32nd GP Jef Scherens, Cat 1.4

Belgium, September 6, 1998

1997 Results     Past Winners    


Andy Missotten, who last year had a heart attack during the GP Jef Scherens, was at the start of the 32nd edition of the race. Espoirs Champion Sven Spoormakers tried to attack early but the tempo of the professional race was too fast for him. The other local rider (from Leuven), Jarno Van Frachem of the Vlaanderen-2002 team did better and provided an animated attack. During the finishing laps over Keizersberg and Wijnpers Jarno was caught and a group of 21 formed at the front. Out of this select group came Dutchman Raimond Meijs and Jo Planckaert. And a very strong Johan Verstrepen joined the duo. In the sprint, it was Jo Planckaert, who also won the day before in Meulebeke who triumphed. It was a good return to racing by Planckaert, who has been recovering from a bad injury suffered in the early part of the season.

Leuven, 194 kms:

 1. Jo Planckaert (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar				     4.12.25
 2. Johan Verstrepen (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
 3. Raymond Meijs (Ned) Team Gerolsteiner
 4. Ludovic Capelle (Bel) Home Market-Charleroi 			0.19
 5. Danny Nelissen (Ned) Team Home Jack and Jones
 6. Andy De Smet (Bel) Ipso
 7. Gilles Talmant (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne
 8. Davy Delme (Bel) Tonissteiner
 9. Sebastien Demarbaix (Bel) Home Market-Charleroi
10. Claude Lamour (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne
11. Kurt Van De Wouwer (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar
12. Kurt Van Lancker (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
13. Tom Vleugels (Bel) Elite
14. Gert Vanderaerden (Bel) Palmans-Ideal 				0.55
15. Fabian De Waele (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar
16. Jans Koerts (Ned) Rabobank
17. Oleg Pankov (Ukr) Ipso
18. Hans De Meester (Bel) Tonissteiner
19. Christophe Detilloux (Bel) Lotto-Mobistar
20. David Delrieu (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne
21. Frank Corvers (Bel) Palmans-Ideal
22. Laurent Pillon (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne
23. Pauly Burke (GB) Elite
24. Rudy Verdonck (Bel) Elite
25. Danny Van Looy (Bel) Elite
26. Ralf Grabsch (Ger) Team Gerolsteiner
27. Kris Gerits (Bel) Vlaanderen 2002
28. Maarten den Bakker (Ned) Rabobank
29. Steven De Neef (Bel) Collstrop 					1.10
30. Frank Hoj (Den) Palmans-Ideal 					1.36

Past Winners

1970	Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1971	Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1973	Johan Van Katwijk (Ned)
1974	Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1975	Freddy Maertens (Bel)
1976	Frans Verbeeck (Bel)
1977	Walter Planckaert (Bel)
1978	Frans Van Looy (Bel)
1979	Marcel Laurens (Bel)
1980	Ludo Delcroix (Bel)
1981	Jan Raas (Ned)
1982	Rudy Matthijs (Bel)
1983	Adri Van der Poel (Ned)
1984	Ronny Van Holen (Bel)
1985	Josef Lieckens (Bel)
1986	Josef Lieckens (Bel)
1987	Ronny Van Holen (Bel)
1990	Wilfried Peeters (Bel)
1991	Wilco Zuiderwijk (Ned)
1992	Hendrik Redant (Bel)
1993	Frans Maassen (Ned)
1994	Mauro Bettin (Ita)
1995	Erik Dekker (Ned)
1996	Jans Koerts (Ned)
1997	Stéphane Hennebert (Bel)
Past Winners by Mario Stiehl, Berlin