Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian MTB Series - NE

Mt Beauty, Victoria, Australia, February 2-3, 2008

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race  

Race 3 - February 3: Short Track Cross Country

Jongewaard, O'Shea take the spoils

Chris Jongewaard was just too strong
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

Cross Country riders returned to ride the short course race on Sunday, following the previous day's Cross Country event. The women's raced was held in muddy conditions allowing local rider Tory Thomas to take the early lead, however a strong sprint by Katherine O'Shea gave her Victorian victory leaving Thomas to claim second.

Conditions were increasingly slippery during the Elite Men's race, but National Champion Chris Jongewaard showed his class by breaking away and it was only local rider Paul Van Der Ploeg who attempted to bridge the gap. Jongewaard held off the late attack to claim the victory while Ploeg finished second.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery/www.evanjeffery.com.au


Elite men

1 Chris Jongewaard (Avanti/SASI/Shimano)                                           
2 Paul Van Der Ploeg (FELT Bicycles, SRAM Components)                              
3 Murray Spink (Giant Bicycles)                                                    
4 Perren Delacour                                                                  

Behind one lap

5 Adrian Jackson (Flight Centre - Scott MTB Team)                          
5 James Maebus (BikeNOW, VIS, Bianchi, Jayco)                              
5 Peter Braunsteins (Richmond Cyclery)                                     
5 Matthew Fleming (Clarence St Cyclery)                                    

Behind two laps

9 Luke Fetch (TORQ Nutrition)                                               

Behind three laps

10 Nathan Haas                                                              

Behind four laps

11 Andrew Blair                                                             
11 David Johnston (Merida, NTIS (Northern Territory Institute of Sport))    
11 Josh Carlson (Sparman cycles)                                            
11 Mark Van Der Ploeg (Rocky Valley Bikes Mt Beauty)                        
11 Steele Von Hoff (TORQ Nutrition)                                         
11 Rohin Adams (Rocky Valley Bikes Mt Beauty)                               
11 Robbie Hucker                                                            
18 Mark Flood                                                               
DNF Dylan Cooper (Scott, Ritchey, Crank Bros)                                      
DNF Neil Van Der Ploeg (Kona Mt Buller Factory Team)                               
DNF Dan McConnell                                                                  
DNS Scott Liston (Felt Bicycles, Pinnacle Cycles)                                  
DNS Ben Henderson (Mongoose, Maxxis, Addidas Eyewear)                              
DNS Shaun Lewis                                                                    
DNS Luke Graydon                                                                   
Open Women

1 Katherine O'Shea (Fitzroy Cycles)                                                
2 Tory Thomas (TORQ Nutrition, VIS, SRAM)                                          
3 Gracie Elvin (Orbea, Catlike Helmets)                                            
4 Jo Wall (A&I Helicopter Services)                                                
5 Rebecca Henderson (Mongoose, Maxxis)                                             

Behind one lap

6 Julie Blake (Bike Central)                                               

Behind two laps

7 Kylie Webb                                                                

Behind three laps

8 Philippa Rostan                                                           
9 Maria Papadopoulos (Clarence St Cyclery)                                  

Behind four laps

10 Bianca Mauch (TLC Cycles, Token)                                         
DNS Rowena Fry (Orbea, WileyX Eyewear)                                             
DNS Claire Graydon                                                                 
DNS Dellys Starr (Spot Brand Bicycles)                                             
Open men

1 Robert Eva                                                                       
2 Brendan Johnston                                                                 
3 Brett Kellett (Melbourne Bicycle Centre - Scott)                                 
4 Simon Flower                                                                     
5 Phillip Bellingham (no one)                                                      
6 Mark Tupalski (TLC Cycles, CORC) 
Behind one lap

7 John Henderson                                                           

Behind two laps

8 James Downing                                                             

Behind three laps

9 James Mowatt (Apollo Bicycles, Michelin)                                  

Behind six laps

10 Daniel Van Der Ploeg                                                     
11 Glen Sinnott                                                             

Behind seven laps

12 Tim Smyth                                                                

Behind eight laps

13 Tim Beaver (Raw Nrg)                                                     
DNF Angus Harding                                                                  
DNS Drew Blatchford                                                                
DNS Tom Barry (Osteopathy on Young)                                                
DNS Thomas Phillips (Raw nrg)                                                      
DNS Brenton Jones (Bicycle Superstore, TL Sports)