Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Jacksonville Classic
Penney Farms Road Race
Port of Catoosa Spring Crit
Jefferson Cup Road Race
Spin City Criterium
Spin City Circuit Race
OBRA Banana Belt Road Racing Series #2

Washington Cup #2
Pure Austin Pace Bend Road Race
Ronde Ohop Circuit Race
Jack Frost Time Trial
UCSD Boulevard Road Race

JAR Tour of the Bahamas
RMR #2
CU criterium

Bob Hansing Cup #1



Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series Race #5

Pioneers Park, November 3, 2002

LBC's Jay Thomas Crushes at Pioneers

By John Lefler, Jr

The new course layout at Pioneers Park was just the thing for LBC/cyclocrossworld rider Jay Thomas to assert his authority on the Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series sunday afternoon and move closer to taking the "Pedro's Points Jersey." Powering off the front from the gun on the winding 1-mile course, Thomas ripped through the wet, muddy conditions putting second place finisher Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos) into difficulty on his way to a third consecutive Cat. 1/2 win and first overall victory.

"I broke everything on this course down into sections today and it helped," Thomas explained. "It makes a huge difference in executing your strategy."

Overcast skies and a mild breeze provided ideal cyclo-cross racing conditions for the forty-six riders who took part in the day's events. Regulars from Lincoln and Omaha were joined by riders from Kansas and Chicago as they motored their way through the two barrier sections, including a speed barrier three-pack and two strategically placed at the foot of a run-up on the back-half of the course. The latter run-up was the first true "run-up" of the series, wreaking havoc on most who struggled to find their footing on the slick, muddy hillside.

The course conditions did little to slow down Thomas, who along with third place finisher and teammate Matt Tillinghast displayed fine cross form throughout the afternoon. While it was not deliberately intended though, the strong finish by Tillinghast took away valuable points from fellow LBC/cyclocrossworld rider Tony Wilhelm, who finished fourth in the Cat. 3 competition one place behind Jesse Petersen (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos). The two are now tied for the "Pedro's Points Jersey" heading into next week's contest. In the Cat. 1/2 contest, Joe McWilliams retains the "Pedro's Points Jersey," but is quickly losing his grip as Thomas continues to grab maximum points each week. Currently, McWilliams is in first with 42, followed by Thomas with 34.

McWilliams will keep the jersey until the Nebraska State Championship even if Thomas wins next week, as long as he finishes fifth or better. However, in order for McWillaims to win the "Pedro's Points Competition," he must win the next three Cat. 1/2 events. The two lowest scores are thrown out in determining the overall point's winner.

Next week, the Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series continues with the sixth of eight events in Omaha at Standing Bear Lake.

The Nebraska Cyclo-cross Series is made possible by sponsorship support from Sandhill's Publishing, University Of Nebraska Medical Center, Nebraska Health System, Blue's Bike & Fitness, Bike rack, Cycle Works, Lincoln Bicycle Company, Olympia Cycle, A to Z Printing, SPY Optics, Pedro's, Voler, Bruegger's Bagels, Lincoln Parks & Rec, Omaha Parks & Rec, Hyland Bros. Lumber, Icon Graphics, Pepsi, Aquafina, All Sport and Team Kaos Cycling.


Cat. 1/2/3
1 Jay Thomas (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
2 Joe McWilliams (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
3 Matt Tillinghast (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
4 Paul Chapman (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
5 Jesse Petersen (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
6 Tony Wilhelm (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
7 Jim Winklepleck (unattached)
8 Jason Pyrzynski (XXX Racing/Clif Bar)
9 Chad Carpenter (unattached)
10 Michael Koons (KCBC)
11 Kevin Burke (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
12 John Lefler,Jr (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
13 Sam Rosenau (Cycle Works)
14 Mark Savery (SNORT/Amber Bock)
15 Ian Robertson (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
16 Corey Godfrey (Cycle Works)
Cat 4/5
1 Tyler Carmichael (LBC/cyclocrossworld)
2 Jerick Wilson (Benson Bike Club)
3 Scott Hammack (Kansas State University)
4 Aaron Pool (Benson Bike Club)
5 Scott Showen (unattached)
6 Lawrence Simonsen (Kansas State University)
7 TJ Carmichael (unattached)
8 Jeff Avey (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
9 Chris Van (Ooyen NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
10 Andy Drake (unattached)
11 Rick Beason (unattached)
12 Albert Hauschild (unattached)
13 John Howat (unattached)
14 Brian Ollgoehlaeger (unattached)
Masters 35+
1 Jared Shuttleworth (Husker Road Club)
2 Sean Craig (Runza Cycling)
3 David Jablonski (Husker Road Club)
4 Mark Forster (unattached)
5 Tim Carmichael (unattached)
6 Eric Buhs (unattached)
7 Randall Farmer (unattached)
8 Tim Tharp (Spilker Ales)
9 Ray Breedlove (unattached)
1 Marie Neville (NHS/UNMC/Team Kaos)
2 Renee Carter (RCRC)
3 Carolyn Thompson (Kansas State University)
4 Beth Ross (Kansas State University)
1 Chris Jones
2 Clint Pettit
Previous results from the USA