Main Page

- Live reports
- Stage profiles
- Climbs


Overall Map













55th Vuelta a España - Grand Tour

Spain, August 26 - September 17, 2000

Report & results   Past Winners    Previous Stage    Next stage

Stage 12 - September 7: Zaragoza-Zaragoza, 131.5 km

The stage in Zaragoza takes place between the two rest days in this year's Vuelta, and will undoubtably be treated as another "rest" before the race heads into the mountains again. The highest point is at Longares (kilometre 35), a gradual 300 metre climb from the start in Zaragoza.

Zaragoza has been known throughout the ages as a meeting point for a variety of peoples. Romans, Muslims, Arabs have all made their mark on the city's architecture, dating back to the third century.

Start time: 14:12
Finish time: 17:15

Stage profile


Past Winners in Zaragoza

1935 Mariano Canardo (Spa) 
1936 Alfons Schepers (Bel) 
1941 Delio Rodriguez (Spa) 
1945 Miguel Gual (Spa) 
1946 Delio (2) Rodriguez (Spa) 
1947 Delio (3) Rodriguez (Spa) 
1948 Jean Lesage (Bel) 
1950 Bernardo Ruiz (Spa) 
1955 Jésus Galdeano (Spa) 
1956 Rik Van Steenbergen (Bel) 
1957 Mario Baroni (Ita) 
1958 Pierino Baffi (Ita) 
1960 Arthur De Cabooter (Bel) 
1963 Roger Baens (Bel) 
1965 Martin Colmenarejo (Spa) 
1966 Cees Haast (Ned) 
1967 Angel Ibanez (Spa) 
1968 Jan Janssen (Ned) (x2)
1969 Raymond Steegmans (Bel) & Roger Pingeon (Fra) 
1970 Anatole Novak (Fra) 
1972 Luis Balagué (Spa) 
1973 Gerben Karstens (Ned) 
1979 Noél Dejonckherre (Bel) 
1981 Regis Clére (Fra) 
1982 José-Luis Laguia (Spa) 
1984 Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel) 
1986 Eddy Planckaert (Bel) 
1987 Inaki Gaston (Spa) 
1989 Mathieu Hermans (Ned) 
1990 Asiat Saitov (RUS) & Pello Ruiz-Cabestany (Spa) 
1991 Jean-Paul Van Poppel (Ned) 
1993 Djamolidin Abdujaparov (Uzb) & Melchor Mauri (Spa) 
1994 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) 
1995 Abraham Olano (Spa) 
1996 Dimitry Konychev (Rus)  
1998 Marcel Wüst (Ger) 
1999 Sergej Outchakov (Ukr) 

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin

back to top