Competitive Cyclist
Full Speed Ahead
3T Designs

Mountain Bike World Championships - CM

Val di Sole, Italy, June 17-22, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings            Previous Race  Next Race

Race 16 - June 21: 4X Finals

US and Spain victorious in 4X

By Sue George in Val di Sole, Italy

World Champions Melissa Buhl (United States).
Photo ©: Rob Jones
(Click for larger image)

Melissa Buhl (United States of America) and Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lu (Spain) were crowned the World Champions in the 4X in Val di Sole, Italy. Their wins came at the end of a busy day of gravity racing, which also saw four downhill titles awarded the women, men, junior women and junior men.

Buhl kept the rainbow stripes at home in the US for another year despite the absence of former World Champion Jill Kintner, who is concentrating on BMX for the Olympic Games in Beijing in August. Buhl seized the opportunity for victory after favorite Anneke Beerten (Netherlands) and and Romana Labounkova (Czech Republic) tangled. Jana Horakova (Czech Republic) finished second while Labounkova and Beerten round out the top four in the Big Final.

The men's race looked like a bowling match with all but one of the four Big Final riders going down. Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lu (Spain) won after he was the only man who avoided the pile-up which sent favorite Jared Graves (Australia) and Mickael Deldycke (France) over the side of the burm and into a pile of photographers and spectatators.

All the riders got back on their bikes and rode down with Swiss Roger Rinderknecht and Mickael Deldycke (France) taking the remaining medals. Graves, who had gone furthest off course and ended up on the bottom of a two-man pile rode in for fourth.

Full report coming!


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Rob Jones/www.canadiancyclist.com


Elite women

Big Final

1 Melissa Buhl (United States Of America)               
2 Jana Horakova (Czech Republic)                        
3 Romana Labounkova (Czech Republic)                    
4 Anneke Beerten (Netherlands)                          


5 Caroline Buchanan (Australia)                         
6 Lucia Oetjen (Switzerland)                            
7 Anita Molcik (Austria)                                
8 Mio Suemasa (Japan)                                   

1/4 Finals

9 Sabrina Jonnier (France)                              
10 Fionn Griffiths (Great Britain)                      
11 Céline Gros (France)                                 
12 Joanna Petterson (South Africa)                      
13 Sarsha Huntington (Australia)                        
14 Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Austria)                   
15 Diana Marggraff (Ecuador)                            
16 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spain)                         


17 Steffi Marth (Germany)                               
18 Angelika Hohenwarter (Austria)                       
19 Elisa Canepa (Italy)                                 
20 Neven Steinmetz (United States Of America)           
21 Rachel Seydoux (Switzerland)                         
22 Jessica Vogt (United States Of America)              
DNS Katarina Tothova (Czech Republic)     

Elite men

Big Finals

1 Rafael Alvarez De Lara Lu (Spain)                     
2 Roger Rinderknecht (Switzerland)                      
3 Mickael Deldycke (France)                             
4 Jared Graves (Australia)                              

Small Finals

5 Brian Lopes (United States Of America)                
6 Scott Beaumont (Great Britain)                        
7 Romain Saladini (France)                              
8 Ross Milan (United States Of America)                 

1/4 Finals

9 Cédric Gracia (France)                                
10 Tomas Slavik (Czech Republic)                        
11 Matej Vitko (Slovakia)                               
12 Lewis Lacey (Great Britain)                          
13 Joost Wichman (Netherlands)                          
14 Sascha Meyenborg (Germany)                           
15 Guido Tschugg (Germany)                              
16 Jurg Meijer (Netherlands)                            

1/8 Finals

17 Kamil Tatarkovic (Czech Republic)                    
18 Filip Polc (Slovakia)                                
19 Premek Tejchman (Czech Republic)                     
20 Dominik Gspan (Switzerland)                          
21 Michael Robert Haderer (United States Of America)    
22 Thomas Schäfer (Germany)                             
23 Rastislav Pirman (Slovakia)                          
24 Tomas Haluza (Czech Republic)                        
25 Mario José Jarrin Molina (Ecuador)                   
26 Quentin Derbier (France)                             
27 Reto Schmid (Switzerland)                            
28 Cameron Cole (New Zealand)                           
29 Peter Prajczer (Hungary)                             
30 Tilen Frank (Slovenia)                               
31 Blake Carney (United States Of America)              
32 Johannes Fischbach (Germany)                         

1/16 Finals

33 Alex Lloyd (Australia)                               
34 Marek Pesko (Slovakia)                               
35 Adrian Kiener (Switzerland)                          
36 Matej Stapic (Slovenia)                              
37 Randal Huntington (Australia)                        
38 Will Longden (Great Britain)                         
39 Eric Nelson (United States Of America)               
40 Daniel Auerswald (Germany)                           
41 Radim Kvacek (Czech Republic)                        
42 William Evans (Great Britain)                        
43 Cody Eichhorn (Australia)                            
44 Craig Pattle (New Zealand)                           
45 Terrence Scarr (Australia)   

Full results coming!                             

Back to top