Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



North Carolina 'Cross Series #1

October 27, 2002

North Carolina series gets of to muddy start

By Thomas Arsenault

This was the first race in a series this year of 7 races and also the first Grand Prix level race of the season. This year Grand Prix level races are worth 1.5 times the amount of regular points, and in the A level, the payout is a minimum of $500 15 places deep. Regular races will only pay 10 places deep.

The race was put on by the Cycles de Oro / Greensboro Velo Club (www.cyclesdeoro.com) crew. Contributing the most and putting in much work on the race was Dahron Johnson, Turtle Moye, and Jeremy McDaniel. A whole motley crew of supporters also helped work the race, set up the course, take registration, and then took the whole course down at the end.

The course turned a little muddy as it had been raining the entire week before this race, and also the morning of. There were no dry spots on the course to be sure. Several sets of barriers disrupted the flow of the race, and also a natural run-up was included on the course this year. Whilst there were grumblings of a slow and muddy course (we usually race cross in the sun and dry conditions in NC), the mountain bikers had a field day. It was definitely a better day for wider tires. Junior National Champion and Greensboro local Lauren Trull showed up for the race, and exhibiting great fitness leftover from the road season tromped on the women's field. Ryan Treborn from Ft. Bragg NC also walked (or rode really fast) away from the Men's A field.

All in all, a lot of folks turned up for the race, and made the first race this year a complete success.


Images by Thomas Arsenault


Men's A
1 Ryan Trebon (Highlands Cycling)                   1.04.53
2 Charlie Storm (Cycling Spoken Here)
3 Andy Applegate (Carolina Cyclocross Association)
4 Colin Barry (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
5 Daniel Doub (Cycling Spoken Here)
6 John Degele (East Carolina Velo)
7 Peter Hymas (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
8 Rob Moran (Cycling Spoken Here)
9 Derek Powers (Doughnut Boy Racing)
10 Jason Morgan (ABRC)
11 Michael Ventola (Sandhills CC)
12 Dan Miller (ABRC)
13 James Wilson (Earthfare)
14 Tim Hopkin (ABRC)
15 Mark Rogerson (Doughnut Boy Racing)
16 Eamonn Lanigan (Doughnut Boy Racing)
17 Greg Becker (Carolina Cyclcross Association / Trek)
18 Jim Taylor (Coastal Cyclists)
19 David Larkins (ABRC)
20 Perry Lee (Bike Source)
Women's A
1 Lauren Trull (Carolina CCA / Earthfare)             51.53
2 Adrienne Brown (Earthfare)
3 Cara McCauley (ABRC)
4 Hope Ann Snyder (Paul's Schwinn)
Women's B
1 Amber Krieger (Cycling Spoken Here)                 37.36
2 Danielle Staskal (Tri-Cyclists)
3 Patricia Durrell (Sandhills CC)
4 Amy Hannon (Tri-Cyclists)
5 Peggy Reed (Unattached)
6 Teresea Gannett (Unattached)
7 Janet Trubey (ABRC)
8 Connie Ingram (Unattached)
9 Shannon Goff (Cycling Spoken Here)
1 Matt Skeen (Cycles de Oro / GVC)                    32.25
2 Michael Thomas (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
3 Sam Falgout (Unattached)
4 Daniel Dinkins (Fit to be Tried)
5 Kyle Branyon (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
Men's B
1 Bobby Byrd (Unattached)                             44.23
2 Randy Dailey (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
3 Andrew Oishi (Duke CC)
4 Bo Glenn (Cycling Spoken Here)
5 Mike Lockhart (Raleigh All Stars)
6 Randy Dockery (Cycling Spoken Here)
7 Taylor Jones (Cycling Spoken Here)
8 Daniel Ingram (Cycling Spoken Here)
Master's 45+
1 Randy Shields (Heart's Racing)                      49.23
2 Arthur Reaves (Tarheel Cyclists)
3 Dean Lyons (Boone Bike/Mellow Mushroom)
4 Albert Mills (Elon Bike Shop)
5 Dale Bryant (Unattached)
6 Kerry Shields (Heart's Racing)
7 Jeep Barrett (Cane Creek / NCOBS)
8 Lynn Reed (Unattached)
9 David Fuller (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
10 Charles Patnode (Rainbow Cycles)
11 Kenneth Johnson (Outspokin')
12 Howard Hesterberg (Magic Cycles)
13 Steve Baker (Spin Cycle / CCC)
Master's 35+
1 Bob Moran (Cycling Spoken Here)                     48.10
2 Marcus Jones (Sandhills CC)
3 Guy Spiher (Paceline)
4 John Baxter (Cycling Spoken Here)
5 Jim Edwards (Unattached)
6 Lonnie Brooks (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
7 Michael Satterfield (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
8 Scott Hill (Cycles de Oro / GVC)
9 Bill Pressly (Boone Velo)
10 Mike Culpepper (Baby Dolls Night Club)
11 David Newman (Bike Source)
12 Chuck Russell (Heart's Racing Club)
13 Charles Campbell (Heart's Racing)
14 Michael Purser (Unattached)
15 Kyle Tompkins (Baby Dolls Night Club)
16 Joe Largay (Unattached)
17 John Koenck (Sandhills CC)
Men's C
1 Wayne Stone (Clean Machine)
2 Chris Wade (Unattached)
3 Ken Riggsbee (Sandhills CC)
4 Howard Rhyne (Sandhills CC)
5 Shawn Tew (Sandhills CC)
6 Dave Stanbridge (Unattached)
7 Jay Walsh (Paul's Schwinn)
8 Steve Levine (Tri-Cyclists)
9 Ross Douglas (Baby Dolls Night Club)
10 Bryan Thomas (Sandhills CC)
11 Ray Brooks (Unattached)
12 Robert Prestwood (Paul's Schwinn)
13 David Matyjasik (Cycling Spoken Here)
14 George Sanucci (Unattached)
15 Tyrone Payne (Cycling Spoken Here)
16 Miles Efron
17 Jarrett Deerwester
18 Dennis Grooms
19 Todd Spain
20 Robert Gamble
21 Tom Ricketts
22 Christopher Garrett
23 Daniel Bailey
24 Justin Forbes
25 Dale Harrell
Previous results from the USA