60th Paris-Camembert, Cat 1.2

France, April 6, 1999

1998 Results     Past Winners    


Today the peloton headed for the "cheese country" - for the semi-classic Paris-Camembert. The race is part of the la Coupe de France. Pascal Lino won last year but will not be able to defend his title having run foul of his team over doping allegations. But 20 teams entered the race which starts at Magnanville, near to Mantes (Yvelines). At the head of the list of riders is German Jens Voigt (Crédit Agricole), recent winner of the Critérium international, his teammate Chris Boardman, and the American rider Bobby Julich (Cofidis), 3rd in last year's Tour de France.

The 208 kms journey follows the west plain along the roads of the Yvelines, the l'Eure-et-Loir and the l'Orne, which will benefit the strong riders who are in form at present. Before the riders reach the final circuit they have to climbs several côtes at Roiville, Canapville, Moulin-Neuf and finally the mur des Champeaux situated less than 10 kms before the finish at Vimoutiers.

La Française des Jeux (with Stéphane Heulot) and Casino (with Pascal Chanteur) are two very ambitious teams and hope to dominate the 60th edition of this race. They have a number of aspiring young riders.

But it was Fabio Fontanelli (Mercatone Uno), 34-years on April 24 and vastly experienced, who won the race. He won alone with Dutchman Max Van Heeswijk winning the peloton sprint from 23-year old David Moncoutié, 17 seconds behind the overall winner.

The action really began on the last difficulty of the race, the Mur des Champeaux, which came less than 10 kms before the finish. After the first attack came from Stéphane Heulot, David Moncoutié showed he has arrived at the top of French cycling with a strong reaction to Heulot. But it was Fontanelli who was the real finisher attacking 7 kms out after the first moves on the Mountain had split the field.

He was never caught. The sprint for second at Vimoutiers was contested on a long straight and Moncoutié was just pipped for 2nd by Max van Heeswijk, the recent winner of the GP de Rennes. But it was David Moncoutié who impressed and he consolidated his good placings in earlier races - climbing well on Mont Faron during the Tour méditerranéen (3rd for the stage) and coming 2nd in the Critérium international. He said afterwards: "I was impatient today."

Still with a little patience and more top places at the front of the peloton will see Moncoutié finish his apprenticeship as a top rider.

At 34 years, Fontanelli profitted from his experience. The race was animated earlier by his teammate Italian Sergio Barbero, who was only caught with 20 kms to go. Fontanelli won his 32nd race for his career which began in 1989. But he will always be remembered as being one of the victims in the spectacular crash at Armentières during the 1994 Tour de France.

Paris-Vimoutiers, 208 kms:

 1. Fabiano Fontanelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Bianchi   5.30.14 (37.791 km/h)
 2. Max van Heeswijk (Ned) Mapei-Quick Step		0.17
 3. David Moncoutié (Fra) Cofidis			0.17
 4. Laurent Roux (Fra) Casino				0.17
 5. Raimondas Rumsas (Lit) Mroz				0.17
 6. Christopher Jenner (Nzl) Crédit Agricole		0.17
 7. Flavio Zandarin (Ita) Riso Scotti-Vinavil		0.17
 8. Biagio Conte (Ita) Liquigas-Brescialat		0.17
 9. Daniele Contrini (Ita) Liquigas-Brescialat		0.17
10. Andrej Hauptman  (Slo) Vini Caldirola		0.17
11. Serguei Ivanov (Rus) TVM-Farm Frites		0.17
12. Anthony Morin (Fra) La Française des Jeux		0.17
13. Bobby Julich (USA) Cofidis				0.17
14. Igor Flores Galarza (Spa) Euskatel-Euskadi		0.17
15. François Simon (Fra) Crédit Agricole		0.17
42. Christophe Rinero (Fra) Cofidis			0.17
56. Stéphane Heulot (Fra)  La Française des Jeux	0.26

Started: 143
Finished: 95

Past Winners and History

Paris-Vimoutiers, 1906-1942

1906    Mary (Fra)
1934    Louis Thietard (Fra)
1935    Marcel Bat (Fra)
1936    Yvon Marie (Fra)
1937    André Auville (Fra)
1938    Jean-Marie Goasmat (Fra)
1939    Pierre Cloarec (Fra)
1942    Joseph Goutourbe (Fra)

Paris-Camembert (Trophée Lepetit)

1943    Victor Cosson (Fra)
1944    Maurice De Muer (Fra)
1946    Paul Neri (Ita)
1947    Robert Dorgebray (Fra)
1948    Raoul Remy (Fra)
1949    Jean Rey (Fra)
1950    Ange Le Strat (Fra)
1951    Jean Baldassari (Fra)
1952    Robert Varnajo (Fra)
1953    Jean Gueguen (Fra)
1954    Gilbert Bauvin (Fra)
1955    Jean-Marie Cieleska (Fra)
1956    René Fournier (Fra)
1957    Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1958    Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1959    Nicolas Barone (Fra)
1960    Joseph Groussard (Fra)
1961    Jean-Claude Annaert (Fra)
1962    Piet Rentmeester (Ned)
1963    Jacques Simon (Fra)
1964    Arie Den Hertog (Ned)
1965    Pierre Everaert (Fra)
1966    Desire Letort (Fra)
1967    Georges Chappe (Fra)
1968    Harry Stevens (Ned)
1969    Raymond Riotte (Fra)
1970    Georges Chappe (Fra)
1971    Gerard Moneyron (Fra)
1972    José Catieau (Fra)
1973    Regis Delephin (Fra)
1974    Alain Santy (Fra)
1975    Raymond Martin (Fra)
1976    Bernard Hinault (Fra)
1977    Hubert Linard (Fra)
1978    Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1979    Raymond Martin (Fra)
1980    Pierre-Raymond Villemiane (Fra)
1981    Guy Gallopin (Fra)
1982    Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1983    Christian Jourdan (Fra)
1984    Hubert Linard (Fra)
1985    Martial Gayant (Fra)
1986    Kim Andersen (Den)
1987    Mathieu Hermans (Ned)
1988    Laurent Fignon (Fra)
1989    Andreas Kappes (Ger)
1990    Thierry Marie (Fra)
1991    Brian Holm (Den)
1992    Patrice Esnault (Fra)
1993    Oleg Kozlitine (Kaz)
1994    Armand De las Cuevas (Fra)
1995    Andrej Tchmil (Mol)
1996    Adriano Baffi (Ita)
1997    Mauro Gianetti (Swi)
1998	Pascal Lino (Fra)
Past winners from Mario Stiehl in Berlin