Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #7 & DH #5 - CDM

Bromont, Canada, August 1-3, 2008

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race    World Cup Standings

Race 2 - August 2: Elite women 4X

Beerten rides smoothly to win

By Sue George in Bromont, Québec

Anneke Beerten (MS Intense Factory Racing)
Photo ©: FJ Hughes
(Click for larger image)

Dutch woman Anneke Beerten (MS Intense Factory Racing) rode away from her competition in the rainy big final of the elite women's race. On her way to a comfortable win, she defeated Anita Molcik (4 Elements Yeti) and Mio Suemesa (MS Intense Factory Racing). 17 year-old Caroline Buchanan finished fourth in her first-ever big-final appearance at a World Cup.

"The last race was hard for me and this one I just wanted to keep it together," said an elated Beerten after her win. She crashed in the big finals at last week's World Cup in Mont-Sainte-Anne.

"I took all the inside lines and just kept it going. I'm pretty stoked with winning tonight. It was such a hard course, but it was fun for sure." Beerten won both her semi-final heat and the Big Final.

The Austrian Molcik liked the challenging course, which was new for this World Cup and will become in the future a part of a new Canadian national training center going forward. The course featured rocky sections, logs, a bridge, jumps and even a corkscrew. Many of the sections offered a variety of lines from which to pick.

"The section with the stones was good for me. I made passes in both of my runs at that section," said Molcik, who finished second in the semi-finals, too. Both the semi-finals and the finals were conducted in a steady rain as it was getting dark.

After Suemasa in third, Buchanan finished fourth in what was her second-ever World Cup. Her first was last weekend at Mont-Sainte-Anne, and unfortunately, there she suffered two flats.

"The course was very different than what I've ever ridden," said the young Buchanan. "They put a lot of effort into the course and it held up well in the rain."

"To make the [Big] Final, I'm over the moon," Buchanan said, elated with her performance.

World Champion and last weekend's 4X winner Melissa Buhl (KHS) was absent from competition for the weekend. She returned home early after Mont-Sainte-Anne to deal with family affairs.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by FJ Hughes / www.fhughesphoto.com

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


Big final

1 Anneke Beerten (Ned) MS Intense Factory Racing
2 Anita Molcik (Aut) 4 Elements Yeti
3 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) MS Intense Factory Racing
4 Caroline Buchanan (Aus) 

Small final

5 Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)
6 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team
7 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)
8 Neven Steinmetz (USA)

9 Jessica Voigt (USA)


1 MS-Intense Factory-Racing             85 pts
2 Commencal - Furious - Oakley Team     35
3 4 Elements Yeti/Hotec/RSP             30
4 Team Ghost International              26
5 Cannondale Factory Racing             22
6 Team Sunn                             18
7 Norco World Team                      17
8 Kenda Tomac                           16
9 Animal Commencal                      14
10 Rocky Mountain UK                    12
11 Team Bike Radar                      10
12 Suzuki-RB                             9

World Cup stadnings after five rounds

1 Anneke Beerten (Ned) MS-Intense Factory-Racing                       930 pts
2 Anita Molcik (Aut) 4 Elements Yeti/Hotec/Rsp                         460
3 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) MS-Intense Factory-Racing                          440
4 Melissa Buhl (USA)                                                   420
5 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team                               340
6 Jana Horakova (Cze) Suzuki-RB                                        250
7 Rachel Seydoux (Swi)                                                 150
8 Caroline Buchanan (Aus)                                              120
9 Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)                                            80
10 Diana Marggraff (Ecu)                                                70
11 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)                                           60
12 Romana Labounkova (Cze)                                              60
13 Lucia Oetjen (Swi)                                                   60
14 Katarina Tothova (Cze)                                               40
15 Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)                                       40
16 Neven Steinmetz (USA)                                                20
17 Sarsha Huntington (Aus)                                              10

Team  standings

1 MS-Intense Factory-Racing                 280 pts
2 4 Elements Yeti/Hotec/RSP                 126
3 Commencal - Furious - Oakley Team         119
4 Suzuki-RB                                 107
5 Animal Commencal                          104
6 Norco World Team                           92
7 Team Ghost International                   80
8 Team Sunn                                  73
9 Cannondale Factory Racing                  64
10 Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team           64
11 Kenda Tomac                               56
12 Rocky Mountain UK                         28
13 Team Bike Radar                           19
14 Tomac Factory Racing                       5
15 Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense              5