Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Amphitheater of Pain Cyclo-cross series #2

November 10, 2002

Russ Griffin repeats in race #2

By www.memphiscycling.com

At the beginning of the Amphitheater of Pain series #2 A race, Russ Griffin (Motorwerks/ACCM) stared straight ahead with a glazed look on his face. Spectators wondered if he was tired, if last week's domination was only aided by the muddy slop. They wondered if he had enough gas to best an even stronger field on a fast, dry course. But mostly, they wondered if he could hold off Bert Hull (Clif Bar/True Temper).

Those doubts were answered in the race's final laps as Russ dropped the hammer, gapping Bert in the process. The victory was swift and decisive. Dean Freeman, in his A Race debut, took third, followed by Mark Beck, James Sharp and Shay Glass.

The B race was classic "David vs. Goliath," with A Racer Walt Rider sitting in this week (for no series points, of course). Walt broke away in the opening lap and never looked back. Overall points for the B Race were adjusted accordingly, with second-place rider Stephen Franklin taking the coveted prize of the race's lowest points. Stephen was followed closely by Miles Fortas, Beau Rathburn, in his B race debut, along with Jim Sullivan and Dennis Korzekwa (son of Byford, brother of Al, father of Jonathan).

The C Race was nothing less than fast-and-furious with John Schmidt taking a solo win. John will be savoring those 15 minutes of fame, as he moves up to the B category next week. Les McDonald and Steve Albers took second and third respectively.

The Women's Race was won by Suzanne Beck from Nashville. Laurie Terrell, who won the season opener, took second place, followed by Julie Davidzuk-Arthur and Bobbie Hembree, a promising junior who is having a strong debut in 'cross.

A complete list of series results, standings and a photo gallery is available in the "Photo Gallery" section at www.memphiscycling.com.

Thanks to all of our series sponsors: Bartlett Pediatric Dentistry, Bike Lane of Germantown, Carb-Boom, Centrifugal Designs, Memphis Motor Werks Cycling Team, Midtown Bike Co. , Rapid Blueprint, The Beauty Shop, True Temper, and Wesley Neurological Clinic.


A Race  

1 Russ Griffin 
2 Bert Hull 
3 Dean Freeman 
4 Mark Beck 
5 James Sharp 
6 Shay Glass 
7 Zack Perry 
8 Jonathan Korzekwa 
9 Christian Leask 
10 David Sentor 
11 Todd Courtney 
B Race  

1 Walt Rider 
2 Stephen Franklin 
3 Miles Fortas 
4 Beau Rathburn 
5 Jim Sullivan 
6 Dennis Korzekwa 
7 Dustin Finley 
8 Matt Joiner 
9 Jon Driskell 
10 Joel Glasgow 
11 Thomas Ambrose 
12 Todd Mosley 
13 Greg Greer 
14 Tulio Bertorini 
15 Daniel Duckworth 
16 Gabe Adams 
17 Billy Hatcher 
18 Tony Roy 
19 Jarrett Vinder 
20 Robert Jacuzzi 
21 Mark Hoffman 
22 Eric Doran 
23 Jeff Bostik 
24 Mattie Rider 
C Race  

1 John Schmidt 
2 Les Mcdonald 
3 Steve Albers 
4 Steven Perry 
5 Greg Pickle 
6 Clifford Lippard 
7 John Rindin 
8 Andy Hale 
9 Wes Hale 
10 Charles Crail 
11 Darrin Mcbee 
12 Cody Mayer 
13 Douglas Gilbert 
14 Jonathan Pickle 
15 Kevin Wright 
16 Jonathan Lunati 
17 Alec Hembree 
Womens Race  

1 Suzane Beck 
2 Laurie Terrell 
3 Julie Davidzuk-Arthur 
4 Bobbie Hembree 
5 Cathy Baker 
6 Bridgett Brown 
7 Tisha Bardin 
8 Sarah Kramer 
9 Kerri Snead 
Previous results from the USA