Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

World Cup XC #7, DH & 4X #6 - B

Angel Fire, New Mexico, USA, July 9-10, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 3 - July 9: Women four-cross

Kintner cruises to victory

By Eric Wallace

Saturday evening saw the huge downhill crowds migrate to the 4X course. The women's semi-finals saw number one qualifier Jill Kintner (Yeti), Vanessa Quin (Intense), Katrina Miller (Jamis) and Bobbi Kae Watt toeing the line and waiting for the gate to drop. At the line it was Kintner flying away from the chasers with Miller hot on her heels, both advancing to the final round. The second semi bracket consisted of Anneke Beerten (Specialized), US National Champ Tara Llanes (Giant), Leana Gerard (Cannondale) and Michelle Dumaresq (Santa Cruz).

Coming down the pipe it was World Cup leader Beerten and Tara Llanes advancing to the final round. The gate dropped on the final bracket with Kintner taking the hole shot followed by Miller, Beerten and Llanes. Llanes hit the deck early on leaving the race to three riders. Kintner took an easy victory with Miller in second and Beerten in third.


1 Jill Kintner (USA)                                 
2 Katrina Miller (Aus)                               
3 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Specialized Factory Racin     
4 Tara Llanes (USA)                                  
5 Vanessa Quin (NZl)                                 
6 Bobbi Kae Watt (USA)                               
7 Leana Gerrard (USA)                                
8 Michelle Dumaresq (Can)                            
9 Anita Molcik (Aut) Arb÷ Rsp Downhill Racing        
10 Fionn Griffiths (GBr)                             
World Cup  standings
1 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Specialized                250 pts
2 Jill Kintner (USA)                              220
3 Anita Molcik (Aut) Arb÷ Rsp Dow                  88
4 Katrina Miller (Aus)                             70
5 Fionn Griffiths (GBr)                            68
6 Joey Gough (GBr)                                 57
7 Vanessa Quin (NZl)                               45
8 Tara Llanes (USA)                                40
9 Sari Joergensen (Swi)                            31
10 Melissa Buhl (USA)                              25
11 Diana Marggraff (Ecu) Zenith-Mtb-I              24
12 Sonja Granzow (Ger)                             22
13 Julia Lasso (Ecu)                               20
14 Jana Horßkovß (Cze)                             20
15 Zsofia Koczka (Hun)                             15
16 Anja Jerenko (Ger)                              14
17 Bobbi Kae Watt (USA)                            10
18 Michela Thaler (Ita) Arb÷ Rsp Dow                9
19 Leana Gerrard (USA)                              7
20 Caroline Pasedach (Ger)                          6
21 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)                       6
22 Michelle Dumaresq (Can)                          5
23 Dalma Kiss (Hun)                                 3