Trophee des Grimpeurs-Polymultipliee, Cat 1.3

France, May 3, 1998

1997 Results     Complete Starting List

From Stephane David, our on-the-spot reporter

The Trophee des Grimpeurs was raced in the Paris suburb of Argenteuil Sannois (25 kms north-west of Paris and involved 16 laps of 7.9 kms plus a 5.9 kms from the start (the Townhall of Argenteuil) to the main circuit. There was a climb on the finish line which is around 400 metres long. The weather was not bad by very windy. 73 riders were at the start. The Mroz team from Poland was scheduled to start but did not turn up.

Lap 1: Compact peloton lead by Emmanuel Magnien (Fra), Gilles Bouvard (Fra) and Patrice Halgand (Fra). Lotto-Mobistar's Jo Planckaert (Bel) is already struggling at the end and is not suited to this type of race.

Lap 2: Peloton still grouped. Lead by Claude Maignan (Fra), Mario Aerts (Bel) and Emmanuel Magnien (Fra). Fabrice Gougot (Fra) is dropped by the peloton.

Lap Time: 12.18 (avs: 39.5 km/h).

Lap 3: Yvon Ledanois (Fra) attacks just before the climb, but the peloton does not let him go far away. Chasing at the head of the peloton: Sebastion Hatton, Gilles Bouvard, Emmanuel Magnien and Cyril Saugrain.

Lap Time: 10.45 (avs: 44.09 kms/h).

Lap 4: Pascal Herve, Mario Aerts and Nicolas Jalabert are at the head of the peloton (with a gap of 5 seconds). Nicolas Jalabert is rejoined just after the climb, then Mario Aerts is replaced by Laurent Desbiens at the head of the race. The two of them, Pascal Herve and Laurent Desbiens now have a 28 seconds advantage. The pursuit is not efficient in the peloton. Coming at the back of the peloton is Jo Planckaert (Bel) and Juan Llaneras (Spa).

Lap Time: 11.03 (avs: 42.89 kms/h).

Lap 5: Laurent Desbiens and Pascal Herve now have a 10 seconds advantage on the peloton lead by Nicolas Vogondy and Pascal Derame. There are already some abandons: Jean-Denis Vandenbroucke and Jérôme Delbove.

Lap Time: 10.40 (avs: 44.43 kms/h!!!).

Lap 6: Pascal Herve and Laurent Desbiens still leading with an advantage of 37 seconds on 10 riders: Mauro Gianetti (Swi), Patrice Halgand, Laurent Lefevre (Fra), Chistophe Agnolutto, Cedric Vasseur (Fra), Francois Simon (Fra), Benoit Salmon (Fra), David Lefevre (Fra), Lylian Lebreton (Fra) and Yvon Ledanois (Fra). The peloton is 1 min down.

Lap Time: 11.02 (avs: 43.63 kms/h).

Lap 7: Nothing has changed.

Lap Time: 11.00 (avs: 43.69 kms/h).

Lap 8: The gap is now at 1.14 min on the first peloton (around 25 riders) 1.50 on Charles Guilbert (Fra) and Stéphane Petilleau (Fra) and 2 mins on the second part of the peloton.

Lap time: 11.01 (avs: 43.65 kms/h).

Lap 9: Gap 1.23 on 22 riders then 7 riders at 1.59 and the rest at 4.30

Lap Time: 11.08 (avs: 43.05 kms/h).

Lap 10: Laurent Desbiens and Pascal Herve look to be "easily" leading the race. First chasing group includes 5 Casino: Chistophe Agnolutto, Gilles Bouvard, Frédéric Bessy (Fra), David Lefevre (Fra) and Benoit Salmon (Fra); 3 GAN: Cedric Vasseur (Fra), Francois Simon (Fra) and Arnaud Pretot (Fra); 3 FDJ: Evgeny Berzin (Rus), Mauro Gianetti (Swi) and Anthony Morin (Fra); 2 Festina: Laurent Brochard (Fra) and Patrice Halgand; 3 Cofidis: Nicolas Jalabert (Fra), Bernard Thibout (Fra) and Cyril Saugrain (Fra); 2 Big Mat: Laurent Genty (Fra) and Vyaceslav Djavanian (Rus); 2 Mutuelle: David Delrieu (Fra) and Claude Lamour (Fra); 1 US Postal: J.C Jean Cyril Robin (Fra); and 1 Home Market: Sebastian Demarbaix (Bel). The gap is now 1.56. Then 6 riders at about 2.30 and Jérôme Laveur Pedoux (Fra) alone 5.17. The rest of the riders have stopped.

Lap Time: 11.10 (avs: 42.44 kms/h).

Lap 11: The gap is still around 2 mins.

Lap Time: 11.12

Lap 12: Jean Cyril Robin (Fra), Chistophe Agnolutto (Fra), Anthony Morin (Fra) and Arnaud Pretot (Fra) are at 1.54. The main group is at 2.06. Maignan, Charles Guilbert are at 2.24, Cyril Saugrain at 2.32 (he stops soon after this).

