Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results and Reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



12 Hours of Razorback

Ocala, Fl, USA, February 9, 2003

Seldman triumphs over Juarez in hard-fought race

By Andy Mills

The 12 Hours of Razorback, edition: 2003 was one of the coldest yet and also one of the best attended. The event saw 88 solo riders and 217 teams! With that many people, the Le Mans half-mile start was fast and furious. The course was perfect and the competition tight in every class.

The talk of the day was the Solo division, with highly decorated rider Tinker Juarez (Siemens/Cannondale) in attendance. Gainesville resident Josh Seldman (Trek/VW/JBL) was in a tough battle with Juarez all day, sometimes separated by minutes, other times by mere seconds. Throughout the day the two would open and close time gaps, with Seldman leading most of the day. However, coming into the final hours of the race, the two were separated by just 2 minutes and both looked strong. On what would be his second to last lap, Seldman attacked and never looked back, stretching his lead to 4 minutes with the time cut off approaching. Seldman made it through for his final lap with 5 minutes to spare and Juarez missed the mark by just 45 seconds. This gave Seldman his last lap alone with no pressure, and time for the win to sink in for both his parents, doubling as his pit crew, and himself by the time he crossed the finish line. It was a very emotional win for Seldman and his family.

Meanwhile, the team of Earl Bradley (Trek/VW/JBL), Raymond Hall (Trek/VW/JBL), Andy Mills (Trek/VW/JBL) and Rodney Reber (Trek Grassroots/Gator Cycle) battled it out with several other state and regional teams throughout the day in the Pro/Expert class. The Trek squad took control on the opening lap, with Andy Mills coming through first overall and establishing the lead that would never be relinquished. Bradley, Hall, Reber and Mills would extend the lead into the day, but the Bike Route team of Gary Yates, Mose Howard (Sobe/Headshock), Jimmy Henry and Lorne Johnson kept it close, between 3 and 6 minutes. Once night set it, the night riding skills of Hall and Reber broke the race apart and set the stage for the Trek wire-to-wire victory.

A good time was had by all this weekend. Special thanks the the Goneriding.com crew for another excellent event.


Images by Andy Mills


Pro/Expert Class
                                                                   laps  time gap
1 Trek                                                               15
  (Earl Bradley/Rodney Reber/Andy Mills/Raymond Hall)
2 Cannondale/Sobe/Bike Route                                         15     13.29
  (Mose Howard/Gary Yates/Lorne Johnson/Jimmy Hendry)
3 Broken Spoke Racing                                                15     40.60
  (Stephen La Rue/John Meyers/Kevin Lanford/Frank La Rue)
1 Josh Seldman (Trek/VW/Ridemybikes.com)                             14
2 Tinker Juarez (Siemens Mobile/Cannondale)                          13
3 Gary Stern (Shoulda Gone Surfin')                                  12
1 New World Trailblazers                                             14
  (John Caputo/Jim Cooper/Russ Bowers/Steve Pavent)
2 Sea Level Racing/Lubealot                                          14     12.61
  (Dimpsy Waters/Keith Roberson/Adrian Campbell/German Burmudez)
3 Stealth Riders                                                     14     24.00
  (Orion Corcilius/Jojo Gillen/Kevin Parker/Ed Odea)
1 Racer'S Edge                                                       13
  (Rich Malarski/Bob Bridgham/John Palquist/Anne Craig)
2 B & J Bicycles                                                     13     18.39
  (Rick Desbusk/Richard Kihnley/Jimbo Mcguire/Ambre Levy)
3 Rotating Mass                                                      13     26.83
  (Dean Dickson/Wick Austin/Mitch Jarvis/Renae Blevins)
Beginner Under 125
1 Bicycles Etc.                                                      13
  (Sean Crichton/Anthony Janik/Sean Manago/Pete Johnson)
2 Marino's Cars & Trucks                                             13     17.60
  (John Marino/Shane Danford/Russell Hagen/Caleb)
3 AJ Barnes "Doom" Brandon #1                                        12       N/A
  (Daniel Martin/Graham Lawson/Chad Bowman/Jake Tuitison)
Beginner Over 125
1 The Bike Shop                                                      13      0.00
  (Doug Luedeke/Steve Rodnaruk/Bill Brown/Joe Bordonaro)
2 Megasoreass                                                        13      6.22
  (Brett Thompson/Joshua Tittsworth/Marcio Cemin/Aaron Becker)
3 Adrenaline Junkies/Action Wheel Sport                              12       N/A
  (Andy Irvine/Joey Silvernail/Ryan Remmers/Brad Jennings)

Previous Results from the USA