10th Sea Otter Classic - Cat. 2.4

USA, March 16-18, 2000

Main Page    Results

Stage 1 - March 16: Laguna Seca Time Trial, 3.6 km (m/w)

By John Alsedek, cyclingnews.com correspondent

Women - Gamble pays off

The SRAM Sea Otter Classic kicked off with a 2.25 mile time trial on the world-renowned Laguna Seca motor speedway. With a stiff climb just past the first turn, a corkscrew descent, and several straightaway sections, it was a course that favored no particular type of rider- as was evident from the results in both the womens and mens events, where the top finishers were an eclectic mix of sprinters, time trialists, and all-rounders.

The women started things off in interesting fashion, as the Saturn and Timex team directors opted for a bold tactical move: gambling that the cool and misty, but calm conditions would give way to windier weather before the event was over, they sent their top riders off early on, giving up the advantage of having faster marks to aim for. It was a gamble that paid off for both teams, as they combined to take six of the top nine spots in the event.

However, it wasn't one of the touted pre-race favorites from Saturn, Timex, or AutoTrader.com who pulled out the win, but rather Erin Carter of Canada's Team Elita. Her 5:18.18 topped former world pursuit champion Petra Rossner (Saturn) by just 3/100 of a second, with Charles Schwab's time trial ace Elizabeth Emery in third.

Men - Fraser by inches

Meanwhile, in the men's time trial, it was another Canadian, Mercury's Gord Fraser, who came out on top....but only just. Trent Klasna (Saturn) set the early mark of 4:42.2, which stood up until Shaklee's Eric Wohlberg roared around the Laguna Seca circuit nearly seven seconds faster. Rider after rider challenged Wohlberg's time, only to come up short, until two of the final starters, Fraser and Redlands time trial winner Dylan Casey, managed to slip in ahead, with Fraser taking the stage by a miniscule 1/100 of a second.



1. Erin Carter (Can) Elita		                5.18.0     
2. Petra Rossner (Can) Saturn			      	0.00.3     
3. Elizabeth Emery (USA) Schwab			      	0.00.8     
4. Lynne Bessette (Can) Saturn			      	0.02.2     
5. Mari Holden (USA) Timex			      	0.04.1     
6. Clara Hughes (Can) Saturn			      	0.05.2     
7. Susy Pryde (NZl) Saturn			      	0.10     
8. Catherine Cardwell (USA) Schwab		      	0.11     
9. Kim Smith (USA) Timex			      	0.12     
10. Tina Mayola (USA) AutoTrader.com		      	0.13     


1. Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury			     4.34.8
2. Dylan Casey (USA) U.S. Postal Service		0.1
3. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Shaklee				0.7
4. Frank McCormack (USA) Saturn				1.6
5. Clark Sheehan (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist		5.8
6. Jason Van Marle (USA) Nutra Fig			5.9
7. Floyd Landis (USA) Mercury				6.7
8. David Zabriskie (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist		7.2
9. Trent Klasna (USA) Saturn				7.3
10. Henk Vogels (Aus) Mercury				9.4
22. Mike Ley (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist	       16.9
28. Kevin Monahan (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist	       18.2
37. Anton Villatoro (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist	       20.4
64. Oscar Pineda (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist	       26.4
101. Ryan Guay (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist 	       31.4
113. Juan Pineda (USA) 7 UP/Colorado Cyclist	       36.8

General classification after stage 1:

1. Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury			     4.34.8