Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

2004 Queensland Elite Track Championships - NE

Rockhampton, Australia, January 6, 2005

Main    Results    Previous Day     Next Day

Day 4 Wrap Up

U19 Men's Scratch Race - Dawson wins gold

CATS Todd Dawson took out the U19 Scratch Race Championship of Queensland on Day 4 of the Queensland Track Cycling Championships in a tight sprint finish ahead of Ben Simonelli (Broncos) and Joel Davis (Kangaroo Point). A few strong attacks throughout the race took its toll on many of the riders, with only the strong surviving to the finish. Rockhampton's Jack Rassie just missed out on a medal in 4th position.

Elite Men's Scratch Race - Payne wins hard fought battle

If the U19 race was a survival of the fittest, then the Elite Men's Scratch Race had to be the survival of the fittest, strongest and those who could withstand pain the most. Rockhampton's triple World Junior Gold Medalist Miles Olman took to the Kenrick Tucker Velodrome and after 3 steady attacks throughout the 45 lap race, riders where being popped left right and centre. With less than 15 laps to go, only 6 of the 14 starters remained in the bike race; Olman (Rockhampton), Grant Irwin (Rockhampton), Mark Chadwick (Rockhampton), Daniel Rynne (Kangaroo Point), Bradley Payne (CATS) and Brendan O'Connell (Lifecycle). With less than 10 laps to go, the field was reduced to 4 with Chadwick and O'Connell feeling the pace and dropping out. Coming into the bell, Payne found himself on the front and lead out. Irwin sat in at 4th wheel and laid off Rynne, accelerating up the back straight to box in Olman. Payne still maintained the lead while Irwin and Olman took the bend side by side. In a sprint to the line, Payne held onto the lead, with Irwin holding off Olman to take the silver and bronze respectively.

U19 and Elite Women's Team Sprint - Rockhampton sprinters combine to secure gold

The Championship's best elite women sprinters in Bright and Lovely combined to win the combined U19/Elite women's team sprint (49.43) ahead of the Balmoral Junior team Hayley Wright and Lizzi Clements (51.47). Rockhampton's 2nd team of Katie Smith and Anouska Edwards defeated fellow club members Samantha Schutz and Laura Edwards in the race off for bronze.

U19 and Elite Men's Team Sprint - Rockhampton trio unstoppable

When you combine the kilo State Champion and the sprint State Champion you're bound to have a team sprint that is almost unbeatable. Rockhampton Seniors team of Damian Harris, Jay Callaghan and Grant Irwin won the gold medal in a blistering time of 1.06.46 ahead of the Broncos trio of Adam Simonelli, Ben Simonelli and Hayden Josefski (1.13.61), with Irwin anchoring the team to victory, getting the Broncos anchor in his sights at the top of the straight before crossing the line to stop the clock. Interesting also to note is that Irwin's 1000m Time Trial held on Day 2 of the Championships saw him record a time of 1.06.88, just 0.04 second slower than the teams time registered tonight.

The bronze medal went to the Rockhampton Junior team of Tyler Wright, Jack RAssie and Jeremy Hogg in 1.07.25 ahead of Kangaroo Point.

U19 Women's Keirin - Wright wins another title

Hayley Wright added another gold medal to her growing collection, after taking out the U19 women's keirin from Katie Smith (Rockhampton) and Chloe Macpherson (Mackay). Wright lead out at the bell and Macpherson sat wide for the majority of the race, attacked early at the bell but didn't have the legs to get around Smith who rode a smart race behind Wright moving wide to hold Macpherson off. Wright was never in trouble at the front and took the win in a controlled race from the front.

Elite Women's Kierin - Lovely Earns Second State Title

Lovely earned her second State Title in as many nights after holding off Alexandra Bright and a fast finishing Anouska Edwards in the Elite Women's Kierin. With South Australian Sue Ann Woodwiss (Noarlunga South Coast) leading out at the bell, Bright attacked down the back straight, but opened up the gap underneath coming into the bend, allowing Lovely a run through on the pole line and through to the finish. Bright took silver whilst Edwards took home the bronze.


Under 19 Men Scratch Race
1 Todd Dawson                                                     13.16.03
2 Benjamin Simonelli
3 Joel Davis
4 Jack Rassie
Elite Men Scratch Race
1 Bradley Payne
2 Grant Irwin
3 Miles Olman
4 Daniel Rynne
5 Mark Chadwick
6 Brendan O'connell
DNF Jay Callaghan
DNF Christopher Chatto
DNF Steven George
DNF Damian Harris
DNF Steven Rynne
DNF Christopher Simonelli
DNF Christopher Wilson
DNF Matthew Wood
Women's Teams Sprint
Heat 1
1 Balmoral Juniors          Hayley Wright                           51.50
                            Lizzie Clements
 Rockhampton Juniors        Laura Edwards                           55.53
                            Samanatha Schultz
Heat 2
1 Rockhampton Seniors       Debbie Lovely                           50.05
                            Alexandra Bright
 Rockhampton Seniors        Katie Smith
                            Anouska Edwards                         52.12
Gold Rockhampton Seniors    D. Lovely/A. Bright                     49.43
Silver Balmoral Juniors     H. Wright/L. Clements                   51.47
Bronze Rockhampton          K. Smith/A. Edwards                     52.16
Men's Teams Sprint
Heat 1
1 Broncos                   Ben Simonelli                         1.07.45
                            Adam Simonelli
                            Hayden Josefski
 Rockhampton Juniors        Luke Seiler                           1.14.94
                            Scott Cuckson
                            Neil Teichmann
Heat 2
 Lifecycle                  Chris Chatto                          1.10.43
                            Brendan O'Connell
                            Steven George
1 Rockhampton Juniors       Jack Rassie                           1.08.81
                            Jeremy Hogg
                            Tyler Wright
Heat 3
1 Rockhampton Seniors       Grant Irwin                           1.07.13
                            Damien Harris
                            Jay Callaghan
 Kangaroo Point             Daniel Rynne                          1.09.81
                            Steven Rynne
                            Chris Wilson
Gold Rockhampton Seniors    D. Harris/J. Callaghan/G.Irwin        1.06.46
Silver Broncos              A. Simonelli/B. Simonelli/H. Josefski 1.13.61
Bronze Rockhampton Juniors  T. Wright/J. Rassie/J. Hogg           1.07.25