20th Vuelta a Murcia - 2.3

Spain, March 1-5, 2000

1999 Results    Past Winners

Stage List

  • Stage 1 - March 1: Murcia-Caravaca , 200 km
  • Stage 2 - March 2: Murcia-La Atalaya (Cieza), 156.2 km
  • Stage 3 - March 3: Murcia-Lorca, 185 km
  • Stage 4 - March 4: Murcia-Aledo, 157.2 km
  • Stage 5 - March 5: Murcia-Murcia ITT, 12.9 km


Marco Pantani cancelled his start in the Vuelta a Murcia due to a lumbago suffered the night before the first stage. Jan Ullrich, Pavel Tonkov, "Chaba" Jimenez, Roberto Heras, Alberto Elli, Marco Velo, Paolo Lanfranchi and Santiago Blanco are the some of the biggest names on the start list. However, at this time of the year the stars are usually more interested in gaining good mileage for the major tasks later in the season.

The Spanish riders might be more eager to fight for the victory. Fuenlabrada is not starting though, due to Saúl Morales' fatal accident in Argentina and the the start of the first stage will be preceded by a silent minute commemorating him.

Participating teams

Participating teams: ONCE-Deutsche Bank, Banesto, Vitalicio-Seguros, Kelme-Costa Blanca, Euskaltel-Euskadi, Mercatone Uno (Pantani, Zaina, Fontanelli), Telekom (Ullrich, Elli, Guerini), Mapei-Quick Step (Tonkov, Tafi, Bramati, Beltran, Fernandes, Gines), Lampre-Daikin (Camenzind, Svorada, Ballerini), Lotto (Van De Wouwer, D' Hollander), Farm Frites (Capiot, Bruylandts), US Postal (Livingston, Hamilton, Jonker), LA Pecol (Zintchenko), Vlaanderen 2002, Palmans-Ideal, and Nürnberger.

Past Winners

1985  José Recio (Spa)
1986  Miguel Indurain (Spa)
1987  Pello Ruiz-Cabestany (Spa)
1988  Carlos Hernandez-Bailo (Spa)
1989  Marino Alonso (Spa)
1990  Tom Cordes (Ned)
1991  José-Luis Villanueva (Spa)
1992  Alvaro Meija (Col)
1993  Carlos Galarreta (Spa)
1994  Melchor Mauri (Spa)
1995  Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1996  Melchor Mauri (Spa)
1997  Juan-Carlos Dominguez (Spa)
1998  Alberto Elli (Ita) Casino

The Podium since 1993


1. Carlos Galarreta (Spa)
2. Laudelino Cubino (Spa)
3. Eddy Bouwmans (Bel)


1. Melchor Mauri (Spa)
2. Aitor Garmendia (Spa)
3. H. Díaz Zabala (Spa)


1. Adriano Baffi (Ita)
2. Erik Breukink (Ned)
3. Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)


1. Melchor Mauri (Spa)
2. Wladimir Belli (Ita)
3. Rodolfo Massi (Ita)


1. Juan Carlos Domínguez (Spa)
2. Ignacio García Camacho (Spa)
3. Santos González (Spa)


1. Alberto Elli (Ita) Casino                         16.35.03
2. Alexander Vinokourov (Kaz) Casino                     0.41
3. Marco Pantani (Ita)  Mercatone Uno                    0.41


1. Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Bianchi          17.54.32
2. Javier Pascual Rodriguez (Spa) Kelme-Costa Blanca      0.24
3. Beat Zberg (Swi) Rabobank                              0.42

Mario Stiehl from Berlin compiles the winner's lists