Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

NORBA US national series #1 - 2

Fontana, CA, USA, May 5-7, 2006

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 5 - May 7: Downhill

Pre-race favorites Warren and Petterson claimed the men's and women's respective downhill titles at Sunday's downhill competition.

Warren ran the course first due to a disaster-ridden qualifying run that qualified the defending national champion last among the field of 48 riders. Warren, however, avenged that performance by completing the downhill course in 2 minutes, 14.6 seconds, just .4 seconds ahead of second-place finisher, Canadian Jeff Beatty.

"On the seeding run I flatted on the track about a third of the way down on the steeper section, fell, and I struggled quite a bit since I couldn't really pedal really great with a front flat," Warren explained. "I came back with a little bit of drive, wanted to do good, and ended up doing good. It was close, because Geritt's qualifying time was a second more than what I did and I was kind of hoping it would hold up, and it did."

Amiel Cavalier (AUS), Jared Rando (AUS) and Justin Havukainen (Castro Valley, Calif.) rounded out the men's podium respectively.

On the women's side, top qualifier Petterson easily took the women's title in 2 minutes and 37.9 seconds, just shy of ten seconds ahead of April Lawyer (Bend, Ore., Maxxis) who finished second.

Wendy Reynolds (Moab, Utah), Kote Driscoll (San Luis Obispo, Calif.) and Jackie Harmony (Tucson, Ariz.) grabbed the final three podium spots.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Harlan Price


1 Joanna Petterson (RSA) Morewood B                  2.38.00
2 April Lawyer (USA) Maxxis                          2.46.43
3 Wendy Reynolds (USA) Beqar Nake                    2.46.46
4 Kote Driscoll (USA) Chumba/Bookoo Energy           2.47.94
5 Jackie Harmony (USA) Brodie/Cac                    2.48.03
6 Erin Thain (USA)                                   2.49.40
7 Anka Martin (RSA) Honda/Iron                       2.50.06
8 Jennifer Whalen (USA) Jenxracer.com                2.53.81
9 Addie Lepper (USA) Harlot Wea                      2.54.85
10 Stephanie Gaudreau (USA) Amp'd Raci               2.58.46
11 Gabriela Williams (USA) Wilmanco                  2.59.72
12 Michelle Camp (USA) Mcfatson                      3.02.61
13 Michelle Rivera (USA) TNT                         3.02.90
14 Lauren Petersen (USA) Sinister                    3.03.19
15 Lisa Reinhard (USA)                               3.04.11
16 Leana Gerrard (USA) Bear Naked                    3.13.49
17 Darian Harvey (USA)                               3.23.01
18 Jessica Vogt (USA) Turner/Wah                     3.28.64
1 Cody Warren (USA) C-Dub Raci                       2.14.62
2 Jeff Beatty (Can) Nrg.Com                          2.15.01
3 Amiel Cavalier (Aus) Giant/SRAM                    2.15.30
4 Jared Rando (Aus) Giant/Mich                       2.15.46
5 Justin Havukainen (USA) Ironhorse/                 2.15.58
6 Curtis Keene (USA) Cane Creek                      2.15.66
7 Daniel Umland (USA)                                2.15.77
8 Waylon Smith (GBr) KHS                             2.16.02
9 Evan Turpen (USA) Iron Horse                       2.16.64
10 Cole Bangert (USA) Morewood B                     2.16.75
11 Geritt Beytagh (USA) Morewood                     2.16.88
12 Joel Bain (Aus) Cannondale                        2.17.34
13 Lars Sternberg (USA) Fluidride/                   2.17.37
14 Christopher Herndon (USA) Cane Creek              2.17.49
15 Colin Bailey (USA) Intense                        2.17.76
16 Jonathan Neethling (USA) Morewood                 2.18.03
17 Ryan Condrashoff (USA) Planetx/Mi                 2.18.45
18 Sanjay Shanbhag (USA) Commencal                   2.18.46
19 Sven Martin (RSA) Homda/Iron                      2.19.27
20 Des Curry (NZl) Odi/Smith/                        2.20.19
21 Connor Macleod (Can) Cove Bikes                   2.20.25
22 Sean McClendon (USA) Aventcycle                   2.20.52
23 Adriano Digiacinto (USA) Cove Facor               2.21.37
24 Ben Bell (Aus) Yeti/Fox R                         2.22.23
25 James Schwanke (USA) Kenda Utop                   2.22.37
26 Ian Odom (USA) Chumba Rac                         2.22.50
27 Mike Haderer (USA) Foxshox/Ye                     2.22.64
28 Robin Baloochi (USA) Commencal                    2.23.67
29 Jeff Evans (USA) KHS/Utopia                       2.23.91
30 Kyle Adams (USA) Odi/Southr                       2.24.00
31 Julius Syvanen (USA) Commerical                   2.24.00
32 Jonathan Canfield (USA) Honda/Iron                2.25.74
33 Steve Wentz (USA) Turner/Wah                      2.26.30
34 Max Nelson (USA) Odi Southr                       2.26.57
35 Keith Mott (USA) KHS                              2.26.71
36 Curtis Zamora (USA) Romic/Down                    2.26.73
37 Orlando Martinez (Cub) Go Bis                     2.27.33
38 Tony Gardikis (USA) Intense Cy                    2.28.59
39 Quinton Spaulding (USA) KHS Bicycl                2.29.23
40 Sean Methven (USA) Turner/661                     2.33.75
41 Jim Beckman (USA) Fetish Cyc                      2.44.79
42 Dante Harmony (USA) Brodie/Cac                    2.45.47
43 David Klaassenvanoorsch (USA) KHS Bicycl          3.10.14
44 Mike King (USA)                                   3.15.66
45 Alfonso Garcia (USA)                              3.35.29
DNF Craig Woodhead (Aus) Chumba Rac
DNF Jiro Nakamura (Jpn)
DNF Mitchell Delfs (Aus) Manitou/Sh