Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #5, DH #4, 4X #4 - CDM

Mont Ste Anne, Canada, June 24-25, 2006

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 4 - June 24: Men's four-cross

Prokop on top again

By Mike Badyk & Rob Jones

Michal Prokop
Photo ©: Rob Jones
(Click for larger image)

With 45 qualifiers, the men's four-cross field had to be sorted out with heat after heat on Saturday. The spectators were obviously pleased to see so much racing this evening and cheered and applauded endlessly.

The final came down to Michal Prokop (CZE), last year's winner here, Jurg Meijer (NED), Roger Rinderknecht (SUI) and Gee Atherton (GBR - Team Animal/Giant). Prokop was the dominant force all evening, riding with great style and, above all, with an extremely smooth style. No mistakes, combined with a killer sprint thanks to all of his BMX experience, makes Prokop a threat at every 4-Cross he enters. However Prokop did make a rare mistake in the Final and he was relieved that he managed to make up for it. "My gate in the Final was horrible, so I was second going into the first corner. Roger (Rinderknecht) slid out and I managed to pass him. Then I had to pedal hard all the rest of the way down. The rest of the runs were great. I was always leading into the first corner, and everything was all right. Oh shit, the Final was horrible."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Rob Jones/www.canadiancyclist.com


1 Michal Prokop (Cze) Author
2 Jurg Meijer (Ned)
3 Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)
4 Gee Atherton (GBr) Team Animal / Giant

1 Michal Prokop (Cze) Author                             0.33.24
2 Roger Rinderknecht (Swi)                               0.33.94
3 Kyle Strait (USA) Specialized Factory Racing           0.33.99
4 Jared Graves (Aus) Yeti Fox Racing Factory Team        0.34.07
5 Michael Hannah (Aus) Cannondale/The Cut                0.34.14
6 Richard Houseman (USA) Yeti Fox Racing Factory Team    0.34.21
7 Cody Warren (USA)                                      0.34.32
8 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Honda/Turner                    0.34.34
9 Chris Powell (USA) Specialized Factory Racin           0.34.36
10 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Team G-Cross Honda                 0.34.40
11 Guido Tschugg (Ger)                                   0.34.41
12 Joost Wichman (Ned)                                   0.34.42
13 Leiv Ove Nordmark (Nor) Gravity Group                 0.34.43
14 Michal Marosi (Cze) Arbö Rsp Downhill Racing          0.34.44
15 Kamil Tatarkovic (Cze) Kona Les Gets Factory Tea      0.34.48
16 Cédric Gracia (Fra) Commencal                         0.34.70
17 Scott Beaumont (GBr) Rocky Mountain Uk                0.34.78
18 Dan Atherton (GBr) Team Animal / Giant                0.34.93
19 Dave Wardell (GBr)                                    0.34.98
20 Jared Rando (Aus)                                     0.35.00
21 Jurg Meijer (Ned)                                     0.35.14
22 Will Longden (GBr) Team Mbuk Santacruz                0.35.17
23 Dominik Gspan (Sui)                                   0.35.24
24 Amiel Cavalier (Aus)                                  0.35.38
25 Filip Polc (Svk) Gravity Group                        0.35.42
26 Cameron Zink (USA)                                    0.35.45
27 John Kirkcaldie (NZl)                                 0.35.56
28 Robin Baloochi (USA)                                  0.35.57
29 Cole Bangert (USA)                                    0.35.63
30 Luke Strom (Aus)                                      0.36.30
31 Mike Haderer (USA)                                    0.36.38
31 John Hauer (USA)                                             
33 Ryan Condrashoff (USA)                                0.36.44
33 Joel Bain (Aus)                                              
35 Charles-Alexandre Dube (Can)                          0.36.65
36 Steve Wentz (USA)                                     0.36.69
37 Logan Binggeli (USA)                                  0.36.85
38 James Schwanke (USA)                                  0.36.97
39 Sean Mcclendon (USA)                                  0.37.32
40 Marc Fontaine (Can)                                   0.37.45
41 Benoit Rioux (Can)                                    0.37.59
42 Gee Atherton (GBr) Team Animal / Giant                0.37.83
43 Heikki Hall (USA)                                     0.38.09
44 Kai Scugk (Ger)                                       0.39.22
45 Samuel Vallee (Can)                                   0.39.45
46 Jocelyn Langlois (Can)                                0.39.65
47 Andrei Issakov (Can)                                  0.40.62
DNS Chris Kovarik (Aus) Ms-Intense Factory-Racing               
DNS Bryn Atkinson (Aus)                                         
DNS Nathan Rennie (Aus)                                         
DNS Evan Irvine (Can)                                           
DNS Aaron Peters (USA)                                          
DNS Luke Kitzanuk (Can)