Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  
CX Worlds Home

Start list
Bikes at the CX Worlds

2002 CX Worlds

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

2003 World Cyclo-cross Championships - CM

Monopoli, Italy, February 1-2, 2003

Home    Results    Next Race

February 1 - Junior Men: 40 Minutes

Boom Lowers The Boom

By Tim Maloney / Cyclingnews European Editor

Overnight rain and a frigid east wind blowing across the stormy Adriatic from the frozen Balkans made it tough going in Monopoli for Saturday's World Cyclo-cross Championships, but with two rainbow jerseys at stake, the Junior & U23 Men kept their eyes on the prize.

Photo: © AFP
Click for larger image

Under a heavy grey ski and intermittent rain, the fast start from Italian Derik Zampedri was immediately covered by lanky Dutch rider Lars Boom, who quickly lived up to his name by going to the front halfway through the first lap and upping the pace. A lead group of six riders formed behind Boom: Zampedri, Van Izendoorn & Langveld (Ned), Stybar (Cze) & Pituch (Pol). First American rider was Jesse Anthony, who was chasing 15" behind the leaders in 15th place.

Boom continued to ride hard on the front and by the halfway point, he had blown the front group to bits and was on his own, with Stybar chasing. Despite the Czech's best effort, he couldn't hold off the final charge of Van Izendoorn and was passed by the Dutch rider on the final lap. Boom won the '03 Junior World Cyclo-cross Championships easily, with his teammate Van Izendoorn in for the silver and the tired Czech Stybar taking the bronze. Top American was Jesse Anthony in 16th, with first British rider Adam Gascoigne in 30th.

Seventeen year old Boom commented after his solo win, "I know now I'm world champion. I was second after the start behind Zampedri. But I had good legs. I dream of a professional future."


1 Lars Boom (Ned)
2 Eddy Van Ijzendoorn (Ned)
3 Zdnek Stybar (Cze)
4 Sebastiaan Langeveld (Ned)
5 Romain Villa (Fra)
6 Jan Sel (Cze)
7 Niels Albert (Bel)
8 Frantisek Kloucek (Cze)
9 Clément Lothellerie (Fra)
10 Tom Van Den Bosch (Bel)
11 Jaroslav Kulhavy (Cze)
12 Jan Skarnitzl (Cze)
13 Egon Van Kessel (Ned)
14 Jonathan Hivert (Fra)
15 Finn Heitmann (Ger)
16 Jesse Anthony (USA)
17 Kevin Van Lierde (Bel)
18 Nestor Rodriguez (Spa)
19 Awomir Pituch (Pol)
20 Derik Zampedri (Ita)
21 Krzysztof Wieczorek (Pol)
22 Karl Schoknecht (Ger)
23 René Lang (Swi)
24 Nicolas Belot (Fra)
25 Michal Werstak (Pol)
26 Benjamin Hill (Ger)
27 Thijs Van Amerongen (Ned)
28 Gabriele Mercante (Ita)
29 Konrad Lebas (USA)
30 Adam Gascoigne (GBr)
31 Ian Bibby (GBr)
32 Rafael Nick (Swi)
33 Adrea Spessotto (Ita)
34 Delio Fernandez (Spa)
35 Ian Field (GBr)
36 Hasier Mujica (Spa)
37 Michal Prachar (Svk)
38 Beat Bertschinger (Swi)
39 Pietro Silvestris (Ita)
40 Till Schaltegger (Swi)
41 Robin Schmuda (Ger)
42 Quincy Vens (Bel)
43 Lubos Hricak (Svk)
44 Steven Cozza (USA)
45 Jokin Irazola (Spa)
46 Konrad Opitz (Ger)
47 Jean-Pierre Drucker (Lux)
48 Zak Grabowski (USA)
49 Richard Kipling (GBr)
50 Yves Corminboeuf (Swi)
51 Stefano Basso (Ita)
52 David Fleischauer (USA)
53 Peter Ciz (Svk)
54 Lukas Sibr (Svk)
55 Zsombor Bucsi (Hun)