Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Cyclo-Cross World Cup #11 - CDM

Lanarvily, France, February 13, 2005

2004 Results    Results    Past Winners

Nys the master

World Champion Sven Nys (Rabobank) has sealed his overall victory in the World Cup series by winning the 11th and final round in Lanarvily, France. On a cold and windy day, Nys put half a minute into his trade teammate Richard Groenendaal, with Italian Enrico Franzoi (Lampre) finishing third.

Nys set a hard tempo from the beginning, with only Franzoi, Groenendaal and John Gadret able to stay with him. By halfway through the race, Nys and Groenendaal had dropped the other two and took command of the race on their own. Nys accelerated away from Groenendaal, but found it too soon due to the wind, and the Dutchman came back. But with two laps to go, Nys was alone again with Groenendaal at 10 seconds, while Franzoi and Gadret were still chasing.

On the last lap, Nys increased his lead and won his 23rd race of the season, seven of which have been in World Cups. Groenendaal was second at half a minute, while Franzoi crossed for third at 47 seconds.

"I waited for as long as possible to drop Groenendaal so that he could secure his second place," Nys explained afterwards. "In the finale I put in an attack so that the win wasn't in doubt any more."

Nys credited his excellent season with good luck in not getting sick, which meant that he had no dips in condition. "Everything went really well and I'm certainly not empty yet."


Elite Men  
1 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank                                
2 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank                 0.29
3 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Lampre-Caffita 
4 John Gadret (Fra) Chocolade Jacques 
5 Davy Commeyne (Bel) Palmans-Sapim 
6 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 
7 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Rabobank 
8 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) Palmans-Sapim 
9 Wilant van Gils (Ned) Rietveld WTC wielerteam 
10 Jonathan Page (USA) Cervelo-HotTubes-Adidas-Mavic 
11 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 
12 Jan Verstraeten (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 
13 Martin Nijland (Ned) Eurogifts.com 
14 Wim Jacobs (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 
15 Michael Baumgartner (Swi)
16 David Derepas (Fra)
17 Václav Jezek (Cze) Author Praha 
18 Petr Dlask (Cze) Author Praha 
19 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank 
20 Cyrille Bonnand (Fra)
21 Jan Ramsauer (Swi)
22 Martin Zlámalík (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tábor 
23 Zdenek Mlynár (Cze) AC Sparta Praha 
24 Emil Hekele (Cze) Zekof Team 
25 Bart Dirkx (Ned)
26 Jirí Pospisil (Cze) Stevens International Cyclocross Team 
27 Thorsten Struch (Ger)
28 Mickael Calvez (Fra)
29 Lionel Calvez (Fra)
30 Camiel van den Bergh (Ned) Saey-Deschacht 
31 Martin Bína (Cze) Author Praha 
Courtesy of Cyclo-cross.info 

Past winners

2004 Mario De Clercq (Bel)
2003 John Gadret (Fra)
2002 Peter Van Santvliet (Bel)
2001 Daniele Pontoni (Ita)
2000 David Pagnier (Fra) 
1999 Christophe Morel (Fra) 
1998 Danny De Bie (Bel) 
1997 - 
1996 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) 
1995 Jérôme Chiotti (Fra) 
1994 Jérôme Chiotti (Fra) 
1993 Rémy Hello (Fra) 
1992 - 
1991 Emmanuel Magnien (Fra) 
1990 Christophe Lavainne (Fra) 
1989 Adri Van Der Poel (Ned)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com