Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results and Reports for June 22-28, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth Battle Royale MTB #2

Branched Oak Lake: Raymond, NE, June 23, 2002

It's "short track" Schlake at the lake

By John Lefler, Jr

The Cycle Works/Moose's Tooth "Battle Royale" MTB Series resumed Sunday afternoon with Event #2: the Short Track XC at Branched Oak Lake near Raymond, NE. Seventy-six riders including, Pro/Semi-Pro/Expert winner Darin Schlake (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) battled temperatures in the 90's and a steady south wind all day, which offered a small respite from the overbearing heat. The dusty and dry 1.5-mile loop pushed the bounds of a true short track circuit, but still provided fast descents, respectable climbs and a gravel section known as the "Gravel Gauntlet." The "Gauntlet" was in fact the result of the nearby gravel roads being graded for Sunday's competition. While the majority of the course utilized the established trails at Branched Oak Lake, incorporating the road element each lap gave riders the task of dealing with a slippery mound of loose gravel as they exited the single-track.

One rider unfazed by the challenging circuit and the "Gravel Gauntlet" was Schlake, who continues to win at will this season. Breaking away early in the 60 minute contest, Schlake along with teammate and second place finisher Kevin Wilkins held off OBCR standout Stephen Jarrett to claim the top two podium spots.

"I knew that I wanted to be towards the front at the beginning," explained Schlake. "I did not want to let too many gaps go with the gravel section of the course. I was pushing bigger gears than ever today and felt good. Road tactics played a role in my strategy today and I was able to work well with Kevin to stay away."

The victory is Schlake's second of the Battle Royale MTB Series and puts him atop the points standings heading into Event #3: Individual Time Trial on Sunday, July 14.


Pro/Semi-Pro/Expert, 60 minutes
1 Darin Schlake (NHS/UNMC)
2 Kevin Wilkins (NHS/UNMC)
3 Stephen Jarrett (OBCR)
4 Kent McNeill (OBCR)
5 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC)
6 John Rokke (SNORT)
7 Jim Winklepleck (unattached)
8 Richard Barrett (UNL Cycling)
9 Andrew Crooks (OBCR)
10 Jesse Petersen (NHS/UNMC)
11 Nate Woodman (SNORT)
Expert Masters 35+, 60 minutes 
1 Paul Chapman (NHS/UNMC)
Sport Men, 40 minutes 
1 Tyler Carmichael (NHS/UNMC)
2 Corey Godfrey (NHS/UNMC)
3 Micah Newell (unattached)
4 John Lefler, Jr (NHS/UNMC)
5 Steven Dickey (BBC)
6 Brent Petersen (Runza Cycling)
7 Mike McGrath (BBC)
8 Jerick Wilson (BBC)
9 Mitch Gonzales (NHS/UNMC)
10 Chris Van Ooyen (NHS/UNMC)
11 Anthony Seberger (unattached)
12 Brian Fettin (OBCR)
13 Josh Shear (unattached)
14 Jason Tollefson (unattached)
15 Mark Peterson (unattached)
Sport Masters 35+, 40 minutes 
1 Kristian Ehrhorn (BBC)
2 Eric Petersen (SNORT)
3 Mike Sanders (unattached)
4 Gregg Wollenhaupt (HRC)
5 Joel Moritz (unattached)
6 Al Behrens (unattached)
7 Sean Craig (Runza Cycling)
8 Dan Hansen (unattached)
9 Steven Hurless (unattached)
Clydesdale (Open), 40 minutes 
1 Rob Helton (OBCR)
2 Todd Seiler (OBCR)
Beginner Men, 30 minutes 
1 Chad Borer 
2 Ryan Legg 
3 Gary Bentrup 
4 Bernard Schlageck 
5 Scott Showen 
6 Rick Beason 
7 Chuck Hagele 
Beginner Masters 35+, 30 minutes 
1 Don Raskey 
2 Ray Breedlove 
3 Bill Cita 
4 Kevin Sutter 
5 Scott Woods 
6 Jon Downey 
7 Scott Applegate 
8 David Draus 
9 Bill Ganzel 
Junior Boys (18 & Under), 30 minutes 
1 Robb Hiatt (Runza Cycling)
Expert Women,40 minutes 
1 Roxanne Abbott (BBC)
2 Anne Sykes (BBC)
Beginner Women, 40 minutes 
1 Tammy Nepple 
2 Heather Dall 
3 Carolyn Mott 
4 Beth Wooster 

Previous Results from the USA