Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

NORBA National Series #3 - NE

Mount Snow, VT, USA, June 17-June 18, 2006

Main Page    Results    Previous Race  

Race 5 - June 18: Short Track

Trebon, Nash Succeed in Short Track

By Wendy Booher

Hot, dusty conditions during today’s Short Track event set the pace on “high” for both the women’s and men’s event. Some of the fastest women in North America bolted from the gun to gain a lead that got tossed around each lap like poison pong. Jimena Florit (Luna Women’s MTB Team) had it first until a flat took her out of the race. Teammates Georgia Gould and Shonny Vanlandingham lobbed it back and forth with Sue Haywood (Trek/VW), Kathy Sherwin (Ford), Dara Marks-Marino (Titus/Kenda), and Willow Koerber (Subaru/Gary Fisher). Attacks were answered by driving the pace even higher and once the suffering reached its peak, patience paid off for Katerina Nash (Luna Women’s MTB Team).

“The race went well, it was tough,” explained Nash. “Having such a big group always makes it harder. Sometimes the pace becomes kind of uneven, people are cracking all the time but I just tried to be patient and work hard in the end.”

Vanlandingham briefly held the lead going into the final lap until the final climb when Nash pushed hard and sustained the lead to snatch the win.

“I felt good up the hill and I knew if I punched it at the top, there’s a good chance I would stay with it until the end so that’s what I did and it worked out,” said Nash.

The men’s race got sorted from the start when Ryan Trebon (Kona/Les Gets) propelled himself to the front of the race and stayed there until the end. Trebon held off a chase group hungry to catch up but forced to battle for second place in the end. A disappointing season so far has frustrated Trebon, who needed today’s win to offset his bad luck.

“I’m just trying to salvage the weekend after having a bad result yesterday,” said Trebon. “If you’re feeling good, short tracks are the way to do that so I’m pretty happy with the win. It’s about time, I mean I’ve had a bunch of bad luck, you know, and I’m kind of just making up for all the other times I was close but couldn’t quite finish it off. It’s nice to get the first one out of the way.”

After they shucked the rest of the field, the final four podium spots belonged to Geoff Kabush (Maxxis), Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru/Gary Fisher), Liam Killeen (Specialized), and Christoph Sauser (Specialized).


