A Travers de Morbihan, Cat 1.4

France, June 20, 1998

1997 Results     Past Winners    


One hundred riders wil try to join Christophe Agnolutto on the winner's list of the A travers le Morbihan, a test over 205 kms and a Coupe de France race.

Vincent Lavenu (Casino), boyed by the double last year (Agnolutto and Durand) will be bringing a strong team this year. Casino already has won 40 victories since the beginning of this season. The top rider will be Stéphane Barthe who will be supported by Pascal Chanteur, Benoît Salmon and Kazak Alexandre Vinokourov (1st in the Circuit of the Mines, Four Days of Dunkirk and Tour de l'Oise).

All the French teams are committed to this race created in 1990 per Alain Le Barbier. Anthony Morin (La Française des Jeux), Laurent Desbiens (Cofidis) and the Australian Stuart O'Grady (GAN) will be strong contenders along with the Belgian Johan Capiot, of the Dutch TVM team.

On the other hand, Pascal Lino, who is leading the Coupe de France, will not defend his position although the race takes place close to his place. The Breton rider, who was injured in mid-April, has not yet resumed competition and prefers to prepare for the Tour de France by training in the Pyrenees.

Bieuzy - Lanvaux, 205 kms

 1. Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Cofidis 			     5.10.26
 2. Cyril Saugrain (Fra) Cofidis 				s.t
 3. Dominique Rault (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne   		1.20
 4. Franck Bouyer (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux 			1.20
 5. Carlos Dacruz (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93   			2.04
 6. Claude Lamour (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne   		2.43
 7. Jens Voigt (Ger) GAN				
 8. Bruno Thibout (Fra) Cofidis
 9. Pascal Chanteur (Fra) Casino
10. Lylian Lebreton (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
11. Benoit Salmon (Fra) Casino
12. Denis Leproux (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
13. Kevin Livingston (USA) Cofidis  				s.t
14. Franky De Buyst (Bel) Tonissteiner   			2.56
15. Anthony Morin (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux  			3.03
16. Christophe Oriol (Fra) Casino
17. Stephane Barthe (Fra) Casino
18. Philippe  Fernandes (Fra) Troiamarisco
19. Pascal Herve (Fra) Festina
20. Stephane Goubert (Fra) Cofidis
21. Francois Simon (Fra) GAN 
22. Jean-Philippe Dojwa (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne	s.t.
23. Stephane Petilleau (Fra) GAN 				3.08
24. Laurent Paumier (Fra) Jean Floc'h Mantes
25. Joseba Beloki Dorronsoro (Spa) Euskatel-Euskadi
26. Xavier Jan (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux 
27. Christian Poos (Lux) Jean Floc'h Mantes   			s.t.
28. Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) Euskatel-Euskadi  			3.13
29. Thierry Bourguignon (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93  		3.23
30. Bobby Julich (USA) Cofidis 					s.t
Stephane David, Paris is our French Reporter

Past Winners

A Travers de Morbihan, a UCI Cat 1.4 event began in 1990. It was Previously known as the G.P. de Plumelec (1982-89).

1982	Fabien De Vooght (Fra) Wolber
1983 	Laurent Fignon (Fra) Renault Gitane
1984 	Pierre Bazzo (Fra) Coop Hoonved
1985	Marc Madiot (Fra) Renault Elf Gitane
1986	Gilbert Duclos-Lassalle (Fra) Peugeot
1987 	Johnny Weltz (Den) Fagor
1988	Frédéric Brun (Fra) Z Peugeot
1989	no event
1990	Johan Museeuw (Bel) Lotto		223 kms in 5.33.57
1991	Bruno Cornillet (Fra) Z Peugeot		208 kms in 5.46.00
1992	Peter De Clercq (Bel) Lotto		200 kms in 4.56.25
1993	Marcel Wüst (Ger) Novemail Histor	190 kms in 4.24.00   
1994	Peter De Clercq (Bel) Lotto		199 kms in 4.38.01
1995	Francis Moreau (Fra) GAN		205 kms in 4.41.42
1996	Johan Capiot (Fra) Collstrop Lystex	210 kms in 4.49.26
1997	Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Casino	200 kms in 4.46.37
Mario Stiehl, Berlin provides the Past Winners listings