Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Oceania Mountain Bike Championships - CC

Thredbo, New South Wales, Australia, March 20-22, 2009

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - March 20: 4X

Jared Graves heads for the win
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

Graves and Buchanan crowned first Oceania champions of the weekend

Racing got underway Friday evening with the four cross.

Favourite and BMX Olympian Jared Graves proved he was back in form on the mountain bike by winning the Oceania title. Hot on his heels were two Canberra BMX riders; young 16-year-old Ryan Henderson slipped past Leigh Darrell for second while Darrel finished third.

Australian National Champion Caroline Buchanan came out to win the women's four cross while Sarsha Huntington followed her into second. Closing in was young BMX rider Cherie Simpson finishing a credible third.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery / www.evanjeffery.blogspot.com


Elite Men
1 Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Cycles, Fox Racing Shox, Monster Energy, Nema,                                          0.23
2 Ryan Henderson (Aus)                                                                                            0.01
3 Leigh Darrell (Aus)                                                                                             0.01
4 Alex Lloyd (Aus)                                                                                                0.01
5 Michael Young (Aus) UMF Bicycles, Answer, Advance Traders                                                       0.02
6 Daniel Castillo (Aus) UMF/ Merida                                                                               0.02
7 Richard Levinson (Aus) Ashgrove Cycles, Giant Bicycles, Agent Eight Clothing                                    0.03
8 Dave Habicht (Aus)                                                                                              0.02
9 Ryan Hunt (Aus) Banshee Bikes, Camden Cycles                                                                    0.01
10 Joshua Button (Aus)                                                                                            0.01
11 Shannon Rademaker (Aus) All Terrain Cycles Mansfield                                                           0.03
12 Mitchell Scarr (Aus)                                                                                           0.03
13 Cody Eichorn (Aus) OGIO, GAMUT, Spearman Cycles                                                                0.01
14 Rhys Willemse (Aus) Supersports, Tommo Bikes, Revolution Mag, KWT Maxxis, SRAM, Hicks Signs, Unit, Rockstar    0.01
15 Randal Huntington (Aus) NORCO, For the Riders.com, Six Six One                                                 0.02
Elite Women
1 Caroline Buchanan (Aus) Carolinebuchanan.com.au, SRAM, Unit, Leatt Brace                                        0.29
2 Sarsha Huntington (Aus) NORCO, SRAM, For the Riders, Six Six One                                                0.01
3 Cherie Simpson (Aus)                                                                                            0.01
4 Vanessa Thompson (Aus)                                                                                          0.05