Lap Time: 11.16

Lap 13: Laurent Desbiens and Pascal Herve leading, then 8 riders at 2.09. Then the rest of the first group at 2.17.

Lap Time: 11.25

Lap 14: Laurent Desbiens and Pascal Herve still leading. Advantage: 2.15 on Patrice Halgand and Chistophe Agnolutto.

Lap Time: 11.37

Lap 15: Roughly the same situation.

Lap Time: 11.32

Lap 16: and the final lap. On the final climb Pascal Pascal Herve attacks at 300 meters from the finish line. Laurent Desbiens cannot resist and lets him win. A fine breakaway of more than 110 kms.

Argenteuil Sannois, Paris, 132.3 kms:

 1. Pascal Hervé (Fra) Festina	                             3.14.03
 2. Laurent Desbiens (Fra) Cofidis				0.20
 3. Christophe Agnolutto (Fra) Casino				2.00
 4. Patrice Halgand (Fra) Festina
 5. Anthony Morin (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux
 6. Arnaud Pretot (Fra) GAN
 7. David Delrieu  (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne
 8. Jean-Cyril Robin (Fra) US Postal Service
 9. Laurent Genty (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
10. Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Cofidis
11. Laurent Brochard (Fra) Festina
12. Frédéric Bessy (Fra) Casino
13. Mauro Gianetti (Swi) La Francaise des Jeux
14. Sébastien Hatton (Fra) Big Mat-Auber 93
15. François Simon (Fra) GAN
16. Charles Guilbert (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne		2.00
17. Claude Lamour (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne		5.00
18. David Lefevre (Fra) Casino					5.06
19. Stéphane Petilleau (Fra) GAN				5.13
20. Carlos Da Cruz (Fra)  Big Mat-Auber 93			7.04
21. Bruno Thibout (Fra) Cofidis					7.04
22. Evgeny Berzin (Rus) La Francaise des Jeux			7.04
23. Gilles Bouvard (Fra) Casino					7.04
24. Vyaceslav Djavanian (Rus) Big Mat-Auber 93			7.04
25. Thierry Laurent (Fra) Festina				7.04
26. Emmanuel Maignan (Fra) La Francaise des Jeux		7.04
27. Francisque Teyssier (Fra) Mutuelle de Seine-et-Marne	7.04
28. Cédric Vasseur (Fra) GAN					5.13
29. Laurent Lefèvre (Fra) Casino				7.11

J. Laveur-Pedoux (Fra) was not classified as he was at 1 lap.
Complete results from our Paris reporter Sebastian David

Complete Start List


1 Gianetti Mauro			11 Bassons Christophe	
2 Berzin Evgeny				12 Brochard Laurent
3 Ledanois Yvon				13 Halgand Patrice
4 Morin Anthony				14 Herve Pascal
5 Bouyer Franck				15 Laurent Thierry
6 Vogondy Nicolas			16 Lefevre Laurent
7 McGee Bradley				17 Rous Didier
8 Magnien Emmanuel


21 Gono Marcel				31 Agnolutto Christophe
22 Hinault Sébastien			32 Bessy Frédéric
23 Jenner Chrsitopher			33 Bouvard Gilles
24 Petilleau Stéphane			35 Gougot Fabrice
25 Pretot Arnaud			36 Lefevre David
26 Seigneur Eddy			37 Massi Rodolfo
27 Simon François			38 Salmon Benoît
28 Vasseur Cédric


41 Aerts Mario				51 Andreu Frankie
44 Feys Wim				52 Deramé Pascal
45 Marichal Thierry			53 Ekimov Vyaceslav
46 Planckaert Jo			54 Hamilton Tyler
47 VandenBroucke Jean Denis		55 Llaneras Juan
48 Willems Ludwig			56 Meinert Peter
					57 Robin Jean Cyril
					58 Teutenberg Sven


61 Desbiens Laurent			81 Leproux Denis
62 Delbove Jérôme			82 Berges Stéphane
64 Gwiazdowski Grzegorz			83 Hatton Sébastien
65 Jalabert Nicolas			84 Bourguignon Thierry
67 Saugrain Cyril			85 Dacruz Carlos
68 Thibout Bruno			86 Djavanian Vyaceslav
					87 Genty Laurent
					88 Lebreton Lylian


91 Delrieu David			101 Assez Ronny
92 Dojwa Jean Philippe			102 De Buysschere Jürgen
93 Guilbert Charles			103 Demarbaix Sébastien
94 Lamour Claude			106 Laveur Pedoux Jérôme
95 Maignan Gilles			107 Fernandes Philippe (Fra) Troiamarisco
96 Pillon Laurent			108 Schoelens Grégory
97 Talmant Gilles
98 Teyssier Francisque
My friend Daniel Schamps from Paris compiled the complete starting list