A Travers le Morbihan, Cat 1.4

France, May 29, 1999

1998 Results     Past Winners    


Patrice Halgand (Festina) has won the race known as "A travers le Morbihan", which was contested over 200 kms in Vannes au Sourn (France). He won from his breakaway companions French rider Laurent Desbiens and the Belgian Johann de Geyter (P).

The early part of the race was very fast (43 km/h average) but the serious moves came at Melrand, with less than 80 kms to ride. The major teams were all represented in an attacking move that went away involving 9 riders. The break quickly built a lead on the peloton and it was only Crédit Agricole, not represented in the move, that tried to mount a chase.

As they went onto the finishing lap, the peloton was more than 6 minutes behind and out of any contention.

Earlier, with two finishing laps left, Laurent Desbiens was the first to attack from the front group but Halgand immediately responded. The next time Halgand attacked only Desbiens and Johan de Geyter could stay with him. The 3 riders were then never caught. With 400 metres to go, Patrice Halgand gave it everything down the right side and he destroyed the chances of Desbiens and de Geyter. Nicolas Jalabert was pipped for 4th place by Franck Bouyer 35 seconds later.

Vannes au Sourn, 200 kms:

 1. Patrice Halgand (Fra) Festina		      	     4.50.00
 2. Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Cofidis				0.01
 3. Johan De Geyter (Bel) Tönissteiner-Colnago			0.03
 4. Franck Bouyer (Fra) La Française des Jeux			0.35
 5. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis				0.35
 6. Serguei Yakovlev (Kaz) Besson Chaussures-Nippon Hodo	1.00
 7. Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino				1.00
 8. Philippe Bordenave (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93			1.00
 9. Nicolas Fritsch (Fra) Saint Quentin-Oktos-MBK		1.00
10. Saulius Ruskys (Lit) Saint Quentin-Oktos-MBK		6.30

Past Winners

A Travers de Morbihan, a UCI Cat 1.4 event began in 1990. It was Previously known as the G.P. de Plumelec (1982-89).

1982    Fabien De Vooght (Fra) Wolber
1983    Laurent Fignon (Fra) Renault Gitane
1984    Pierre Bazzo (Fra) Coop Hoonved
1985    Marc Madiot (Fra) Renault Elf Gitane
1986    Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Fra) Peugeot
1987    Johnny Weltz (Den) Fagor
1988    Frédéric Brun (Fra) Z Peugeot
1989    no event
1990    Johan Museeuw (Bel) Lotto               223 kms in 5.33.57
1991    Bruno Cornillet (Fra) Z Peugeot         208 kms in 5.46.00
1992    Peter De Clercq (Bel) Lotto             200 kms in 4.56.25
1993    Marcel Wüst (Ger) Novemail Histor       190 kms in 4.24.00
1994    Peter De Clercq (Bel) Lotto             199 kms in 4.38.01
1995    Francis Moreau (Fra) GAN                205 kms in 4.41.42
1996    Johan Capiot (Fra) Collstrop Lystex     210 kms in 4.49.26
1997    Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Casino       200 kms in 4.46.37
1998	Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Cofidis          205 kms in 5.10.26
1999	Patrice Halgand (Fra) Festina 		200 kms in 4.50.00
Past Winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin