74 Olivier Trastour (Fra) Jean Delatour
75 Lauri Aus (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance
76 Innar Mandoja (Est) Ag2R Prevoyance
Classified: 76 

Courtesy of velomania.net
Coupe de France standings after round 6
1 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour        110 pts
2 Florent Brard (Fra) Festina                  94 
3 Stéphane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat-Auber 93        69
4 Jaan Kirsipuu (Est) Ag2r-Prevoyance          62
5 Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Ag2r-Prevoyance   48

Past winners

Paris-Camembert (Trophée Lepetit)

2000    Didier Rous (Fra)
1999    Fabio Fontanelli (Ita)
1998    Pascal Lino (Fra)
1997    Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1996    Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1995    Andrej Tchmil (Mol)
1994    Armand De las Cuevas (Fra)
1993    Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz)
1992    Patrice Esnault (Fra)
1991    Brian Holm (Den)
1990    Thierry Marie (Fra)
1989    Andreas Kappes (Ger)
1988    Laurent Fignon (Fra)
1987    Mathieu Hermans (Ned)
1986    Kim Andersen (Den)
1985    Martial Gayant (Fra)
1984    Hubert Linard (Fra)
1983    Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1982    Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1981    Guy Gallopin (Fra)
1980    Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Fra)
1979    Raymond Martin (Fra)
1978    Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1977    Hubert Linard (Fra)
1976    Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1975    Raymond Martin (Fra)
1974    Alain Santy (Fra)
1973    Regis Delephin (Fra)
1972    José Catieau (Fra)
1971    Gerard Moneyron (Fra)
1970    Georges Chappe (Fra)
1969    Raymond Riotte (Fra)
1968    Harry Stevens (Ned)
1967    Georges Chappe (Fra)
1966    Desire Letort (Fra)
1965    Pierre Everaert (Fra)
1964    Arie Den Hertog (Ned)
1963    Jacques Simon (Fra)
1962    Piet Rentmeester (Ned)
1961    Jean-Claude Annaert (Fra)
1960    Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1959    Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1958    Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1957    Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1956    René Fournier (Fra)
1955    Jean-Marie Cieleska (Fra)
1954    Gilbert Bauvin (Fra)
1953    Jean Gueguen (Fra)
1952    Robert Varnajo (Fra)
1951    Jean Baldassari (Fra)
1950    Ange Le Strat (Fra)
1949    Jean Rey (Fra)
1948    Raoul Remy (Fra)
1947    Robert Dorgebray (Fra)
1946    Paul Neri (Ita)
1944    Maurice De Muer (Fra)
1943    Victor Cosson (Fra)

Paris-Vimoutiers, 1906-1942

1942    Joseph Goutourbe (Fra)
1939    Pierre Cloarec (Fra)
1938    Jean-Marie Goasmat (Fra)
1937    André Auville (Fra)
1936    Yvon Marie (Fra)
1935    Marcel Bat (Fra)
1934    Louis Thietard (Fra)
1906    Mary (Fra)

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin