Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

USGP Portland Cup - C1/C2

Portland, Oregon, December 1-2, 2007

Main Page    Results   Overall standings     Next Race

Race 1 - December 1: Elite Women, 40 minutes

Gould too strong for Compton


Georgia Gould takes the win
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

At the series' last stop in Mercer County NJ, Georgia Gould took both wins and the leader's jersey heading into Portland. The Luna rider proved today that her New Jersey sweep was no fluke as she powered her way to victory over Katie Compton and the entire women's field. At the beginning of the race Compton was able to take a lead but could not lose Gould who was able to keep the number two ranked rider in the world in her sights. Gould had slightly better handling skills in the technical sections and was able to catch Compton and eventually pulled past her. Gould finished with a 23 second margin over Compton and keeps the leader's jersey going into the series finale. There was a battle for second place as Compton was caught by Katerina Nash (Luna) but eventually fought her off to finish second. Nash who rounded out the podium in third, again showed great determination as she started in the second row and fought her way to the podium.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Mitch Clinton/www.clintonphoto.com

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


Elite Women  (42 starters)                                               
1 Georgia Gould (Luna)                                              41.39
2 Katie Compton (Spike Shooter)                                      0.23
3 Katerina Nash (Luna)                                               0.59
4 Lyne Bessette (cyclocrossworld.com)                                1.13
5 Alison Sydor (Rocky Mountain Haywood)                              1.21
6 Wendy Simms (Kona-YourKey.com)                                     2.07
7 Amy Dombroski (Velo Bella - Kona)                                  2.21
8 Wendy Williams (River City Bicycles)                               3.05
9 Barbara Howe (Velo Bella Kona)                                     3.09
10 Kerry Barnholt (Tokyo Joes / Van Dessel)                          3.13
11 Rachel Lloyd (Proman/Paradigm)                                    3.27
12 Anna Milkowski (Velo Bella-Kona)                                  3.33
13 Melissa Thomas (Team Maxxis)                                      4.21
14 Josie Beggs (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)            4.30
15 Emily Van Meter (River City Bicycle Team)                         4.42
16 Sarah Kerlin (HRS/ Rock Lobster)                                  4.51
17 Kathy Sherwin (Velo Bella - Kona)                                 4.53
18 Sue Butler (River City Bicycles)                                  5.38
19 Kelly Jones (Sugoi)                                               6.03
20 Megan Monroe (BMC-Sports Garage)                                  6.22
21 Kristi Berg (Redline Bicycles)                                    7.02
22 Linda Sone (Ridley Factory Team)                                  7.32
23 Jennifer Tilley (Velo Bella/Kona)                                 7.44
24 Kari Studley (Velo Bella/Kona)                                    7.58
25 Ingrid Spies                                                          
26 Melodie Metzger (California Giant Berry Farms/Specialized)            
27 Sarah Maile (Ventana Mountain Bikes)                                  
28 Jadine Riley (Team Group Health)                                      
One lap behind
29 Lea Stralka (Byrne Invent)                                            
30 Patty Buerkle (Vanderkitten)                                          
31 Marci Titus Hall (DeSalvo Custom Cycles)                              
32 Maria Stewart (Velo Bella- Kona)                                      
33 Tela Crane (Rad Racing NW)                                            
34 Lana Atchley (SHO-AIR/Black Mtn)                                      
35 Jaymie Mcgowan (Oak Bay Bikes)