Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series #3

Pioneers Park, Lincoln, NE, October 20, 2002

Peteresen wins in exciting finish

By John Jr Lefler

For the third week in a row, the Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series was doused in warm sunshine, mild temperatures and featured a different name atop the final standings.

After finishing second to Darin Schlake (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) in CX #1, teammate Jesse Petersen held on to win in an exciting sprint finish with Jay Thomas (LBC/cyclocrossworld) and last week's winner, Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos). The second visit to the course at Pioneers Park saw a few changes to the already challenging circuit. Most notabley, the addition of the "Sandhill's Publishing Sandpit," which served as a momentum zapper as the day's events wore on.

The "Sandpit" utilized the back half of a nearby volleyball court to create a 25 foot section of deep sand that wreaked havoc on the racers. In the opening moments of the Cat. 1/2/3 event, Matt Gersib (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) charged into the "Sandpit" only to lose his footing, twist an ankle and drop out of the race. Many names were absent from the start list, including NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos members Darin Schlake and Kevin Wilkins. Schlake is out for at least a few weeks with mononucleosis and Wilkins pulled a back muscle training.

Making his cross season debut, Stephen Jarrett (OBCR) rode strong to finish seventh overall and third in the Cat. 1/2 field. The Nebraska Cyclo-cross series heads back to Standing Bear Lake in Omaha this Sunday.


Cat 1/2/3
1 Jesse Petersen (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Jay Thomas (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
3 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4 Tony Wilhelm (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
5 Paul Chapman (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 Jim Winklepleck (unattached)
7 Steve Jarrett (OBCR)
8 Sam Rosenau (Cycle Works)
9 John Lefler, Jr. (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
10 Matt Tillinghast (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
11 Chris French (BBC)
12 Corey Godfrey (Cycle Works)
13 David Kosark (Runza Cycling)
Cat 4/5
1 Tyler Carmichael (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
2 Aaron Pool (BBC)
3 Rick Barrett (UNL Cycling)
4 Jerick Wilson (BBC)
5 Chad Carpenter (Cycle Works)
6 Sean Craig (Runza Cycling)
7 TJ Carmichael (unattached)
8 Chris Van Ooyen (Cycle Works)
9 Andy Drake (unattached)
10 Jeff Avey (Cycle Works)
11 Scott Showen (unattached)
12 Michael Sweet (Runza Cycling)
Masters 35+
1 Jared Shuttleworth (HRC)
2 David Jablonski (HRC)
3 Paul Williams (unattached)
4 Tim Carmichael (unattached)
5 Randall Farmer (unattached)
6 Tim Tharp (Spilker Ales)
7 Mark Porster (unattached)
8 Don Raskey (unattached)
9 Stephen Wassinger (unattached)
10 Rod Patterson (unattached)
1 Chris Jones (unattached)
1 Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Renee Carter (RCRC)
3 Jill Tillinghast (LBC)
Previous results from the USA