Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #4 - CDM

Madrid, Spain, May 23-24, 2009

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - May 23: Junior men cross country

Rodruquez wins on last lap

By Dave McElwaine in Madrid, Spain

David Rodriguez outsprints Hugo Drechou
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)
David Rodriguez (Portugal) came from behind on the last lap to beat Hugo Drechou (France) in an exciting sprint finish. Matthias Stirnemann (Switzerland) was somewhat off the pace of the leading two racers and finished third. Mario Costa (Portugal) took fourth while Daniel Aurelien (Breiz Mt.) finished fifth.

Strong thunder and lightening storms pounded Madrid for much of the night before the race. The course, which had been bone dry during Friday's practice, turned to tacky mud. Many teams could be seen frantically changing tires prior to the race so the racers could better deal with slick mud. The rain continued off and on during the event but did not hamper the racing.

Aurelien took the hole shot at the start, but was quickly passed by Drechou. It appeared towards the end of the first lap that he was the class of the field and would surely win. However, he was doggedly chased by both a group of Portuguese riders, including Rodriguez, and Matthias Stirnemann. Behind Drechou, the Portuguese riders took turns driving the chase.

Hugo Drechou (France) on a climb
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)
Organizers had changed the 7.5km course during the past week, adding an extremely steep climb immediately after an existing climb. This one-two punch forced many riders to run all or part of the second climb. The leaders, however, generally cleaned both sections and increased their lead over the field every time they did so.

On the final lap, Rodriguez closed down a 100-meter gap to Drechou, who seemed to have tired just a bit. "On the third lap I went a bit too easy," said Drechau. "The Portuguese riders were very strong. He (Rodriguez) got up that last climb first. After that, it was impossible for me to pass on the final descent."

As they entered the final straightaway, Drechou attempted to sprint around Rodriguez without success. Following his victory, Rodriguez was draped in a Portuguese flag by his excited countrymen. He proudly wore the flag to the podium celebration, too.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine / www.trailwatch.net


1 David Miguel Costa Rodrigues (Por) Portugal        1.22.01
2 Hugo Drechou (Fra) France                             0.01
3 Matthias Stirnemann (Swi) Switzerland                 0.21
4 Mario Luis Miranda Costa (Por) Portugal               1.27
5 Aurélien Daniel (Fra) Breiz Mountain                  1.29
6 Roberto Giacobazzi (Ita) Team Cbe Tecnoimpianti A.S.D.    
7 Ricardo Paulo Reis Marinheiro (Por) Portugal          1.56
8 Maxime Salmon (Fra) Keops                             2.17
9 Sebastien Moya (Fra) France                           2.24
10 Jose Maria Sanchez Ruiz (Spa) Spain - A              2.27
11 Ivan Smirnov (Rus) Russia                            2.45
12 Thomas Decugis (Fra) France                          4.14
13 Marc Schärli (Swi) Switzerland                       5.19
14 Benjamin Boulenc (Fra) France                            
15 Carles Sabadell Ferres (Spa) Spain - A               6.07
16 Titouan Perrin Ganier (Fra) France                   7.03
17 Clément Rouget (Fra) Keops                           7.15
18 Josep Nadal Magrinya (Spa) Spain - A                 8.06
19 Daniel Guasch Tur (Spa) Spain - A                    8.31
20 Rodrigo José Jeronimo Gomes (Por) Portugal           9.19
21 Adria Noguera Soldevila (Spa) Spain - A             10.30
22 Michael Millerferli (Aut) Austria                   10.59
23 Quentin Le Dizes (Fra) Keops                        13.35
24 Maxime Schmid (Swi) Team Bikepark.ch                16.36
DNF Bryan Falaschi (Ita) Italy                              
DNF Pablo Bravo Alonso (Spa) Spain - A