Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #4 - CDM

Madrid, Spain, May 23-24, 2009

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 2 - May 23: Junior women cross country

Terpstra wins in a show of power

By Dave McElwaine in Madrid, Spain

Anne Terpstra (Rabobank) wins.
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)
Anne Terpstra (Rabobank) rode her own race and bested her only real challenger Michelle Hediger (Fisher BMC), who took second. Ekaterina Anoshina finished third.

Due to an unusually small junior women's field of just five racers, officials decided to start them at the same time as the junior men. Normally, there would be a two-minute separation. This made for some different strategies as it was possible to become protected within a group of men's riders if you could get a strong enough start.

"We will start with the junior men, and I'll try to stay with them as long as possible," said eventual winner Terpstra before the start.

Terpstra finished the first of three laps about 50 meters ahead of Hediger. But, as they headed back uphill, Hediger bridged up and then briefly passed. Terpstra maintained her own pace and without really attack, she soon regained the lead from Hediger for good.

Michelle Hediger (Fisher BMC)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)
Terpstra created a gap and then slowly powered away.

When asked after the race whether she had been successful in riding with the men, Terpstra said, "The boys were so fast that after the first part of the track, they were all gone."

"I just rode at my own speed, and on the climbs, I could go faster than her (Hediger)."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine / www.trailwatch.net


1 Anne Terpstra (Ned) Netherlands                    1.12.51
2 Michelle Hediger (Swi) Fischer-BMC                    0.44
3 Ekaterina Anoshina (Rus) Russia                       5.43
4 Rita Isabel Viegas Barriga (Por) Portugal            18.29
DNF Filipa Ferreira Queiros (Por) Portugal