Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #4 & DH #2 - CDM

Fort William, Scotland, May 27-28, 2006

Main Page    Results   Previous Race   Next Race

Race 3 - May 27: Men's Four-cross

Prokop fastest at start and finish

By Rob Jones in Fort William

Once the cross-country had been gotten out of the way, it was time for the crowd favourite at the Fort William World Cup: the gravity events. Despite raain and below average temperatures, thousands of fans lined up Saturday night watch the four-cross, and stood all day Sunday in the mud on the side of a mountain to cheer on riders in the downhill. After the torrential rain of the cross-country, conditions gradually improvedthrough the following 24 hours until, by the time the top riders were finishing their runs, patches of blue sky were to be seen.

There were no surprises in the four-cross, with both the men's and women's World Cup leaders adding to their winning streaks at this second round. Michel Prokop (Author) and Jill Kintner (GT) didn't lose a single heat on their way to the final, and both used the same strategy - get a good start and into the first corner, first.

"Qualification was important", explained Prokop. "It gave you a good lane. My goal was to be first after the first corner. It worked very well for me except in my semi, when my gate didn't go so well. but I was able to make it up before the corner."

Brian Lopes (GT/Oakley), who finished second, implicitly agreed when he said "It only went pretty good for me, never super good. I was struggling - my starts were good,but I wasn't super in the corners, and you had to be good through that first corner."

Chris Kovarik (MS-Intense) nudged out Mickael Deldycke for third.



1 Michal Prokop (Cze) 
2 Brian Lopes (USA) 
3 Chris Kovarik (Aus) Ms-Intense Factory-Racing
4 Mickael Deldycke (Fra) 

Small Final 

5 CÚdric Gracia (Fra) 
6 Gee Atherton (GBr) Team Animal / Giant
7 Guido Tschugg (Ger) 
8 Michal Marosi (Cze) Arb÷ Rsp Downhill Racing

1/4 Finals  

9 Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze) Kona Les Gets Factory Tea
10 Leiv Ove Nordmark (Nor) Gravity Group
11 Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Racing Factory T
12 Richard Batey (GBr) 
13 Roger Rinderknecht (Swi) 
14 Filip Polc (Svk) Gravity Group
15 Nahan Rennie (Aus) 
16 Will Longden (GBr) Team Mbuk Santacruz

1/8 Finals  

17 Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain
18 Romain Saladini (Fra) Commencal
19 Bryn Atkinson (Aus) 
20 Dan Atherton (GBr) Team Animal / Giant
21 Matej Vitko (Svk) 
22 Darren Pokoj (Aus) Ms-Intense Factory-Racing
23 Jiri Placek (Cze) Max Cursor
24 Yvan Lapraz (Swi) 
25 Chris Powell (USA) Specialized Factory
26 Joost Wichman (Ned) 
27 Dale Holmes (GBr) 
28 Andrew Neethling (RSA) 
29 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Team G-Cross Honda
30 Sidney Gerber (Swi) 
31 Frans Sjoblom (Swe) 
32 William Evans (GBr) 

1/16 Finals  

33 Lukas Tamme (Cze) 
34 Damien Godet (Fra) 
35 Bas De Bever (Ned) 
36 Michael Hannah (Aus) Cannondale/The Cut
37 Neil Donoghue (GBr) Team Mbuk Santacruz
38 Johannes Fischbach (Ger) 
39 Nicolas Moiny (Fra) 
40 Dimitri Jeziorek (Fra) 
41 Lee White (GBr) 
42 Sascha Meyenborg (Ger) Ghost International Racin
43 Reto Schmid (Swi) 
44 Dag Schneevoigt (Ger) 
45 Eric Martinez (Fra) 
46 Cole Bangert (USA) 
47 Jan Novßk (Cze) 
48 Jason Davies (GBr) 
49 Jurg Meijer (Ned) 
50 Ben Reid (Irl) 
51 James Norton (GBr) 
52 AurÚlien Giordanengo (Fra) Team Lapierre Internation
53 Kyle Strait (USA) 
54 Dominik Gspan (Swi) 
55 Daniel Prijkel (Ned) 
56 Adrian Kiener (Swi) 
57 Niki Siedl (Aut) 
58 Robin Wallner (Swe) 
59 Guido Dracone (Ita) 
60 Stephen Taylor (GBr)
61 Lukas Jaeger (Swi)
62 Steve Atkins (GBr)
63 Jordan Gould (GBr)
64 Duncan Ferris (GBr)


65 Herman Olund (Swe)
66 Samuel Hill (Aus)
67 Wojciech Koniuszewski (Pol)
68 Adrian Weiss (Swi)
69 Martin Scherp (Swe)
70 Maciej Jodko (Pol)
71 Aaron Peters (USA)
72 John Hopkinson (GBr)
73 JŘrgen Harrer (Aut)
74 Peter Fernbach (Aut) Arb÷ Rsp Downhill Racing
75 Federico Mattia Gemme (Ita) 
76 Erik Kallstrom (Swe) 
77 Kai Schugk (Ger) 
78 Mario Sieder (Aut) Arb÷ Rsp Downhill Racing
79 Bostjan Volf (Slo) Arb÷ Rsp Downhill Racing
80 James Wilson (GBr) 
81 Darren Howarth (GBr) 
82 Richard Payne (GBr) 
83 Philipp Meyer (Ger) 
84 Markus Baumann (Swi) 
85 Matt Watterson (GBr) 
86 Lindgren Jon (Swe) 
87 Richard Cunynghame (GBr) 
88 Jason Brennan (GBr) 
89 Sergey Maltsev (Rus) 
90 Dave Wardell (GBr) 
DNF Mario Jarrin (Ecu) Zenith-Mtb-International