1 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona/Les Gets
2 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis
3 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher
4 Liam Killeen (GBr) Specialized
5 Christopher Sauser (Swi) Specialized
6 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona/Les Gets
7 Todd Wells (USA) Gt Bikes
8 Ross Schnell (USA) Trek/VW
9 Carl Decker (USA) Giant
10 Ricky Federau (Can) Teamrace.Com
11 Brent Miller (Aus) Wtb/Fox Shox/Santa Cruz
12 Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Trek/VW
13 Adam Craig (USA) Giant
14 Cody Peterson (USA) 3d Racing/Sram/Lfp&Co
15 Matt Kelly (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher
16 Burry Stander (Rsa) Gt Bikes
17 Sam Schultz (USA) U23 National Team
18 Sam Jurekovic (USA) U23 National Team
19 Mike West (USA) Maverick
20 Troy Wells (USA) TIAA-CREF
21 Nick Waite (USA) Kelly Benefit Strategies
22 Alan Obye (USA) SRAM
23 Nicholas Stevens (GBr) Fuentes Design/Waltworks
24 Nick Martin (USA) Trek/VW
25 Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona/Les Gets
26 Ken Onodera (Jpn) Subaru-Gary Fisher
27 Keith Hickerson (USA) Tamarack
28 Bryan Fawley (USA) Wheelsinmotion/Giant
29 Rick Wetherald (USA) Tamarack Resort
30 Travis Woodruff (USA) Litespeed/Pcw
31 Kyle Hammaker (USA) Trek VW
32 Christian Favata (USA) Overlookmtb/Hutchinson/Spy
33 Colin Cares (USA) U23 National Team
34 Andy Johnston (USA) Kenda/KHS/Cycleyouth
35 Mark Leishman (NZl) Auntbettyscycling.co.nz
36 Andrew Freye (USA) Bikeman.Com/Salsa Cycles
37 Matthew Hadley (Can) Rocky Mountain Business Objects
38 Brandon Draugelis (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
39 Charles Pendry (USA) Inland - Btd
40 Paul Hanson (USA)
41 Lucas Livermon (USA) Cycling Spoken Here
42 Daniel Vaillancourt (USA) CCB/VW/Time
43 Ben Moody (USA) Rhino Bike Works
44 Timothy Madgwick (NZl) Serotta/Smith
45 Mike Joos (USA) Dean
46 Shun Matsumoto (Jpn) Trek
47 Spencer Paxson (USA) Balance Bar Devo
48 Leonardo Sandoval (USA) Bicycle John's/Kenda/Mgtec
49 Michael Northcott (NZl)
50 Chanoch Redlich (Isr) Trek/Sram/Rudy
51 Samuel Koerber (USA)
52 Jeff Schalk (USA) Trek VW- East
53 Mitchell Peterson (USA) Devo
54 Amiel Cavalier (Aus) Giant/SRAM/Rockshox/Smith
55 Cody Warren (USA) C-Dub Racing
56 Jorel Hendershot (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
57 Daniel Corum (USA) Inland/BTD
58 Christopher Kendall (NZl)
59 Adam Snyder (USA) Balance Bar/Devo
DNS Thomas Spannring (Aut) Cole Sport
DNS Matthew Okeefe (USA) CCB/Volkswagen
DNF Justin Lindine (USA) Windham Mtn Outifitting
DNF Waylon Smith (GBr) KHS
DNS Milton Miranda (Pur) Proxtel-Motorola
DNS Max Plaxton (Can) Rocky Mtn Business Objects
DNS Stephen Iles (USA) Comotion Sports
DNS Jason Sager (USA) Hotel San Jose/Cannondale
1 Katerina Nash (Cze) Luna Womens Mtb Team
2 Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher
3 Susan Haywood (USA) Trek/VW
4 Georgia Gould (USA) Luna Womens Mtb
5 Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna Womens Mtb Team
6 Dara Marks-Marino (USA) Titus/Kenda
7 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Ford Cycling
8 Kelli Emmett (USA) Ford Cycling
9 Heather Irmiger (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher
10 Chloe Forsman (USA) Tokyo Joes
11 Jenna Zander (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
12 Catherine Pendrel (Can) Norco
13 Jennifer Smith (NZl) Trek/VW
14 Stacey Scanlan (USA) Tamarack
15 Christina Smith (USA) Orthopedic Store.Com
16 PTrish Sinclair (Can) Scott Usa/Kenda
17 Kristen Danielson (USA) Velo Bella/Kona
18 Rie Katayama (Jpn) Trek
19 Nina Baum (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
20 Alison Sydor (Can) Rocky Mtn Business Objects
21 Jean Ann Mckirdy (Can) Rocky Mtn/Business Objects
22 Jennifer Gersbach (USA) Tokyo Joes
23 Shannon Gibson (USA) Crazy Cat/Yetigrassroots
24 Christy Love (Can) Sugoi/Giant
25 Caitlyn Tuel (USA) Trek/VW
26 Tara Llanes (USA) Giant
27 Kimberly Flynn (USA) Vantaggio/Specialized
28 Heather Svahn (USA) Content Works
29 Rebecca Gross (USA) Armed Forces
30 Krista Park (USA) Colavita/Addictive Cycles
31 Sabra Davison (USA) Devo Balance Bar
32 Carolyn Popovic (USA) Mtbikechicks.Com/Cannondale
33 Kristy Lanier-Mantz (USA) Dirtbean
34 Paula Burks (USA) Vantaggio/ Specialized
35 Theresa Richardson (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
36 Teri Strayer (USA) Tm K&N Perfomance
37 Meggan Flaherty (USA) Bicylce Johns/Serious Cycling
38 Sami Fournier (USA) Velo Bella/Kona
39 Kim Passafiume (USA) Velo Bella
40 Chrissy Bono (USA) Bicycle Johns Serious Cycling
41 Noel Weddle (USA) Velo Bella/Kona
42 Chenoah Hendershot (USA) Bear Naked/Cannondale
43 Melanie Meyers (USA) Ford Cycling
44 Christie Pleiss (USA) Tm K&N Performance
45 Kristi Lewis (USA) Sun And Ski Sports
46 Jimena Florit (Arg) Luna Womens Mtb
DNF Anja Mcdonald (USA)
DNF Zephanie Blasi (USA) Kenda/Dtswiss/Gu
DNS Kiara Bisaro (Can) Teamrace.Com