Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

2007 UCI Track Cycling World Championships - CM

Spain, March 29-April 1, 2007

Main Page    Results 

Men's keirin

Hoy wins Keirin

By Shane Stokes in Palma

Chris Hoy showed the sustained speed which won him his Olympic kilo title when he raced to victory in the keirin this evening. The Scot was lead rider behind the derny for the whole final and despite being passed by Mickael Bourgain (France) on the last lap, he had enough left to come past once again and land gold.

2006 champion Theo Bos dug deep in trying to get by on the finishing straight, but Hoy was strong enough to hold him off. His Great Britain compatriot Ross Edgar came in third, making it gold and bronze for the team.

Hoy embraced Edgar after the victory, the latter having acted in a strong team-mate's role from the start. He sat second in line behind the Scot during the early laps, helping to fend off those who tried to move up in the line. After the derny pulled off, Shane Perkins (Australia) tried to come around to the front but Edgar once again played things perfectly to help Hoy maintain his position, leaving it to him to fend off Bourgain and then Bos and take the win.

Earlier, Hoy and Edgar won their respective heats in round two. Hoy employed a similar tactic as in the final, sitting directly behind the derny and then showing sustained speed to hold off Bos and Perkins to the line. The latter’s team-mate Mark French was disqualified after intentionally hindering French rider Kévin Sireau in the race.

In the other heat, Edgar rode strongly to take the win from Teun Mulder (Netherlands) and Bourgain.


Round 1
Heat 1
1 KÚvin Sireau (France)                       
2 Ryan Bayley (Australia)                     
3 Theo Bos (Netherlands)                      
4 Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)                 
5 Leandro Hernan Botasso (Argentina)          
REL Roberto Chiappa (Italy)                   
DNF Josiah Ng Onn Lam (Malaysia)              
Heat 2
1 JosÚ Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spain)     
2 Shane Perkins (Australia)                   
3 Kazuya Narita (Japan)                       
4 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)                  
5 Andriy Vynokurov (Ukraine)                  
6 Maximilian Levy (Germany)                   
7 Tim Veldt (Netherlands)                     
Heat 3
1 MickaŰl Bourgain (France)                   
2 Mark French (Australia)                     
3 RenÚ Wolff (Germany)                        
4 Denis Dmitriev (Russian Federation)         
5 Adam Ptacnik (Czech Republic)               
6 Ricardo Lynch (Jamaica)                     
7 Hodei Mazquiaran Uria (Spain)               
Heat 4
1 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)                   
2 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)                   
3 Travis Smith (Canada)                       
4 Christos Volikakis (Greece)                 
5 Qi Tang (People's Republic of China)        
6 Mikhail Shikhalev (Russian Federation)      
7 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)                    
8 Mohd Rizal Tisin (Malaysia)                 

First round repechage

Heat 1 
1 Theo Bos (Netherlands)                       
2 Christos Volikakis (Greece)                  
3 Adam Ptacnik (Czech Republic)                
4 Mohd Rizal Tisin (Malaysia)                  
5 Maximilian Levy (Germany)                    

Heat 2
1 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)                     
2 Kazuya Narita (Japan)                        
3 Roberto Chiappa (Italy)                      
4 Denis Dmitriev (Russia)                      
5 Andriy Vynokurov (Ukraine)                   

Heat 3 
1 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)                   
2 Hodei Mazquiaran Uria (Spain)                
3 Leandro Hernan Botasso (Argentina)           
4 RenÚ Wolff (Germany)                         
5 Mikhail Shikhalev (Russia)                   

Heat 4 
1 Tim Veldt (Netherlands)                      
2 Ricardo Lynch (Jamaica)                      
3 Lukasz Kwiatkowski (Poland)                  
DNF Travis Smith (Canada)                      
DNF Qi Tang (China)    

Round two

Heat 1 
1 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)                  
2 Theo Bos (Netherlands)                     
3 Shane Erkins (Australia)                   
4 Tim Veldt (Netherlands)                    
5 KÚvin Sireau (France)                      
DSQ Mark Q French (Australia)                
Heat 2
1 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)                 
2 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)                  
3 MickaŰl Bourgain (France)                  
4 Ryan Bayley (Australia)                    
5 JosÚ Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spain)    
6 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)        


Final 1-6

1 Chris Hoy (Great Britain)                   
2 Theo Bos (Netherlands)                      
3 Ross Edgar (Great Britain)                  
4 MickaŰl Bourgain (France)                   
5 Teun Mulder (Netherlands)                   
6 Shane Perkins (Australia)                   
Final 7-11
7 Tim Veldt (Netherlands)                     
8 KÚvin Sireau (France)                       
9 Ryan Bayley (Australia)                     
10 Toshiaki Fushimi (Japan)                   
11 JosÚ Antonio Escuredo Raimondez (Spain)