Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



So. Cal. ‘Cross Cup #2

Oceanside, CA, November 17, 2002


Images by Richard Murphy

  • Mike Jenkins (SDBC) shows his form through the barriers (Men's 45+).
  • Shaun Albin (Squadra Super Cross) leads the Men's 35+ field through the first barrier section.
  • Stan Appel (Velo Avanti) focuses on holding a good line on one of the many off camber turns the course had to offer (Men's 45+).
  • Gary Hansen (Mercury) smiles as he crosses the finish line for the win in the Men's 35+ race.
  • Hard pace from the gun spreads out the fields for the second wave of racers.
  • Junior Eric Petursson racing the Men's B's gets off to a good start.
  • Thad Sparrow (Celo Pacific) bunny hops the first set of barriers to open up a gap on Eric Luc (Men's B).
  • Junior Ben Mata carves a line on a slick off camber turn (Men's B).
  • Paul Cusick (PBO/Spinergy) powers through the deceptively hard uphill barriers in the strength sapping grass.
  • Junior Chance Noble (Camarillo Ravens) raced Men's B and at the same time scouted the course for his Dad prior to the A's race.
  • Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike Co.) shows her smooth transition skills that had her bettering a good number of the Men's B racers (Elite Women).
  • Thad Sparrow (Celo Pacific) shows the fastest way through the barriers (Men's B)
  • Women's Elite winner Nadine Bruhn (Stevens Jeantex).
  • Louis Delacruze wears a little dirt from some earlier crashes (Men's B).
  • Brent Prenzlow (Celo Pacific) sets the early pace in the Men's Elite race.
  • Brent Prenzlow (Celo Pacific) leads Mark Noble (Camarillo Ravens) through the first section of barriers (Elite Men).
  • Race director Doug McWhinney (Celo Pacific) had a strong race even after getting up at the crack of dawn to set up the course (Elite Men).
  • The run began to hurt the legs of most of the races just a few laps into their races.
  • Paul Hernandez (Bicycle John's)
  • Garnet Vertican (ODJ) gets a little help from the family.
  • Olympian Mark Noble (Camarillo Ravens) Crosses the finish line for the win in the Elite Men's race.


Elite Men (60 minutes)
1 Mark Noble (Camarillo Ravens)
2 Brent Prenzlow (Celo Pacific)
3 Jason Van Marle (Jax Trek VW)
4 Garnet Vertican (ODJ)
5 Jeff Herring (Kelly Bike Company)
6 Leonardo Sandoval (Team Zombies)
7 Erik Burgan (PBO/Spinergy)
8 Doug McWhinney (Celo Pacific)
9 David Allen (Celo Pacific)
10 Mark Vandermolen (Simple Green)
11 Paul Hernandez (Bicycle John)
Elite Women (45 minutes)
1 Nadine Bruhn (Stevens Jeantex)
2 Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike Company)
Women's B (35 minutes)
1 Jeanne Bernhard (Celo Pacific)
2 Diana Barnes (P.A.A.)
3 Michelle Barrett (Unattached)
Men's B (45 minutes)
1 Erik Luk (P.C.C.)
2 Thad Sparrow (Celo Pacific)
3 Craig Kozak (Active Endeavors)
4 Paul Cusick (PBO/Spinergy)
5 Jason Vorrell (Velocity)
6 Louis De La Cruz (Eddie B. Cycling)
7 Ben Eicholtz (Radsport)
8 Jeffery Wilson (Cycles Veloce)
9 Paul Kylsz (Unattached)
10 Chance Noble (Camarillo Ravens)
11 Freyr Petursson (Unattached)
12 Michael Varley (Haro/Lee Dungarees)
13 Benjamin Mata (Unattached)
14 Mike Shaw (3BRT)
Men's C (35 minutes)
1 Dan Breyer (Celo Pacific)
2 Toby Rider (S.B. Wheelmen)
3 David Bales (Celo Pacific)
4 John Brindell (Unattached)
5 Jason Darby (Unattached)
6 Shawn Lowery (Celo Pacific)
7 Sean Fenner (Tri-Zone)
8 Richard Murphy (Celo Pacific)
9 Matthew Hale (Unattached)
10 Frank Sison (Unattached )
Men's D (35 minutes)
1 Brian Blair (Unattached)
2 James Manton (Unattached)
3 Gary Devoss (Cyclovets)
4 Stephen Bidwell (Unattached)
5 Sean Zook (Unattached)
6 Al Morinaka (Unattached)
7 Mike Jenkins (SDBC)
8 Garth McCune (Alto Velo)
9 Franklin Johnson (Tri-Zone)
10 Rich Fersch (Race Haus)
11 Jim Cushing-Murray (Celo Pacific)
12 Cameron Dickson (Unattached)
Juniors (35 minutes)
1 Casey Fersch (Race Haus)
2 Travis Barnes (Encino)
Masters 35+ (45 minutes)
1 Gary Hansen (Mercury)
2 Chris Gallup (Unattached)
3 Mark Scott (Wings)
4 Jessie Gascon (Team Shimano)
5 Shaun Albin (Squadra Super Cross)
6 Mark Sauer (Rad Sport)
7 Dan Nelson (Rocket Parts)
8 Jeff Steinhart (Team Hollywood)
9 Darren Mas-Elia (Berkeley Bike Club)
Masters 45+ (45 minutes)
1 Rickey Russell (Cycles Veloce)
2 Stan Appel (Velo Avanti)
3 Jonathan Livesay (P.A.A.)
4 Rick Swanson (Radsport)
5 Brian Olson (Team Hollywood)
6 Rob Bernhard (Celo Pacific)
7 Charles Ross (Janes Cosmetics)
8 Steve Brown (Incycle)
9 Rick Feese (The Bike Palace)
10 R Lee Willmore (Unattached)
11 Michael Jenkins (SDBC)
12 Gary Devoss (Cyclovets)
13 Joey Valdivia (Sun Coast Velo)

Previous results from the USA