Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Kenda Cup West #5 - Santa Ynez Valley Classic - NE

Santa Ynez, Los Olivos, California, USA, April 25-26, 2009

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 3 - April 25: Dual Slalom

Carter pedals to victory

By Dave McElwaine in Santa Ynez

Eric Carter (GT)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)
On a windy day in Los Olivos, Eric Carter (GT) again proved that he is a master at riding gated courses. He won despite having competed in a grueling Super D race thirty minutes prior to racing dual slalom. Jeff Buchar was second ahead of Jon Buckell in third. Carter's GT teammate Kevin Aiello was fourth.

Unlike last year when racers faced temperatures in excess of 100 degrees Fahrenheit, this year's dual slalom was contested in a chilly 54 degrees into a headwind. While the course seemed somewhat short and did not have a huge amount of elevation, it provided plenty of action. Many races were so close they were determined by a bike throw at the finish line.

"The Central Coast is fantastic and we had a great time racing," said Carter after his win. "The course was fun to ride and some old friends came out and raced with us. Man, I'm riding bikes and having fun, so I don't know how you could find anything negative about it."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


Elite men

1 Eric Carter (GT Bikes)                           
2 Jeff Burcar (Sho-Air)                            
3 Jonathan Buckell (Sobe/Cannondale)               
4 Kevin Aiello (GT Bikes)                          
5 James Amaral (Point One Racing)                  
6 Anthony Marino (Aventt)                          

Open women

1 Nancy Harris (The Path Bike Shop)                

Category 1 Men 18 & under

1 Justin Wyche (D26)                               
2 Alex Amaral (Point One Racing/Fox Shox)          
3 Davin Richenberg (Marks Baywood Cyclery)         
4 Clark Wright (Commencal)                         

Category 1 Men 19-29

1 Ryan Egusquiza (Cycle World)                     
2 Mike Cousimano (D-26 Clothing/Mongoose/Tribe)    

Category 1 Men 30-39

1 Josh Graham (Mountaincycle)                      
2 Brad Lawrence (Downfast)                         
3 Darren Brooks (Vriptech.Com)                     

Category 1 Men 40+

1 Tad Lent (Tnt Racing)                            
2 Joe Fabris (Fightin Boba)                        
3 Roger Gutierrez (Path Bike)                      

Category 2 Men 18 & under

1 Alex Kachlakev                                   

Category 2 Men 19-29

1 James Fuller (Aj)                                
2 Zach Smith (Miracle Racing)                      
3 Patrick Branch (Pbmedia)                         
4 Jerome Lacote (Jay The Hil Bikes)                
5 Ryan Osborne                                     
6 Sean Mcbeth                                      
7 Anthony Castellana (661/Royal Racing)            
8 Tim Lukko (Point One Racing)                     

Category 2 Men Senior 30+

1 Jim Latham                                       

Category 3 Men 14 & under

1 Jeremy Call (805 Hammerhead)                     
2 Cole Astamedni (805 Racing)                      
3 Zach Burg                                        

Category 3 Men 15-18

1 Vince Murdzak                                    

Category 3 Men 19-29

1 Jason Arnold                                     
2 Roscoe Cummins                                   
3 Ramses Vazquez