Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series Race #6

Standing Bear Lake, November 10, 2002

Windy Day Belongs to Chapman

By John Lefler, Jr

On a windy, cold sunday afternoon at Standing Bear Lake, NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos rider Paul Chapman broke through with his first victory of the 2002 Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series. The win puts Chapman third in the battle for the "Pedros Points Jersey" with 44 points, four behind new "Pedros Points Leader" and teammate, Jesse Petersen. The two mile "u-shaped" circuit featured a healthy dose of paved surface along with ample single-track, one long run-up, a screaming speed barrier section and a leg-numbing grassy climb. Opting to use his mountain-bike, again, Chapman, who races almost exclusively off-road throughout the season, motored off the front early in the 60-minute contest with a group that included teammates Jesse Petersen and Joe McWilliams along with LBC/cyclocrossworld riders Jay Thomas, Tony Wilhelm and Matt Tillinghast. Not far behind, a chase group formed quickly including Chad Carpenter, Mark Savery (SNORT), Jeff Luedtke (HRC), Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Kaos) and Tyler Carmichael (LBC/cyclocrossworld). In a surprising move, Chapman attacked with two laps to go and snatched an impressive victory on the wide-open flat course. With Chapman's victory, there has been a different overall winner in each of the six events this season. The Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series wraps-up it's Lincoln leg next Sunday at Pioneers Park.

Thank you to all of the sponsors of the Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series, including: Sandhills Publishing, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Nebraska Health System, Lincoln Bicycle Co., Cycle Works, Blue's Bike & Fitness, Bike Rack, Olympia Cycle, A to Z Printing, Icon Graphics, Hyland Bros. Lumber, SPY Optics, Pedros, American Classic, Bruegger's Bagels, Pepsi, Aquafina, All Sport, the Husker Road Club and Team Kaos Cycling.

Special thanks to Husker Road Club members Jared Shuttleworth, David Jablonski, Gregg Wollenhaupt, Kris Epps and Jeff Luedtke for their set-up and tear-down assistance.

Thank you to Janette Shaffer and Kim Shuttleworth for their help with registration.


Cat. 1/2/3
1. Paul Chapman (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2. Jay Thomas (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
3. Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
4. Jesse Petersen (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5. Tony Wilhelm (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
6. Matt Tillinghast (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
7. Tyler Carmichael (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
8. Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
9. Jeff Luedtke (Husker Road Club)
10. Chad Carpenter
11. Mark Savery (SNORT/Amber Bock)
12. Marco Vasquez (NHS/UNMc/Team Kaos)
13. John Lefler, Jr. (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
14. Sam Rosenau (Cycle Works)
15. Corey Godfrey (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)

Cat. 4/5

1. Rick Barrett (UNL Cycling)
2. Aaron Pool (Benson Bike Club)
3. Jerick Wilson (Benson Bike Club)
4. Kris Epps (Husker Road Club)
5. TJ Carmichael
6. Rick Beason
7. Andy Drake

Masters 35+

1. Greg Shimonek (Benson Bike Club)
2. Jared Shuttleworth (Husker Road Club)
3. David Jablonski (Husker Road Club)
4. Sean Craig (Runza Cycling)
5. Eric Buhs (Runza Cycling)
6. Tim Carmichael
7. Randall Farmer
8. Mark Forster


1. Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2. Renee Carter (RCRC)


1. Tim Rosenau
2. Chris Jones
3. Clint Pettit
Previous results from the USA